Up from Slavery: an autobiography

Up from Slavery: an autobiography

by Booker T. Washington

Paperback

$4.26 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Up From Slavery 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 86 reviews.
Father_of_5_Boys More than 1 year ago
I had heard often of Booker T. Washington and of his work at Tuskegee Institute, but never really knew much about him beyond just the name recognition. This autobiography was a good way to find out more about him, his life, and his philosophies - most all of which I agree with and think we could use more of these days (both black and white people). The one criticism I have of the book is that the introduction by Louis Harlan is very long and I think would be better as an Epilogue. I found myself reading it going "o.k., o.k., just let me read the book". I ended up going back and rereading a lot of the introduction again, which puts the book and Mr. Washington into historical context, when I was done. I would recommend just skipping the introduction and reading it when you are done with the book. - - It does offer some insights though.
R_Jay More than 1 year ago
When this book was converted to an ebook, the publisher didn't bother to check to see if the e-version was readable. Not all of the characters/letters were converted properly so there are numerous words on every page that can be barely read because the letters are jumbled or incorrect. The original book by Booker T. Washington was terrific, but if you want to read it, buy a different version. This one is terrible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want to know how adult education really ought to be taught, you should read Booker T. Washington's autobiography "Up from Slavery". He was one of the greatest educators in history. His methods and determination to provide a high quality education to older teens and young adults proved to be of great worth to many men and women of different ethnic backgrounds. He went beyond "book learning" and provided a means for his students to learn life's skills and how to be good citizens in a most difficult time period in our history. His model and style of education still applies today, and, if they were taken seriously, could solve many of of education issues. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in how education should really be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book for understading slavery. This is a 8th grade reading level book good to use as a book report.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great story of a man who really believed that people needed to find a skill that made them feel useful and worthy. Very well written and I learned a lot about him.
wmarvel More than 1 year ago
The content of this book is riveting and hard to put down...but this nook version is so filled with errors and typos it is difficult to read. this by far is the worst nook edition i have encountered with regard to accuracy.
Bernimarie More than 1 year ago
I knew nothing about Booker T. Washington--until now! What a strong and determined man he was. He held no grudges and spent his entire life helping fellow African-Americans succeed, despite the odds against them at the time. He led an interesting life and made his way up from nothing to becoming a successful, world-renowned educator, orator, author and political leader. I highly recommend this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have foumd out how little was taught about the history of a great American hero in our current educational system. Persons of all cultures should read this autobiography and learn from Booker T. Washington on how to strive to live one's own life. A must read for all, but especially for the youth.
deanc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Booker T. Washington published this, his second, autobiography, in 1901 at age 45. It is a fascinating account of his childhood slavery, emancipation, education, and rise to prominence as a college educator and highly acclaimed African American leader. This is one book I had a hard time putting down. It reveals a man deeply committed to helping African Americans in post-Reconstruction America earn respect based on their skillful work and valuable contributions to society. A quote from the book seems to summarize Washington¿s personal philosophy: ¿I have learned that success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed.¿ He believed that striving for excellence and working cooperatively with all people, regardless of ethnicity or station, was the key to the black man winning his rightful place in the world.It is recommended reading for those wishing to broaden their understanding of and appreciation for African American history, post-Civil War race relations, or the history of higher education in America. The Penguin Classics edition has an index, endnotes (18 in all), and an interesting introduction by historian and Washington biographer Louis R. Harlan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of history that I was able to read from start to finish without falling asleep.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks mr washington
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very uplifting. A part of history that we all need to know about. It makes oneself proud to be an American, people of all color, races and creeds.
braintrusts More than 1 year ago
The author could just as easily have used his prescription for success for people today, as he did immediately after the Civil War. Booker T. Washington knew that the success of ex-slaves in this country was directly proportional to the level of education achieved. That education also included the interpersonal skills necessary to perform those skills in social settings. READ THIS BOOK!! You won't regret it. Talk to your school boards and make it mandatory reading in Middle Schools.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an interesting book read l
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By lisa genova
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DO NOT BUY THIS. IT IS NOT THE WHOLE BOOK. IT IS JUST THE INTRODUCTION
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago