The Universal Baseball Association, Inc., J. Henry Waugh, Prop.

The Universal Baseball Association, Inc., J. Henry Waugh, Prop.

by Robert Coover

Paperback

$14.42 $14.95 Save 4% Current price is $14.42, Original price is $14.95. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Universal Baseball Association, Inc., J. Henry Waugh, Prop. 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was long out of print and hard-to-find but back in the '70's I found a copy and nearly busted a gut many times laughing my way through this. It may have been more relevant to me at the time as I was an avid Stratomatic baseball card-game addict. Any rotisserie-league baseball (or probably any sport) fan can identify with this book. The book deals with the pathetic life of an individual who develops a game similar to APBA or Stratomatic. However, he creates fictional players, complete with biographies and personalities. Not only that, he creates post-game interviews, next-day newspaper reviews of the game, the whole pseudo-reality works. If you've ever played with fantasy teams or thought about it, READ THIS BOOK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Practitioners of the somewhat odd practice of tabletop baseball simulation will love the story of Henry, a old accountant who becomes comsumed by his creation, a paper and dice league called the Universal Baseball Association. Tremendous.
BooksForDinner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A great baseball book, though I suppose it is only tangentially about baseball. The final chapter is pretty disturbing, as are many of the passages throughout the book when Henry seems to no longer be able to differentiate between real life and the one he's created. This book is somewhat a book of the times, with some of the stream of consciousness-hipster-beat kind of riffing that I'm not all that fond of, but overall n outstanding novel.
NoLongerAtEase on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The UBA is really a masterpiece. Coover is able to deftly blend exceptional writing, humor, a straight forwardly interesting plot, AND second order speculation about, among other things, the creative process and the nature of the cosmos. If one were to peruse the reviews from 1968, when the novel was first published, one would find that the New York Times praises the book's metaphorical aspects (and suggests that it's baseball content is a dispensable deus ex machina) while Sports Illustrated takes the opposite angle (suggesting that UBA is a baseball book through and through... posh on those trying to read too much into it). What makes the work truly great is that SI and the NYT are both essentially correct. UBA is a great baseball novel that also has a host of metaphysically interesting questions that can be found just below the surface level event; minimal digging required.
jbushnell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fascinating novel about a man who invents a dice-based baseball simulator and manages it through dozens of fictional seasons. Conceptually very rich, and I don't think Coover always gets his due as a stylist: sentence for sentence, this is one of the most accomplished novels I've read in the last few years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Universal Baseball Association or UBA for short is a sports fiction book about J. Henry Waugh having a fantasy baseball going on in his mind. To determine what happens in his game, he rolls dice and the outcome means certain things. One passage of the book that I thought was important was the standings board. Just they way Robert Coover described the board made it seem it was right in front of me and I was there watching all of the games. Likes I liked how it was a sports book. It was also kinda odd because some of the names that Waugh comes up with are strange. An example is The Knickerbockers. I also liked how it was an easy read. Who would like this I think anyone who likes sport related books.. Why should someone read this I think someone should read this because it is an easy read and it is quite entertaining. Dislikes What I didn’t like about this book was trying to understand the rules of how the game works and being in Waugh’s mind. Connections I personally do not think that this book relates to any works that I have read. Overall rating 9/10
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago