Triumff: Her Majesty's Hero

Triumff: Her Majesty's Hero

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Triumff: the Double Falsehood 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was fun light reading with unique and interesting characters. Haven't read anything else by Mr. Abnett but, based on Triumff, I will.
ArcanumPax More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Light reading but thoughtful and it has a few twists and turns. I recommend it.
Ike_Levens More than 1 year ago
Triumff is hilarious, and well worth reading. It is very different from any of the author's novels for the Black Library, and very far from his normal genre, but still wonderful. By leaving the grim reaches of far future distopia and creating his own world in the present, he is able to concentrate more on the comedy of his writing. Vivat Regina
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of Abnett's, but I *am* glad I borrowed instead of bought this. That said, it's actually a pretty decent alt-history/light fantasy novel. Wee two much tongue-in-cheek humor for me, is all.
SockMonkeyGirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Despite feeling like I missed a lot of the jokes, I really enjoyed this book. It's a take on what would happen if the Renaissance had embraced a return to magic, rather than a move towards humanism and science. According to Abnett, it would mean a neverending Elizabethan era populated by drunken heros and some hilariously bad puns. I had fun reading it and look forward to further adventures.
Shrike58 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this gonzo riff on a world where the rediscovery of magic preempts much of current day technology and helps lead to a prolonged Elizabethan age, but this work is so busy and meanders around so much that at a certain point it just gave me a headache; file under too clever by half. It would have made a dynamite graphic novel (as the author originally intended). It still might make a great setting for a video game; imagine a humorous take on the "Assassin's Creed" series.
librisissimo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Substance: "It is the year 2010. Her Divine Majesty, Queen Elizabeth XXX sits upon the throne. Great Britain's vast Empire is run by alchemy and superstition. Now Sir Rupert Triumff, a dashing swordsman, has uncovered a vile plot to dethrone her glorious majesty. For the honour of the nation: to arms!"And basically that's it. Lots of buckling swash, bawdry, and evil magicians. Unfortunately, the plot really doesn't hold together, but who cares?Style: "Triumff is a witch's brew of alternate history, hocus pocus, cracking action and cheesy gags. Reads like Blackadder crossed with Neal Stephenson" or like Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman in league.NOTES: The surprise ending at the very end is kind of flat, since it had no harbingers.
irunsjh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I was told that it was a laugh a page sort of book, something I do not agree with wholly. I did laugh a lot at this book, but I found there was long patches where I was left waiting for the humor to arrive. I liked the combination of sword and magic, in a modern day. I also liked that if you stuck with magic, your country was doomed to stay in the middle ages, where if you left magic behind you advanced to current times. Overall an interesting read, and I would read more by this author for sure. I am hoping that he goes back and revisits Triumff for future books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago