To Tame a Highland Warrior (Highlander Series #2)

To Tame a Highland Warrior (Highlander Series #2)

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 10

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

To Tame a Highland Warrior (Highlander Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 843 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms. Moning has a great passion for storytelling. More than once I was tempted to highlight sentences or passages because they were phrased so well. Of course, I was so engrossed in the book that I could not be bothered to put the book down long enough to get a highlighter.
This story is fun to read and is based on supernatural beings called Berserkers which were supposed to have existed in Scotland many years ago. We watch the character of Grimm go through a transformation as he attempts to hide his true nature from the world and then, through circumstance, reveal himself to close friends and to the woman that he loves.
One of the things that I love about Ms. Moning's books is they all have this element of fearing to reveal our true self to the person we love the most, even when that person is the person who understands us best of all. When the moment finally comes to share ourselves, we find that the other person knew the truth and accepted us all along.
I love the scene in the church when Jillian's father says that love involves having passion, so much passion that you'd be willing to kidnap your beloved before she turned to someone else. You really get the sense of divine intervention in this book. This man and this woman are made for one another and no matter what they do to deny it, fate always steps in and thrusts them together until they are ready to accept it.
I highly recommend this book and pretty much anything else by this author. She has a fabulous way of combining celtic mysticism and historical romance without feeling forced. This is a fantastic series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe Moning is one of the best romance writers of today- because you are drawn in so quickly and it is such an enjoyable read. She knows how to be light and funny and then make you feel the drama and suspense of the moment. This one was my favorite.
WWW93639 More than 1 year ago
After reading the 1st installment of Moning's Highlander series, I knew I had to continue reading more! I figured I would grow tired of Scottish highlanders and their pursuit of women but I haven't. She writes with such humor & detail that even though you know the highlander will get the girl in the end, you are still drawn in & can't wait to see how their story unfolds! This story of Grimm & Jillian is excellent as Grimm strongly resists his feelings given his mistaken beliefs about his father. A great read!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book! The dialog was hysterically funny in parts, and I laughed out loud frequently while listening to the audio book. I recommend listening to the audio book because the narrator has an excellent Scottish accent! Anyway, the character of Grimm is everything you want in a hero and then some! Jillian's character is quite believable as a 21-year-old that is still hopelessly in love with her childhood fantasy man. The supporting characters are well-developed, and the story just got better and better. MUCH better than the first book in this series! I highly recommend it.
angiefromwv More than 1 year ago
Great story! Had me just a few short chapters in. Really love the charachters and the flow from book one to book two.
HotRodRachel More than 1 year ago
Book 1 grabbed my attention so of course I bought #2. I was very happy! Best historical/romance series Ive read in a looong time! Couldnt put it down!
JesJS More than 1 year ago
I love the Highlander series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the+adventure+continues+with+fun+twists+and+unexpected+events.
rainrunner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, but I can't get enough of Highlanders and Karen Marie Moning. The character, Grimm, was introduced in a previous KMM book and I was thrilled to learn a little more about him.Gavreal McIllioch, or Grimm, is a Berserker, which means, when he goes to battle, he REALLY goes to battle. He's a superhuman dude when it comes to beating a foe senseless. He is asked to go back to a place where he was brought up after the death of his father to care for Jillian St. Clair.Jillian has not married yet and her father has summoned three men to try and get her to marry them, Grimm being one of them. She and Grimm basically grew up together and many years ago when she told him she loved him, he up and left. She's rather ticked about that to say the least.This love story goes through the ups and downs of Grimm's and Jillian's hidden love for each other and why Grimm is so adamant about not getting involved with her. I recommend this book. It shows how love can blossom and survive in spite of roadblocks that are thrown in the way
spazp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am hearing from people that you could skip the first 2 books in this series and not miss anything, but I adored this book! The first one is good, I loved this! Don't skip it! Very charming! Lived the Beserker mythology!
Chandra-of-Red on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
AUTHOR: Second time reading a book by Karen Moning. She is now on my TOP FIVE list of favorite Romance Authors. Her books are adventurous and passionate.SYNOPSISGrimm, short for Gavrael Roderick Icarus McIllioch, with an extra "m" of course, witnesses many deaths and wants vengeance at a very early age. He calls on a power that whispers in his ears. Seeing his mother amongst the dead, he runs away from home taking a secret about himself with him. Hungry and dirty, he is taken in by the St. Clair family. Jillian St. Clair as a young child loves him at first site. Years later a constant pursuing enemy intent on destroying Grimm finds him living with the St. Clairs. They attack the castle home. After doing battle, Grimm leaves with the intent of protecting the St. Clair family, leaving broken hearted 16 year old Jillian behind. Time passes and at the age of 21 years, Jillian is continuously pressed by her father to get married. He forces her into a situation to make a choice by inviting (3) warrior suitors to win her as a bride. Grimm is among them, still carrying his secret. He has always found Jillian a bother and a source of irritation. The story will eventually lead to him returning to his original home that he no longer thought existed. SEX SCALE: Of the following five options: 1) NOT very descriptive and requires imagination' 2) WILL make you wiggle a little) 3) WISH it was me; 4) OH boy, do not have to use my imagination at all; 5) EROTICA and well over the top******THIS BOOK GETS A THREE for "WISH it was me" rating because when the emotion of love finally comes to a realization, OH BOY I WISH IT WAS ME. Sexy, loving, caring******LEAST FAVORITE PART: Return to the village of Tuluth and to Maldebann CastleFAVORITE PART: Felt author carried out the bickering between Jillian and Grimm for too long. After a while, it was really annoying to read.YOU WILL LIKE THIS BOOK IF YOU LIKE: Hidden secrets and hidden love. Men competing over one woman. When the passion spicket is turned on, boy does it run! Misunderstandings and unhappiness that takes many years to get sorted out.
blingtastic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
great addition to the series.... thoroughly enjoyed this book. Grimm and Jillian were intriguing characters, The plot was exciting and we couldn't put the book down
QwertySue on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To Tame a Highland Warrior, along with Beyond the Highland Mist, is my favorite of Moning¿s Highlander series because there is more tension between the characters than in the other novels. While there are certainly tried and true traits to her novels (alpha males, virgins, etc.), the settings and stories are unpredictable.
jmaloney17 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in Moning's Highland Warrior series. I liked the second one more than the first. This one does not include any time traveling. These do relate to the Fever series a little bit. This book deals with Berserkers. I liked the dynamic between the leads in installment.
KattDiaz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grimm will always be my favorite highlander. (sighes) I just wish Karen would give him a bigger spot light, like the Keltars.
risadabomb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. Loved Grimm, he was sooo sexy. This book was beautifully written and captivating.
dukefn99 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. I thoroughly enjoyed this tale of a berserker and the woman who could tame him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite authors. Always a fun romp.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So in love with this series
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We met Grimm in the last book and he was a bit of a mystery. You don’t really know much about it and there was a moment where he sort of just disappears without any excuse. When I found out that the next book was his story I was really excited to read it. Even still, the majority of the book leaves you clamoring to know more about Grimm. I mean, you know he’s a Berserker in the beginning of the story but you don’t really know what that means for him because Grimm himself doesn’t even know what that means. It isn’t until towards the end of the story that you start get the whole picture. Grimm is kind of a self-loathing character. He hates his family, he changed his name so no one would connect him with his clan, he hates that he summoned the Berserker, and he hates that he loves Jillian even though he knows he can’t have her. He knows the aftermath of what happens after his Berserker takes over but he has no control or memory of what takes place when he’s no longer in charge. He’s terrified that he’d hurt Jillian, so instead of courting her like her father had intended, she pushes her away. One thing that really bugged me was the fact that for a guy who’s pretty much 30 years old, he acted like an idiot. I mean, he was terrified of being honest with her and telling her that he was possessed by a Berserker because he felt she would be horrified and turn him away, and so his solution to keep her from getting close to him is to insult and belittle her at every turn. I mean, if you wanted someone to leave you alone because you felt you were too dangerous for them, why not just come out and tell her what you are? Seems to me that would be a foolproof way of letting someone know that it’s just not gonna happen. When Jillian realizes that her father sent suitors with the intent that she marry immediately, she’s clearly put out. She’s been dodging suitors for years and this is yet another plot of her fathers to see her wed. However, when Grimm shows up at her door, she’s taken right back to her teen years. She finds herself mooning over him, following him around, and seeking him out at every chance. Given the fact that he calls you names and makes you feel like a petulant child, you’d think she’d back off and move on. Nope. She just keeps on throwing herself out there over and over again. I think if it weren’t for the Berserker aspect of the novel, I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much. I got why Grimm was so drawn to Jillian. It’s said that when a Berserker finds his mate he can no longer see anything beyond her. Which makes sense as to why when he left her home way back when he’s been celibate ever since. It also makes sense why when he pushes her away, the moment she shows interest in one of her other suitors, he comes charging back in. The Berserker refuses to allow another man touch his mate. I just wish that the way Jillian and Grimm danced around each other was different. Maybe less of Grimm being mean to her and maybe also less of Jillian following him around like a lost little puppy. While this story doesn’t include time traveling like the previous book, it does have Berserkers. Which is something you don’t see all that often. This is kind of a mash up of a second chance romance, set in historical highlander era, with a Berserker to boot. Needless to say, I was entertained the whole time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite in the series so far!