Three Soldiers

Three Soldiers

by John Dos Passos

Audio CD

$75.75
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Three Soldiers (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read John Dos Passos "Three Soldiers" this weekend. Written in 1921, it covers a year of three U.S. soldiers sent to France during WW 1. Nothing pretty or romantic about it - war is stupid and costly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
World War I seems to have fewer books and novels written about it than WWII and other conflicts, perhaps because it happened so long ago. And distant events become distant. But this book brings WWI its culture and its horrors alive. This is a unique story of 3 average american infantry soldiers from different ethinic, economic and educated backgrounds whose perceptions of what warfare will be evaporate into the horrorful reality and how they respond as people. The writing is excellent; these characters with all their faults and individualistics come alive as does the confusion and paradigms of war. This is a book I could not put down. Mesmerizing and a great read, I would recommend it to anyone.
michaelbartley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a interesting war novel, very little about war itself a lot about bing in the army. lot to think about about choices we make thoughtful novel
figre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My guess is that the impact of anti-war books, that is anti-war books from a number of years ago, has diminished because of the volumes and volumes of such books that have been published over the years. Therefore, the impact of such a book as Three Soldiers is probably not as profound as it was when first published, coming out not too long after the First World War and with the US still fervently believing that armed conflict was the solution to so many of its problems.But today, after so many classics have been issued, this becomes an interesting story of soldiers fighting in WWI (actually, primarily focused on after the war is over but before being sent home), but not the profoundly moving anti-war story it was at one time.Don¿t get me wrong; still a good novel. Starting with training before the war, the three soldiers of the title are introduced. However, the story doesn¿t exactly follow the three of them through their voyages, but rather visits them at different points in their travels ¿ shifting focus between them at various times. Of interest, there is very little focus on the actual battles (as one might expect in an anti-war novel). Instead, after the training we see them as they prepare for battle. Then the majority of the novel is taken up with post-war France ¿ primarily after the Armistice.A different telling of a story than you might expect, which is why this novel is more interesting than it might have been (particularly, as I¿ve already mentioned, with the fact that it is not as shockingly anti-war as it was in the past.) Interesting character studies, and a frank portrayal of those characters in a bad time. A book worth reading for all of these things, and in spite of what it used to be.
BruderBane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
¿Three Soldiers¿ by John Dos Passos is considered a literary classic published soon after World War I and encapsulating much of the disgruntled war fatigue many felt during and after the war. What I discovered was a rather piecemeal lethargic march through the lives of self-centered egocentric snobs not men who had been through the meat-grinder and had become rightly disenchanted and disgruntled. Mr. Passos did not enthrall or entice me and while the writing was quite descriptive the shear lack of character direction, which I do understand was purposeful and reminiscent of the era, encouraged me to put the novel down earlier than I would have liked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like war... ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
An interesting read about three men in WW I with a very poor ending. Lets all three men in limbo for you to, I guess write your own ending. Lot's of French speaking that leaves on wondering what was said. A pleasant waste of time!