The Third Circle (Arcane Society Series #4)

The Third Circle (Arcane Society Series #4)

by Amanda Quick

Hardcover

$24.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Third Circle 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 90 reviews.
Michelle Carris More than 1 year ago
One of her better books in the Arcane Series. I was hooked and reeled in from the opening sentence to it's last. This book is a keeper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great as usual! You should check it out.
lovetoreadAR More than 1 year ago
Just finished The Third Circle by Amanda Quick (aka Jayne Ann Krentz/Jayne Castle), loved it. This is another of the Arcane series, and I'm kinda working backwards, it was so great to see what this one had to say. We meet the insane and cold Dr Basil Hulsey and learn of a different order than Nightshade. I had no idea who it started with or that the name had been at one time something different. I so enjoyed how we first meet Leona. In a historical period she's an extraordinary woman. Not just for her talent, but her courage and style. And Thad, strong, deadly, lonely. He's got a difficult talent too and so they call to one another in how they relate. They also seem to share the danger between them. We have family, friendship, humor, exotic drugs, a Jack the Ripper type killer, gender and talent bias, plus social bias, romantic tension, drama, murder plots, conspiracies, missing relatives, investment scams, twists, and overall a very tantalizing read. I read it nearly straight through, I hated to put it down. I also loved the background on the formation of Jones and Jones, their family history, and even the creation of Arcane Match! Didn't see that coming. Hahah. Thad and Leona's action packed love story fits right into this amazing series. I'm so thrilled I've nearly caught up with all the volumes now. I hope she continues because I'm happy to keep going as long as she does!
Anonymous 6 months ago
fast paced and full of good char acters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the Arcane Society books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book that kept one not wanting to put it down!
hoosgracie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Leona is a crystal reader. While dressed in mens clothing, she runs into (literally) Thaddeus while both are trying to steal a powerful crystal from Lord Delbridge. I quite enjoyed this Victorian era Arcane Society novel. The characters were well developed and the adventure quite good.
NemesisClaws on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fabulous read! I also can't wait for Caleb Jone's story!!!!
phyllis2779 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Okay -- pretty much the usual characters and the usual Quick plot. Nothing out of the ordinary. I read this and didn't remember that I had until I started to read a description.
lrobe190 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Leona Hewitt and Thaddeus Ware meet while both are in the process of breaking into a nobleman's home to find the mysterious aurora crystal. Leona, a crystal worker, claims the crystal belongs to her family and Thaddeus asserts that the crystal was stolen from the Arcane Society. When they discover a dead body along with the crystal, they hurry to escape, but Thaddeus is overcome with a poisonous vapor and it requires all of Leona's skill to keep him sane and alive, In the process, they lose the crystal again. Now the hunt is on to recover the crystal and learn the identity of a monstrous serial killer who is somehow involved. Meanwhile the psychic energy between Thaddeus and Leona develops into overpowering passion between them. This is the 4th book in Quick's Arcane Society novels. All of the novels revolve around the Jones family, founders and headsof the Arcane Society - all members of which have paranormal abilities. While there is romance and intrigue, this wasn't my favorite of Quick's novels.
Cauterize on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Arcane Society book like Second Sight. I guess I'm different from the other reviewers in that I HATE that she's making these books paranormal-lite. I read Amanda Quick for historical regency stand-alone romances with quirky heroines. I DON'T read Krentz's paranormals and contemporaries because I read a couple and I couldn't stand them. Also, I did read this book right before "Silver Master" by Castle/Krentz and I noticed they had the same basic plot for both. The heroine has a special paranormal power and everyone's searching for an object that only she can use, and the hero is an unusual "hunter-type" who is protecting some group's interest by protecting her and helping her get the object. So I don't know if it is understandable that I was fairly annoyed reading the same basic plot in two different books by the same author. The coolest thing about this book was Mr. Pierce and his society of "males".
pkitty on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was great!! I love how she is going back and forth between contemporary and historical fiction. This is the fourth book in the series, and I look forward to many more.
jjmachshev on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this latest historical addition to the Arcane Society novels by Quick/Krentz. If you've been reading this series, you won't want to miss this one as you get more background on how the society started and how Jones Investigations began. I can't wait for Caleb's story!!She's the latest inheritor of the ability to work the dream crystal. She's also determined to get the dream stone back into the possession of her family.He's a dangerous man able to hypnotize others with just the sound of his voice. He's been charged by the society with regaining possession of the dangerous dream stone.These two meet when both try to steal the dream stone from a fanatic collector with a psychopathic minion. He saves her, she saves him...they're even. But what happens when a woman whose ancestress is still scorned by the society, and a man who's all but society royalty can't keep their hands off each other?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next one in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She's fone it again. A excellently written book, that encompasses every emotion you csn think of. Very wrll written & captivating!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lencha More than 1 year ago
Have always loved this author. This series is absolutely "paranormally great"!! Love them all so far!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As said above the book isn't bad. You see some of the old favorites such as Gabriel making a show. And it follows along the lines of the previous books. A great read for those of you who haven't read any of her books yet. But if you have, its again the same feel to the story. Strong minded woman, bull headed man trying to protrect her while wooeing her at the same time. Woman in danger. There are some differences in the fact that you see a little futher past the two main characters than normal which I enjoyed fully. But dont take my word for how you would enjoy it. Read it yourself and find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago