ISBN-10:
0192834088
ISBN-13:
9780192834089
Pub. Date:
05/28/1998
Publisher:
Oxford University Press, USA
The Warden

The Warden

Paperback

Current price is , Original price is $9.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Warden 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
markbstephenson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this with great pleasure, amazed at how the author contrived such stark and convincing conflicts between such harmless characters!
DavidGreene on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First of the Barsetshire series is a gentle introduction to the characters who inhabit the subsequent novels.
cmbohn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first in the Barcester series by Anthony Trollope. Mr. Harding, the warden of the title, is a clergyman in charge of a hospital/nursing home for 12 men, funded by a bequest for that purpose. Mr. Bold is a reformer, who wants to clear the church of any hint of financial impropriety. He is also in love with Miss Harding. When he begins looking into the hospital and the bequest, he decides that too much money is being left to Mr. Harding and not enough to the elderly residents. Soon his conclusions lead to a debate, and then to a lawsuit and newspaper editorials. Poor Mr. Harding, who is certainly not corrupt nor greedy, comes off looking like the worst embezzler in the church. Somehow this situation must be resolved.I actually read this out of order, and read Barchester Towers first. That one is the better book. This reads like a prequel, not really a book on its own right. The characters are well developed, but the story seems a little thin to sustain a whole book. But now I want to look through Barchester Towers again. Good, but certainly not great.
jeffome on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this little story.....one that really by itself is not too overwhelmingly exciting, but in the hands of a talented writer, it became somewhat dramatic and almost exciting...exciting in that i was very anxious to find out which side in this somewhat legal dilemma would prevail. There were characters that were clearly very likable and others that were definitely not....some you could respect, others to pity. And the whole church/cathedral/politics element was a whole new arena for me to experience. Oddly, my only other Trollope book so far also had a very serious legal trial as a major component, which was remarkably applicable to today's world, and i can say the same for this. Trollope was rather prolific and i am looking forward to the other of this series as well as his many other works.
atreic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an immensely warm and cute book. One cannot help but like the people on all sides of the situation (which is the amount paid to the Warden of an Almshouse), and the motivations are wonderfully fleshed out. The author's voice is charming and endearing too, although the snarky satirical diversions can go on just a tad too long to listen to patiently on an audiobook. I must admit I was hoping for a slightly happier ending though...
Cariola on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first of the Barchester series, The Warden seems obviously designed to set up the next five novels. It's fine on its own, but not the best of Trollope by any means. Mr. Harding, warden of an almshouse for 12 elderly disabled men, finds himself the target of a lawsuit promoted by his daughter's admirer. The claim is that the benefactor's will did not mean for the church to use the bequest to fund a warden, but that it was meant to go directly to the 12 men. Complicating factors is the fact that the archdeacon, married to Harding's elder daughter, insists on fighting the suit, which gets nasty in the public press. The plot focuses on how Mr. Harding, a genuinely kind and good man, deals with the stress and his own conscience, and how his daughter Eleanor struggles between her fierce love for her father and her growing affection for John Bull, the lawyer behind the lawsuit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago