The Veil (Devil's Isle Series #1)

The Veil (Devil's Isle Series #1)

Audio CD(Unabridged CD)

$39.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 27
MARKETPLACE
3 New & Used Starting at $7.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Veil 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome I love Merit & Ethan, I was very worried about starting a new series with CN as the writer because sometimes you feel let down; however, Clarie's story starting to unfold and grow I was caught! Having grown up in the south and knowing the area was helpful for me because I knew what it was like "pre war", so it helped me see the streets and locations better than if I'd never been to the area. Anyhow, this is worth reading! Go for it, I rgink you will enjoy it! Sarah
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It is starting out even better than the Merit/Ethan series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! The action and suspense kept me reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can now say that I own all of Chloe Neill's books. I was sceptical about starting a new series, especially after finishing the last book Chicagoland Vampire series, but The Veil quickly drew me in to its story and the characters are wonderfully developed. I am anxiously awaiting the next release! I just wish there was a shorter wait time between books. It is that good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Claire Connolly is the last survivng member of her human family, but recently she has started exhibiting signs of having magic, which is illegal after the supernatural war. She has gotten good at hiding her magic, but when she see’s a woman being attacked by wraiths she comes to her defense and the only way to come out of it alive is to use her gifts. Unfortunately she is spotted by Liam, a bounty hunter whose job is to catch the wraiths and take them to confinement in Devil’s Isle. Liam does not turn Claire in, instead he works with her and finds her a tutor to teach her how to control her magic to keep her from turning into a wraith. He also agrees to teach her how to become a bounty hunter, like him, and as they hunt they discover that there are forces at work that are trying to open the veil between worlds, and they can’t allow that to happen. Claire is torn between the human world and the magical. Her friends are completely human but she can’t ignore the help Liam is giving her, and she can’t ignore the connection she feels to him. Liam, who is human is also drawn to Clair, and is torn between wanting to get closer and wanting to hold her at a distance because if she loses control, he will have to turn her in. The setting for this novel is New Orleans and added to the characters torn feelings about magic. After all, New Orleans pre-war capitalized upon its magical elements to draw tourists and make money. Now post war, all of those elements are illegal, making the city feel dead and decayed giving it a post apocalyptic mood. I enjoyed this book as it was different and interesting. It’s the first in the series and made me curious to see how Claire’s character was going to evolve and also see if she and Liam could resolve their differences. ❤️❤️❤️❣️
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
My first by Ms. Neill and it won't be my last. Strong characters, great world building and an unusual storyline. I loved it and I'm on to book two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All in a all a fun read and cool world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Realy enjoyed this book. Lots of action and a great storyline. Should be a good series.
LovinLosLibros More than 1 year ago
When I saw Chloe Neill was coming out with a new UF series, I was quite excited! I really liked what I've read of the Chicagoland Vampires series and I am looking forward to continuing soon. I really enjoyed the first installment in her Devil's Isle series, The Veil. There was quite a bit of information given in order to set up the world, but I didn't feel it was dumped upon us. It was necessary to truly get to a point of understanding what New Orleans was like post-war and post-Veil opening. It is truly a devastated place, but I love how the residents that live in the Zone still manage to find happiness despite it all. Our main character Claire, is a Sensitive, but she has to keep her magic a secret, else she be sent to Devil's Isle along with all the other paranormals and magic users. Their prison is one Claire will do anything to stay away from. I really liked Claire's character. She's not a pushover and she doesn't run away scared. She sees a girl in trouble and she knows she can't just leave her there to die at the wraiths' hands. Unfortunately, Claire has to use magic, thus sending Liam Quinn into her life. Liam is a bounty hunter who hunts wraiths and brings them to Devil's Isle. Sensitives become wraiths when they cannot regulate their magic, so it's a tricky situation with Claire. He wants to help her because he doesn't want to be the one to bring her to Devil's Isle- especially not after starting to have feelings for her. This definitely ups the tension between these two, because Liam doesn't feel like he can have Claire, what with him being the one who would have to take her, should she become a wraith. Overall, I thought he was a good character though. He cares for her, but there's not all this drama and angst between them either. He also treats her as an equal, even though she is clearly inexperienced in the field. She proves her worth and I really loved seeing that. I really enjoyed our secondary characters Tadji, Gunnar, Gavin, and Burke to name a few. Neill has done a good job of introducing us to her characters, the world, and giving us resolution for this book. Obviously, there are some revelations that will play a larger role in upcoming books, as well as Claire and Liam's impending relationship. Overall, this was a good start to this new series. I did get a little bit of information overload, but again, it was all necessary to the plot and understanding the world. I can't wait for the second book, The Sight!
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
The Veil is the first installment in Chloe Neill's urban fantasy series titled: Devil's Isle. This was a promising first book to a series that will surely grow in popularity. Overall, I liked it. The premise was complicated enough to keep me thinking, the characters were interesting enough to keep me reading, and for the most part, the story was pretty fast paced. Although, I liked it, I didn't love it and I'm sad to have to admit that. There was a portion of this story that had me zoning out a bit and I even considered skipping over whole chapters. The thing is, I can't identify what it was that kept me from feeling completely engaged and invested. I also want to note that while there may be some romantic tension, any actual romance in this book is understated to the point of being almost nonexistent. On the plus side, the potential for romance is enough to keep me interested in reading the next book. I think the characters have some pretty good chemistry. Ms. Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series completely sold me on her as a writer, and I was very excited to read The Veil. While Chicagoland Vampires is Ms. Neill's love letter to the city of Chicago, The Veil looks to be the start of a love letter to the city of New Orleans. One of Ms. Neill's many talents include drawing the reader into the setting and giving you a reason to want to stay there. The smells, the tastes, the sounds, the visuals...let's just say I want to visit New Orleans now :) Urban fantasy is one of my favorite genres so I for sure will be continuing the series. I have faith in Ms. Neill, and I'm interested to see what she does with this story. My favorite quote: "You could take the people out of New Orleans, but you’d never get all the crazy."
MyParanormalKink More than 1 year ago
The Veil Book 1 of the Devil’s Isle Series Chloe Neill 4 Stars A thin line is the only thing that protects us When I first got the book I was hesitant to read it. I thought for sure I wouldn’t like it, whether that was due to the title or the cover I don’t know. What finally got me to read it was the author, Chloe Neill. Now I don’t mean we talk about my worries, I mean that I am a fan of hers. She has another series, the Chicagoland Vampires. I love this series with the great detail to the descriptions, the wonderfully developed characters, and a little humor and romance interweaved with the action and suspense. I will admit I wasn’t hooked by this book. I have read other books that take place in New Orleans and I always have a problem seeing the scene. I am sure this is one of the reasons I had difficulty getting into the story. For me the Devil’s Isle reminded me of a prison of war camp from WWII and this was my biggest issue. However, I did like the characters and I want to learn more about Clair and her tinkering skills and hear more about all the treasures in her shop. I will be ordering the second book in the Devil’s Isle series. I did not notice any grammar or spelling issues, which is a big pet peeve for me. If I have to stop reading to give a word or sentence a second look, it pulls me out of the world created in the book. Overall, it was a well written story and you should take a chance on it. I give the book 4 stars.
Wendylu4 More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this new series by Chloe!! It has plenty of action, betrayal, humor and the beginnings of a great romance. This is an interesting take on paranormals. There was a Veil that broke letting paras into the world. The government was able to seal the veil and have put paras in a guarded area away from the population. They also put people who discovered they have magic once exposed to paras in the same guarded area. These people are called sensitives. The government as it turns out is hiding many secrets. Not all paras are bad, there is a way for sensitives to learn control over their magic, the veil must remained closed for everyone's safety. If you haven't already I recommend reading it. 5 stars.
JK1515 More than 1 year ago
I just want to start by saying what a fan I am of Chloe Neill and her Chicagoland Vampire series! When I found out she was writing a new series, I was thrilled! Okay, so I'm not a fan of dystopian, or whatever you would categorize this book as. So, I wasn't sure about this book. Nevertheless, since this was Chloe Neill, I had to give it a try. The story started off a little slow, but I understand that the characters and the world building had to be created first. This book was basically the set-up of the series, a get to know the characters and environment they exist in. Once the story really got going, then WOW! It was fantastic! The New Orleans the author created was well done. The plot was creative, and it has a lot of potential as a series. I loved all the characters. I really liked Liam and Claire the most. Claire is sassy and has a strong moral compass. Liam is just the sexy bad boy. The biggest thing I felt this story was lacking, was romance. I'm used to a little more romance in my Chloe Neill books. There was almost none in this book, besides a little bit of tension between the two main characters. Overall, this is another hit from Chloe Neill. I'm giving the first installment, The Veil, four glittery stars!
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 1/2 The Veil is Ms. Neill’s first book in the Devil’s Isle series and she has a winner on hand!!!! The beginning of The Veil is a tad slow, but there is a lot of world building that needs to be done. There are some many things as reader/listeners that we need to know. So every part is important. I love Claire. She is as Liam would put it Reckless Brave. This really is the perfect description of her. Claire does not back down from what she believes is right. Even when she learns more about her world and as her views of right and wrong change, she always sides on the side of right. I can not wait to see what is in store for Ms. Claire Connolly in the next book. Liam Quinn. Just his name is great!! But there is so much more to Liam Quinn then just his name, good lucks, his tough as nail exterior and his job to protect the people of New Orleans. Liam is a bit of a lost soul searching for something, even though he may not know what it is. Thankfully he has found it in a fiery red head that will challenge him every step of the way. I loved these two. I really can’t wait for Liam to get with the program. There are a lot of side characters too that I don’t believe will stay in the back ground for long. I do believe that Devil’s Isle is going to be an amazing series and I can’t wait for more. I had the honor of getting an audio book version of The Veil from Tantor Media for review. Amy Landon did any amazing job in her narration. The story was told smoothly and not in a manner that felt like she was just reading the words (which is very important for me). I do hope that Ms. Landon will continue to be the narrator for future books in this series. If you are a Chloe Neill fan I believe you will enjoy this new series. If you are new to Ms. Neill now is the time to jump into this new world. Audio fans, I would recommend this book to you also!! If you are unsure please go listen to a sample. Looking forward to the next adventure. Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this audiobook from Tantor Media, Netgalley & PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
This was a good start to a new series. I have only read one other book by Chloe Neill so I thought that this would be a great chance to jump into a new series just as it is beginning. The book was good but it lacked the something extra that makes a book great. Every time I start reading a book, I always hope that it will be one of those books that I can't get out of my mind and have a difficult time putting it down. This wasn't that kind of book. I liked this book but I didn't fall in love with it. I liked the overall premise of this story. I found the world to unique and interesting. I think that this book may have fallen victim to the first book syndrome that often occurs with the start of a new Urban Fiction or Paranormal series. I did actually find that the second half of the book moved a lot faster for me after a lot of the background information for the world had been covered. I like the fact that the main characters, Claire and Liam, are for the most part "normal." Okay, Claire is not completely normal but she was such a likable character. I really liked all of the characters in this story. Liam knows how to handle himself and I liked how he shared everything with Claire. Moses was great - I really hope that we get to see more of him in future installments in the series. Liam's family and Claire's friends all seemed to add to the story. This book did a great job of laying the foundation for a really exciting series. The cast of characters are colorful and very likable. The story is set in New Orleans which is such a vibrant and exciting city which adds an interesting element. The world is a little different than other books that I have read but it includes so many elements that I found familiar. This book didn't really have a lot of romance but I really liked the sexual tension between Liam and Claire and hope to see that explored as the series progresses. I would recommend this book to fans of Urban Fiction and paranormal stories. I really like Chloe Neill's style of writing and think that this is a solid start to a new series. I am really looking forward to continuing with this series. I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Publishing Group via NetGalley for the purpose of providing an honest review.
dsubsits More than 1 year ago
The Veil (Devil's Isle #1) by Chloe Neill I’m a huge fan of Chloe Neill’s Chicago Vampires Series. I was ecstatic when I found out she was releasing a new series. The Veil is extremely different than Chicago Vampires, which is good because it is a distinct series and not a spin off. I wasn’t really sure how much I was going to like it when I initially started reading it. I think that happens a lot with a first book of a series. A lot of background information needs to be set in order for the series to come to life. The more I read this book the better it got. By the time I got to the end, I was disappointed that it was over and anxious to read the next book. I started to feel really invested in the characters. The story takes place in New Orleans seven years after “The Veil” was torn, opening a doorway to a supernatural world that started a war against humanity. Some humans called Sensitives are gifted (or cursed) with magic that seeps through the Veil. Now seven years later, any paranormal being, including Sensitives, that are found are imprisoned in Devil's Isle. Our heroine and Sensitive, Claire Connolly, is attempting to hide from that fate. Simultaneously, something is going on that is threatening to reopen the Veil. I loved Claire. Her family is gone, but she developed some great friends. She is selfless and really cares about what happens to New Orleans and its people. She discovered she was a Sensitive eight months before the start of this story. She needs to learn how to control and hide her powers, enter Liam Quinn. Liam is everything you could want in an Alpha Bounty Hunter. He has some personal issues that make him realistic and intriguing. He helps Claire and introduces her to some people that can teach her to control her powers. Through him, she discovers that not everything she has been told is what it seems. The plot was carefully thought out with lots of foreshadowing. The story becomes more intricate and exhilarating as it goes on. The Veil has a satisfying ending. Chloe Neill creating an excellent foundation to the Devil's Isle Series; she did such an amazing job with her character development and story line that I cannot wait to read the next book in the series. The better we got to know them, the more I fell in love with Claire and Liam. Complimentary copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
LynnLTX More than 1 year ago
When Worlds Collide Chloe Neill’s new Urban Fantasy series begins with THE VEIL, set in a post-apocalyptic New Orleans. The Veil which stood between the magic and human world was ripped down by paranormals seven years before igniting a war with humans that left much of the South, especially Louisiana, devastated. Claire Connolly, who lost her father during the war, stayed in New Orleans and with her store, the Royal Mercantile, is trying to help the city rebuild. The magic that came into the world woke up the power in Sensitives who are human magic users; however, the downside is those who cannot learn to control the magic become wraiths, sort of the paranormal version of zombies. Anyone caught using magic ends up in Devil’s Isle, an internment camp for those paranormals left behind and Sensitives. Claire has made a family for herself among her friends in French Quarter where as a businesswoman, she provides the rationed supplies for the Containment troops and the locals that are left. As is often the case in a war torn place, life can be hardscrabble and fraught with tension and fear; but those left behind are working to recover after so much loss. It’s always interesting to see how resilient human nature can be when the world is ripped apart. Liam Quinn, a bounty hunter of wraiths and dangerous paranomals, sees Claire saving a woman from a wraith attack and offers to help her learn to hide, and more importantly, control her magic. While they are very attracted to each other, Liam resists getting involved with Claire because he may one day have to take her down should she become a wraith. For those who enjoy this type of Urban Fantasy, the characters are well developed and interesting including the varied assortment of paranormals who were left or stayed behind when the Veil was closed. The government’s tight militaristic control challenges Claire and her friends to make a life despite the hardships and dangers from both sides of the Veil. Someone is trying to reopen it which will plunge the world once again into war and despair. And Claire learns that the line between friends and enemies can become quickly blurred.