The Valiant

The Valiant

by Lesley Livingston

Paperback

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Valiant 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drew+me+in+from+the+start.+Some+of+the+romance+felt+a+tad+rushed+but+it+did+not+detract+from+the+story.++Highly+recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. Excitement on every page!
SammiiTX More than 1 year ago
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was just hoping for more with this one. The Valiant is the story of a Celtic princess who is kidnapped from her homeland, labeled a slave, and sold to the highest bidder. Which is how Fallon ends up as a female gladiator. Let’s just take a moment to soak that in. This is the story about female gladiators. This is not a fluffy story about boys, parties, and late-night pillow fights. There’s a lot of arena fighting, a lot of deaths, and a lot of looking over your shoulder that takes place throughout the story… and I really enjoyed it. When I say that Fallon was a princess, I don’t mean she was a Lady decked out in poofy dresses, and attending etiquette classes. Fallon’s people are warriors. So, on her seventeenth birthday, she expected her father to claim her as a member of his war band. Instead, he tried to marry her off. One thing leads to another and Fallon is captured and sold. Then once she’s purchased and trained as a gladiatrix, she finds that her opponents in the arena aren’t the only ones gunning for her. There is so much that goes on that I was always wondering what would happen next. When I read that there would be a romance between Fallon and a Roman soldier, I was over the moon excited. I love a good romance. However, this fell flat for me. I didn’t fully understand their love or how they got there. One minute Fallon is in love with her childhood friend, the next she’s in love with a Roman soldier? I didn’t feel like they had enough time together to build up to that deep of a connection. In the end, it just felt rushed and incomplete to me. I have been dying to get my hands on a copy of this book since the cover was released. There was just something about a female gladiator story that really piqued my interest. I really enjoyed the story that the author wrote, but at the same time, felt like it was lacking something. I kind of felt like this was just your average young adult novel but with a gladiator spin. You have the girl who climbs the ranks randomly (seriously, why wasn’t her friend Elka considered for Julius Caesar’s prized fighter? She saved Fallon’s behind on multiple occasions). Then there were the girls within her “sisterhood” who are catty and gunning for her. Not to mention the lackluster forbidden romance. I guess I was just hoping for more with this one. Don’t get me wrong, I still really enjoyed it, but it didn’t feel like it was anything new. I will pick up the next book from my library if they get it in, but I don’t think I will be going out of my way for it. Which is too bad because it has so much potential.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing!! Frankly I was surprised of the strength and passion of Fallon and all the other girls. Reading this was inspiring to see/visualize the strength of women in this book. The twists of the characters personality throughout the book, really helped me see more of them as a character. I love this book, and I can't wait to read 'The Defiant'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
there are no words for how much I loved this book. The adventure, the mystery, the romance, the plot twists... everything about this book was just perfect. Fallon is such a strong woman and it was a pleasure to read about her experience as a gladiatrix. Definitely a 10/10, I would read it again in a heartbeat. One of my new favorite books! - katie :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book.
WhatsBeyondForks More than 1 year ago
My favorite movie is Gladiator, so when I found out about this book, I was beyond thrilled. The Valiant by Lesley Livingston was a well told story of a girl who's not your typical princess from the beginning. This girl is tough. She's confident. And, she might very well be one of the strongest female characters I've ever read about. She doesn't need someone to save her. Through Fallon's point of view, the author captured the feel of this time period while still keeping her relatable. We know very little about the real life female Gladiators, and the way this author fills in those blanks with her imagination was very believable. Reading The Valiant gives you an intoxicating feeling of girl power without being obnoxious and annoying! There's definite potential for a sequel, and it looks like there will be one! I will definitely be reading it. The Valiant by Lesley Livingston was kindly provided to me by the publisher through Edelweiss for review. The opinions are my own.
brittanysbookrambles More than 1 year ago
The Valiant is a breath of fresh air amongst all of the male-heavy stories out there today. I didn't even know that there were real female gladiators until I read this book. What does that say about our society? Nothing good, though I'm not surprised. That being said, this is a book about Fallon, who is sold into slavery, goes through a ton of turmoil, and becomes a gladiator. It's an emotional tale that is focused on all of the female characters and how this turbulent world affects them. Though Fallon is an amazing lead, she's also surrounded by many other awesome women, and I enjoyed all of their plot-lines! Similarly to other great feminist authors like Mindy McGinnis and Leigh Bardugo who have paved the way for books focusing on female relationships and narratives, I am truly amazed by Lesley Livingston's writing and story telling abilities. In The Valiant, we follow Fallon and her fellow gladiatrices' on their journey into glory, pain, and even love. I adored every second of this marvelous novel, and I'm elated and ardently awaiting to see what Lesley has in store for us in the sequel!
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Valiant by Lesley Livingston Publisher: Razorbill Publication Date: February 14, 2017 Rating: 5 stars Source: eARC from Edelweiss/ARC Summary (from Goodreads): Lost to history, the story of the female gladiator has never been told. Until now. Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed while defending their home from the armies of Julius Caesar. On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister's footsteps and earn her place in her father's war band. She never gets the chance. Fallon is captured by ruthless brigands who sell her to an elite training school for female gladiators owned by none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon's family might be her only hope of survival. Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy. A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, "The Valiant" recounts Fallon s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire." What I Liked: This book was incredible. I've not read any book - Young Adult or Adult - featuring female gladiators, so I was immediately intrigued, upon reading the premise. Discovering this book was truly a blessing, because this book was every bit as ferocious and kickbutt as the synopsis and the hype promised. I'm honestly stunned. Fallon is the second daughter of the Celt king of the Cantii tribe of Prydain (Britain). Her older sister Sorcha was captured and killed by Romans years ago, and Fallon has grown up hating the Romans and desiring vengeance. Fallon is a fierce fighter, and wants to be a warrior of her father's war band. But she is captured by slavers, who take her to Rome and sell her to a woman who trains female gladiators. The Ludus Achillea is filled with girls Fallon's age, who have been trained to be gladiators to serve Julius Caesar. Fallon must train to be deadly and vicious, in order to survive fighting in an arena, like all of the the other female gladiators of Ludus Achillea. Fallon must put aside her thirst for vengeance against Rome in order to survive and fighter for her freedom. The first thing I want to say is that this book is nothing like Sarah J. Maas's (note the last line of the synopsis on Goodreads, also copied above). Maas's heroines (any of them, in any series) pale in comparison to Fallon and her fellow gladiators. I've always thought Maas's heroines were weak, and they definitely appear so, compared to the highly skilled ladies of this novel. I'm only bringing up Maas and her characters because of the synopsis above - don't let that "comparison" trick you. This book is nothing like Maas's, and for the better. From the start, I liked Fallon, and was cheering for her. She is turning seventeen, and she is going to make a bid to her father to be a part of his war band, like her sister had years ago. But she is captured, dragged across lands and seas, sold, and then trained to be an even better fighter than she was. Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)