The Turn of the Key

The Turn of the Key

by Ruth Ware

Hardcover(Library Binding - Large Print)

$38.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Turn of the Key 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 114 reviews.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Masterly told story of suspense, revolving around a Victorian House in Scotland that had been the Former Doctor Grant's home. Dr. Grant is renoun for 2 things: his famous Garden of Poisons and the death of his 11 year old daughter. Into this house, moves a family with 4 girls ranging from 14years old to 18 months. The Girl's Parents are tech head geeks who specialize in Rehabbing Antique Structures. Elite and well to do, the rely on their staff at home to help them raise their daughters. But a string of Nannies abruptly leaving after short employment there, leads some to think the house must be haunted.Enter Rowen, a childcare worker in London who is just itching at a job far away from the unsatisfactory, menial work she is doing at a day care center. Will she be the nanny who the need?
Anonymous 8 months ago
This was a suspenceful and interesting book that I really enjoyed ... until the End. There was no End; the author leaves us hanging. Disappointed.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Love all her books snd this one definitely kept me up all night till I finidhed.
Anonymous 7 months ago
This book has the awesome reveal like all of her books! Heart breaking but phenomenal
Anonymous 8 months ago
Had an honest "damn" moment at the end.
DG_Reads 9 months ago
I received an uncorrected digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Gallery / Pocket Books and NetGalley for the chance to read and provide an honest review! Rating: 4.5 / 5 THE TURN OF THE KEY by Ruth Ware is written in the form of letters from the main character Rowan Caine to the man she is hoping will step in as her solicitor. She is writing from prison, accused in the death of a child in her care. The letter she is writing lays out her background and how she came to be in the position she's in. Rowan spots an ad for a too good to be true post as a live-in nanny and she is thrilled to be offered the position. The family lives at Heatherbrae House, a home far away in the Scottish Highlands with a Victorian feel, but also with all the modern touches of a "smart" home. The house is rumored to be haunted and several prior nannies have left unexpectedly as a result. Rowen shows up with impeccable references and an impressive CV, so she is hired on and dumped right into the work. There are four children (plus two dogs), one a teen away at school for most of the time and three young children who will be under her primary care 24/7 almost right away. She must figure out how to work the house and how to break through to the children who have had so much upheaval in their life. Alone with the kids, things start to go bump in the night. Mysterious footsteps from above Rowan's room, a 'smart' house which goes haywire in the middle of the night turning on all of the lights and noises it can muster. The children seem to be working against her and she has little to no contact with the outside world apart from the handyman. As things begin to go wrong, Rowan must even question whether he could be behind some of what is going on at Heatherbrae House. Rowan admits to her solicitor that she has made some mistakes. She admits to bad behavior herself, but she absolutely stands behind her claim of innocence. This was the perfect thriller to add to my weekend reading during the recent 24in48 Readathon. It kept me hooked, making it easy to stick with my reading at the end of a long day. Ruth Ware does an incredible job of building the suspense to the very last minute. The house is built up to be a very atmospheric, eerie place! She drops in hints and reveals twists as the story progresses, some of which were complete surprises to me. There were some elements of the very end of the book that felt a little abrupt to me and I think I would have liked some things fleshed out a bit more, but overall I really enjoyed this read! If you enjoy a book with a good haunted house feel and suspenseful thriller, then you will want THE TURN OF THE KEY on your shelf when it releases 8/6/2019!
Anonymous 7 months ago
This was worse than her last one - no more Ruth Ware for me!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Loved the letter approach. The ending was great but left me wanting more.
Anonymous 7 months ago
best book I have read in sometime
Anonymous 8 months ago
Ruth Ware hit it out of the park with this one. I read The Death of Ms. Westaway first, and was worried that this one couldn't match it. But it was so well done. So many twists. I highly recommend this book!
Anonymous 8 months ago
I really enjoyed this one. I honestly wasn't able to guess the end till I was upon it. very well done
Anonymous 8 months ago
You interested
Anonymous 8 months ago
The book was ok. It seemed to unravel in certain place. The "surprises" were good but not strong. The ending was ok. But no big surprises.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Good
iiiireader 9 months ago
This is the first book I have read by Ruth Ware. I didn’t know what to expect but the book, in the end, was much more than I could have hoped for. There is so much psychological twists and turns, it was hard to try to think ahead to what the possible ending could be. Good thing, too, as I would never have expected what happened. Rowan Caine is writing her hoped-for lawyer from prison. In trying to explain how she is innocent, she starts from the beginning and gives detail so he can understand. Rowan is the new live-in child minder for four girls. The girls range in age from very young to a teenager. The salary should have warned her that this job was far from easy but, for her own reasons, it still made complete sense to leave family and friends in England and move to Scotland and an isolated manor house. What she discovers is very odd, sinister and yet, she is still brave enough to keep going where others have fled, literally after half a day on the job. Rowan is constantly trying to be the perfect nanny and not let any of her quirks show through. The letters from prison were a plot device that I really liked. It gave us a taste of the future but without giving too much of the past away. I will certainly be looking for other books by this author. I was provided a digital advance reader copy of this book by the publisher via Netgalley.
RMeckley 9 months ago
The title The Turn of the Key is a nod to the Henry James ghost story The Turn of the Screw. This new story, however, is updated in many ways, including the use of a smart house. The story is so good, but my best suggestion to potential readers is to know as little as possible about the book before you read it. Go into it cold for best effect. The plot is intricately woven, clever, mysterious, scary, and the writing is seamless, smoothly flowing, and so very good. I highly recommend The Turn of the Key! Thanks to NetGalley for providing a preprint of this book.
Anonymous 22 days ago
⭐️Book Review ⭐️ The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware 5/5 Stars **Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read this book. I received a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.** I’ve never been creeped by a thriller/suspense novel to go to bed - until this book. I literally HAD to finish it in the middle of the night so I could find out how it ended. Ware is a creative storyteller keeping her reader guessing every step of the way- literary! The story is told by nanny Rowan’s perspective as she is in prison. She has been arrested for murder (we don’t know for whom until late in the book). She is writing pleading for help from a criminal defense attorney and explaining her side of the story. Rowan seems to be your average twenty-something and is trying her best in the situation. The family has 4 girls all with their major personality quirks. Mom and Dad are always traveling. This job was not what it seemed to be at all. Now strange, weird things are happening in and around the home. And why has this family gone through so many nannies in such a short time? Just when you think the author has hit you with an unexpected twist and the creeps, she hits you again and again! Whew!
Anonymous 25 days ago
Excellent book. very well written. the pace keeps moving. The twist at the end was so well done, I immediately began reading the book over again. It made made me appreciate the artful writing that much more. as you come upon what I would refer to as 'key' passages related to the twist - pun intended - you realize how masterfully they were written, and had you either looking in the wrong direction, or even dismissing them as passive filler - truly a testament to a good writer. I've loved all of her books, and they keep getting better
kamoorephoto 28 days ago
The Turn of the Key - Ruth Ware I think this may be your best yet, Ruth Ware! ‘The Turn of The Key’ ticks off all the boxes necessary to make this the perfect mystery: a protagonist who may well be going to prison for murder, an old house in Scotland that seems to be haunted but is also a marvel to be in, one that has a history of deaths and local stories swirling around it, plus a family with a strange set of circumstances. The characters and the setting are all pieces of this fantastic puzzle and they are craftily put together seamlessly. Ruth is such a skilled writer of suspense and mystery, that I feel as though I am just moved along with the story in such a vivid way, but it’s also so very natural, and I never feel like I have to jump one step further to try and guess ‘whodunnit.’ I always feel like I’m right there with the main character (Rowan) because the pacing is so brilliant. And yet again, the final twists completely managed to blow my mind. Every single page had me fully imagining myself in Carn Bridge, Scotland, where the story takes place, and I absolutely didn’t want it to end. Waiting for each new Ruth Ware novel just gets harder and harder, I swear.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Wow! Ruth Ware does it again. This one kept Me guessing the ENTIRE time. No spoiler- but wow! You won’t see this coming. This one is written to keep you on the edge of your seat. It’s a wild anxiety riddled ride from page one! A must read.
Carolefort 4 months ago
The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware is my favorite thriller so far this year. Ruth Ware, often referred to as the Agatha Christie of our time, has penned her best yet. Rowan, a child-care worker, unexpectedly comes across an online ad for a nanny position in Scotland. It's one of those opportunities that seems too good to be true: a job taking care of children in a high-tech mansion in the Scottish Highlands with an income that can't be matched. To her surprise, Rowan gets the position to care for four young girls, from toddler to teen. Before long, one of the children is killed and Rowan is imprisoned, charged with murder. What happened in such a short time? In a letter written to a lawyer she hopes will defend her, she explains that the children she had met at the interview were not well-behaved, as she had been led to believe. The large house was monitored with cameras in every corner, with speakers turning on and off, day and night. She could not trust the estate handyman, the only other adult on site. And Rowan was left alone with the children during her first days there. The novel proceeds at a slow pace, with new clues dispersed here and there, leaving the reader wanting more. This is a novel for all mystery readers, especially those who want a little cringing with their reading. Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.
tschnitzler 4 months ago
Such a captivating read and Ruth Ware has presented this book in a unique, letter to her attorney, format. Our letter writer is Rowan Caine, who has been imprisoned for a crime she insists she did not commit. Through her letter we learn of her interviewing and being given a too good to be true job as a full time nanny for a rich family. Given her destructive upbringing, I was rooting for her to get this job. Continue reading her letter, and all is not as rich and luxurious as it appeared. Great suspenseful mystery with a somewhat let down ending. I was left with too many unanswered questions and I wanted more! I'd love to know if my assumed conclusion was what Ruth Ware intended her readers to conclude.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Rowan Caine stumbles across the perfect job in the classified ads. Nannying a rich family with three kids. The job is located in a luxury house in Scotland which offers all the modern conveniences, and the pay is too good to be true. Of course we know what they say about something being too good to be true.... Ruth Ware is an author I have come to count on for dark twisty books. I didn't even realize how many of her books I read until looking at Goodreads: In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, The Lying Game and the Death of Mrs. Westaway--all of which I have enjoyed. Turn of the Key brought more of the dark twistiness I have come to expect from her books, and it kept me guessing until the end. This book has all the ingredients of a good twisty read. There may/may not be ghost and cameras spy on her all day long. The house also has a technology system full of bugs that seems bent on torturing her at weird hours. The cast is also suspect. Anyone could be the bad guy--the terrible Dad, the absent mom, the gardener, the odd fourteen year old who knows a little too much. I couldn't put this book down (except at night since I was afraid I wouldn't sleep!), and enjoyed the twistiness till the end.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I like this book, the ending wasn't the greatest but I didn't think it was as bad as some other reviews made it out to be
Anonymous 5 months ago
I would like to thank NetGalley and Gallery/Scott Press for a free copy for an honest review. Rowan Caine applies for a live-in nanny post at Heatherbrae House in the Scottish Highlands. She is now writing to her lawyer in prison as the nanny position turned into a nightmare. I have read all of Ruth Ware's books but I think this one is the best so far. I read it in one sitting as I found it unputdownable. The characters are very believable and the plot is ghostly and unsettling. The surprise ending left me speechless. I find Ruth Ware to be an excellent storyteller and the book was well-written. I look forward to reading her next book and I would highly recommend this book to those who love suspenseful mystery thrillers.