The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale

The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale

by Margaret Atwood

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
A Byzantine set of treacheries highlight the plot of this sequel to "The Handmaid's Tale." Like its predecessor, "The Testaments" is presented in a set of narratives, found in the future by some scholars (whose obsession with the past will feel painfully au courant). Aunt Lydia's testament, written at the end of her life, provides a more fulfilling view of the torturing & programmatic hellion of the TV series.
Anonymous 4 months ago
It has been some time since I have read a book that I couldn't put down. Thank you Margaret Attwood for not only answering unanswered questions,but for doing so in such an engaging fashion.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I really enjoyed this novel. It was unique and very engrossing. I wish I had one chapter with Offered fully in it. But I won t say more to spoil it. Read it in 2 days. Get it and be transported.......
Anonymous 3 months ago
I really enjoyed how the author addressed the many questions left hanging from the first book. Indirectly and through various characters points of view you piece together what has transpired since the ending of A Handmaids Tale. Rey enjoyable read!
Karen_Benson 3 months ago
While not as mind blowing as The Handmaid's Tale, as we already know this world, I'm extremely satisfied with all of our questions being answered. If you've watched Hulu's TV show, you will have already figured out who baby Nicole is. Told from 3 perspectives, a girl who grew up as a daughter of an important Commander in Gilead, a young girl who grew up in free Canada, and last, Aunt Lydia, whose accounting of her history as to how she became the most powerful woman in Gilead was the most enlightening. I found this story absolutely fascinating and loved that there's closure to the story.
Anonymous 5 months ago
alexcan3 10 days ago
Thoroughly enjoyed. Easy, smooth read. Told from 3 perspectives, all of which were interesting and engaging.
Anonymous 14 days ago
I literally had chills reading the end of this amazing tale!!! Beautiful story and characters! I love Margaret Atwood.
Anonymous 17 days ago
Seamless. Great writing. Superb story.
Anonymous 19 days ago
It was very gratifying to return to Gilead for its downfall..Thanks so much!Remember also those who ignore history are doomed to repeat it. Lets hope that doesn't happen. Thoroughly great read!
Anonymous 24 days ago
.
Anonymous 24 days ago
The author brought to close a lot of questions left hanging from the Tales.
Anonymous 28 days ago
I was one of those readers of The Handmaid's Tale who wanted to know what happened next. The Testament did not disappoint.
Anonymous 28 days ago
Really enjoyed reading this "part 2" of Atwood's works. You will not be disappointed!!
Anonymous 29 days ago
So hard to put this book down. To experience the machinations of Gilead is both dreadful and cautionary. To me the last chapters are the most disturbing as we humans so easily tend to forget what our history is. To despise and cheer simultaneously is a wild ride. Zealots abound and right now it is not a stretch of the imagination to think some of our current world leaders might very well like to create a Gilead.
GrammaChris 30 days ago
It's very satisfying to see the oppressive regime of Gilead being brought to a close, and to see women taking the lead in that development. The three main characters are very engaging-- two of them young and innocent, the other old and sly -- and the story was a page-turner for me as I was rooting for them all the way. I've always faulted Margaret Atwood for being too humorless, but she even allows a little humor to creep into the satisfying epilogue.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous 3 months ago
Too short but fills in a lot that was missing. Great read.
Anonymous 3 months ago
A good follow up after many years of leaving us wondering..
Anonymous 3 months ago
I+enjoyed+the+first+and+I+have+now+enjoyed+the+second%21
Anonymous 3 months ago
Awesome! Really great read!
Anonymous 3 months ago
Great read! I couldn't put it down!
Anonymous 3 months ago
All the questions that were left after "The Handmaid's Tale" have been creatively woven into this wonderous book. Thank you Margaret Attwood.
Anonymous 3 months ago
The sequel to the Handmaid's Tale delivers , and shows that not everything is at it seems, and nothing is ever black and white !
Anonymous 4 months ago
It is a bit confusing going back and forth. Then then end jumps so far ahead and kinda makes it all uncertain. I am also not the best reader being dyslexic yet was able to get through both books in just a couple short weeks at most.