The Terrorist

The Terrorist

by Caroline B. Cooney

Hardcover

$31.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
1 New & Used Starting at $915.52

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Terrorist 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks More than 1 year ago
The Terrorist is an interesting read that I believe will appeal to readers of Blythe Woolston's Black Helicopters. While not as bleak, it definitely makes you question and think. Topic of The Terrorist is one that will remain relevant for a long time because the threat of terrorism is persistent. This story was appealing because I was curious as to how a teenage girl could possibly have the resources or ability to hunt the ones responsible for her brother's death. It seemed impossible. But the layout of the story provided the perfect opportunity, one that I would have never considered. While I did enjoy reading The Terrorist there were still some aspects of the book that seemed stuck in the original era that it was written in. Also, the descriptions of the different cultures was very generalized to fit the plot and didn't seem to be an accurate picture of Americans or Muslims, etc.
LilyMoayeri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"The Terrorist" is a different kind of book for popular children and young adult author, Caroline B. Cooney. Set in London, England, Laura's family is here for a year for her father's work. Laura's brother Billy is killed by a bomb on the London Underground. The rest of the book is devoted to Laura trying to find out the reason behind this senseless killing. The lines between friends and enemies becomes blurred as Laura discovers more and more information about the lives of the students she thinks of as friends. The suspense builds to an almost intolerable peak as the truth behind Billy's killing starts becoming painfully apparent.
coriblake on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was absolutely hooked after reading the first chapter. I along with Laura, the stories protagonist, wanted to find out who Billy's (Laura's younger brother) murderer was! We join Laura as she attempts to solve the mystery of her brother's death as a result of a terrorist attack on a London subway. Who would purposely want to kill Laura's brother? This novel adresses some trying and difficult times and issues that exist in our society today such as our stereotypical views of particular groups of people because of their ethnicity. A page turner with a shocking and surprising ending!
t1bnotown on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cooney is an astounding author. I picked this book up out of curiosity from my old books- I didn't remember it. I read ten pages and could hardly stop myself. Billy was a fascinating character, and I had to know what happened. I guessed it, but, like Laura, I almost didn't want to believe it. It was interesting, too, and I think Cooney's ideas of Americans in Britain were not far off. I also confess that when I studied abroad in Ireland I had my family ship me Kraft Macaroni and Cheese.
n_yay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Caroline B. Cooney was one of my most favorite authors growing up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CarlosSimcoe More than 1 year ago
The Terrorist is a fictional mystery/action and adventure novel which is about a girl named Laura who moves to England with her parents and younger brother Billy. After living there for a while they begin to like where they were living. But then one day Laura's younger brother Billy is killed by the explosion of a bomb that was given to him which was disguised as a package. All throughout the book after that Laura tries to find Billy's killer. I liked how the author revealed the characters throughout the book. The author was also very descriptive about the characters. I didn't dislike anything about this novel. I recommended this book to anyone who likes mystery novels.
Crispicreamdonuts More than 1 year ago
The Terrorist is about a tragic terrorist attack that kills a young boy, and the quest of the dead boy's sister to seek revenge on the killers. The main characters in The Terrorist are Billy, Laura, their parents, Muhammed, and Jehran. I liked how the author kept dragging you along and made it hard to figure out who the terrorist was until you were near the end and by that time it was pretty obvious who the terrorist was. I didn't like how the terrorist attack happened at the very beginning of the story instead of more in the middle. I would recommend this book to people who like mysteries and action books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is about a tragic loss to a family from America. Placed in modern day London terrorists kill a young boy in a subway. Sister is set on revenge, but an ironic twist is revealed toward the end of story. Gripping and entertaining, The Terrorist is a good read. Billy will catch you heart with his business man ways and Laura may inspire with her devotion. I didn't like the lack of serious action. I would suggest this book to young adults who want to read an adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Terrorist is an amazing mystery by Caroline B. Clooney. This book is outstanding. It takes place in London where Laura and her eleven-year-old brother Billy live. There is an immense amount of action that keeps you on your toes wondering what¿s going to happen next. The book The Terrorist is based on Laura who is in devastation after her brother Billy is killed in one of London¿s subways by a package bomb. Laura¿s focus is on one question: ¿Who killed my brother?¿ Everyone of Billy and Laura¿s friends are a suspect to Laura. This book is really outstanding. It is always keeps you moving, making you want to read more. When you just want to stop you can¿t. If you get a chance to read The Terrorist, you should. I really recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Terrorist is a fictional novel by Caroline B. Cooney. The Terrorist was actually really good. It was filled with drama, and it keeps you on your toes. I thought that it was very informative and interesting. The setting is in the mid-90s in London, England. The major conflict of the book is a middle school boy, named Billy, is on his way to school in a train station in London and received a package. A stranger told him that one of his friends had dropped the package. Not thinking Billy ran off with package and then remembering that his friends didn¿t have a brown paper package, and then all of the sudden the package explodes killing Billy. After Billy¿s sudden death, his sister, Laura, who is in high-school is devastated and is determined to find the terrorist who murdered Billy. Laura was mind boggled that someone would want to hurt Billy. Laura then starts to think that maybe someone from her school had something to do with Billy¿s death. Caroline B. Cooney wrote The Terrorist is the third person point of view. She used a lot of dialogue during the whole book. She made the questions Laura asked people seem like a spy was asking the questions. Since the book was set in London, England, she made some people have an English accent in her dialogue. Even thought this book is pretty short I would defiantly recommend it for a book to read on your free time. You should especially get The Terrorist if you like drama, a little action, and suspense. You¿ll also learn a little bit about the different countries in the world and some of there history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is so great book for me to read. I really enjoyed the mystery/ action book. That book is full with suspense. Also it makes me to wonder what happened in the book and it makes me to wonder who kill Billy in the train.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Terrorist by Caroline Cooney is an excellent story of an American teenager in London who's brother is killed by a package bomb in the London Subway. Throughout the novel, she goes through as many suspects as possible, including many at her own school. This is hands down one of Ms. Cooney's best works so far. There is just the right amount of suspense, and some juicy plot twists. The only small criticism is that the ending kind of leaves you hanging, ending with a sense of incompleteness. Other than that, this is a fasinating read. Bravo!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow, really sad I still liked it though because he saved that babys life he was very brave. This whole book is about Billy's sister laura trieing to find Billy's killer. Theres times where things get hopeless and sad but then theres times where she gets a big clue.If you like sad storys with a happy ending then you'll love this book. Like i said theres a happy ending dont worry once you've read it you'll feel as if its complete and cheered up.So try this book.Every book should have a chance to shine. (kinda depends though^_^)
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is perfect for kids who like long chapter books, just like I said in the headline. This is one of my all time favorite books. If I could I would erase my mind and read it all over again. The first chapter is kind of boring, but from there on it gets really good. The last chapter would probably be the best because Laura thinks that... oh you'll have to read it if you want to find out! The very last sentence would have to be the best ending in any book I've ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
No matter how bad you treat your friends if they are truly your friends they'll be there in the end for you. Con, Mohammed and Jimmy prove this to be true in this thrilling suspense. Laura is devistated about her brother billy being a victom of terrorism that she go to great lengths to find his killer. Including ditching her true friends.
Guest More than 1 year ago
laura is trying to find the terorists who were resposnible for her brothers murder and murderers.this is a awesome story were u learn about london and terorists.i hope u will read this book
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a must for young teens and adults alike. If you like a good book thats hard to stop reading you have to get this book. Caroline Cooney is one of the best writers there is, and in this book she let everyone else know that. I highly recomend this book to anyone and everone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book I read is called The Terrorist. The authors name is Caroline B. Cooney. I think the Genre is horror. The story took place in London, England. The main characters are Laura, Nicole (Laura¿s mom), Thomas (Laura¿s dad), Billy, Jehran, Con, Mohammed, Mr. Evens, Tiffany, and Jimmy. Laura¿s brother died when a terrorist handed him a package with a bomb in it and she is trying to find the person who killed him, and she is trying to get Jehran out of the country to NY. My opinion is that the book was OK. I think this isn¿t a good book for younger kids. I read have a text-to-world; it is The Terrorist and 9-11. My text-to-text is when I read the book the unprotected witness. A person got murdered and the dad saw it and latter got killed. The dad¿s sun found the killer. My text-to-self is when Laura felt like she was being fallowed I have felt like I was being fallowed many times when I¿m walking at night.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I don't usually read but I could'nt put it down.