The Reluctant Swordsman (Seventh Sword Series #1)

The Reluctant Swordsman (Seventh Sword Series #1)

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Reluctant Swordsman (Seventh Sword Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you need a fun interesting book that reads pretty quick, then I recommend this one. It is around the 300 page marck. It is also the first book of a four book series. Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read! Excellent hero
ReneeKytokorpi More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a lot, even as an earlier work for a favorite author. A little inconsistent early on, but it smooths out and is explained easily. This is one of my favorite authors, and I do my best to support him.
buzmike More than 1 year ago
This story is well written with a good story line. It develops as all stories should, to an actual climax. But the best thing about it is it has a storyline that carries into 2 more books which each develop into a better and better story that is fun and entertaining. Highly recommended for any fantasy fan. I've read it 3 times.
sirfurboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really loved these books - they worked on so many levels.Here is a fantasy that does not fit into the stereotypical faux medieval fold. Instead, Duncan creates a convincing alternate universe that is filled with a geography, flora and fauna that are convincingly "other". He creates a whole culture within this world that is not just ripped off from european or japanese cultures, as so many writers do. Instead he invents a world that works on its own merits, and has a culture that makes you want to explore it.And then he drops into this rich and diverse world a hero character that is - as the title suggests - reluctant. Ripped from a dull life on our world he finds himself put into this other world by a god calling himself just "Shorty". He has a task to do that only he can fulfill - but his journey of discovery to fulfill the task is long, arduous and very very interesting.Yet despite the apparent flippancy of the god, Shorty, there is something deep going on in this story too. The book repays reflection, as it allows you to think of issues such as free will, miracles, science and magic, love and friendship, slavery, and the power of information.I have no idea whether the author intended it to be a theological work, but one can certainly find many of the themes that C S Lewis would put into his works in this book and the sequels.I would love to see a role playing game adapted from this book too. It would be a welcome changed from the Dungeons and Dragons games, but already has a concept of set professions.But whatever angle you take, my recommendation is the same. read this book. It is worth it.
Temporalis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was good, but not great. I was hoping for something along the lines of "Magic Kingdom for sale: Sold", with a mix of humor and seriousness, old and new, magic and unmagical. This book was not what I had hoped for, but was still a decent read. The mythology and social system in the book struck me as unique, at least in my reading, and were well thought out. I just didn't find myself identifying with the main character as much as I would like to - I was watching the story unfold from afar instead of feeling like I was right there in the action.Overall I give the book 2.5 stars. I would probably not reread it, but will continue on the series to see what happens next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How do you become a swordsman in a world not your own? And why would you want to? Those are questions Wallie Smith found himself in the amazing position of asking. The answers are lessons he has to master in order to survive?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have tried to finish it. Ijust cant do it any longer.
Khan-E More than 1 year ago
Sort of interesting in a way, but every woman in there is a slave.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well worth it thanks for the introduction to these great characters!! I will be looking for more of these books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg...the book needs a map. The author descriptions are great, but a tidy map to refer back to would have made this easier to picture. Amazingly descriptive fight scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good start to a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this series back in 1988 and have been looking for it ever since. Very good seres and memorable. Cant wait for the rest to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago