The Price of Politics

The Price of Politics

by Bob Woodward

Paperback

$15.73 $17.00 Save 7% Current price is $15.73, Original price is $17. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
MARKETPLACE
19 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Price of Politics 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Nikkadaem More than 1 year ago
On the brink or an economic crisis that would have affected the global economy. How many people actually knew that this was an economic Cuban Missile Crisis. A total systemic failure to cooperate and last minute posturing almost sent us into a financial tail spin. how could President Obama suddenly make an 11th hour demand for more money? How could the Republic Leadership simply not return a phone call to even say "no". I hope that more people read this book and demand that congress resolve the budget next year. Otherwise, none of us will be able to afford to purchase the sequel to this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well detailed book that provides insight into an account that is being replayed today. Echoes the observation that Washington is more characterized by style than substance and that brinksmanship is important than bipartisnship governance. Details are a bit numbing and hard to really digest in the page by page, meeting by meeting description, but the macro overview perspective provided is captivating. Worth reading to learn about 'players' pivotal to the transpiring events you 'never heard of'. Joe Biden was a particularly riveting player to read about. He is a figure of gravitas and significance that the headlines don't capture and appreciate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bob Woodward makes you feel like you are sitting at the negotiating table with many of the key players in the book. He has tremendous sources, which the President even cited in an interview with Bob for "Obama's War" in which he said something to the affect that BW had better sources then the President. The negotiations are very intriguing and give you some insight into the key differences between the messaging war which went on simultaneous to the negotiations. It could be dry with all the different numbers going back and forth if you are not into that but overall a great book. It certainly revealed that Obama is no Bill Clinton and I think Biden could have hammered out a deal better despite being perceived as inept.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While dry reading in some places. It seems to be a fair and balanced look at what happened behind the scenes. Neither side is spared and both are equally pilloried by this work. It should be requirec reading for every American regardless of party affiliation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is similar to others Bob Woodward has written in that it gives you an inside glimpse into the world of Washington that we as ordinary citizens are not able to see. As usual Bobs' sources are right in the middle of the action. It gives you the various positions of the President as well as the leaders of both Houses of Congress. I thought the one thing that stood out was the current dysfunction of our elected leaders. It show's the rigidity of both sides and thus a deal on the deficit and our long term deficit issues was not able to be reached. I'm surprised the book and it's contents has not been mentioned in this years Presidential Election. Like all of Bobs' previous books this one was extraordinarily researched and is very interesting for both Political Junkies as well as we the people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is amazing that Woodward can get the information that is in the book. It is extremely detailed, often with hour by hour and day by day developments with who said what. If you are interested in the political process in Washington, it is a must read. With our current president and current Congress, it made me wonder how anything gets done but also showed why the balance of power is so important.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im a student at WVU and Woodwards book is very detailed and informative. I plan to use this book for a research paper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Insightful and frustrating, Woodward paints a detailed and vivid portrait of our country's ever-worsening fiscal crisis. The numbers are mind-numbing, so much so that it's almost forgiveable that ultimately nothing was resolved. Almost.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shoesan More than 1 year ago
Bob Woodward has done an excellent job capturing and reporting the inside discussions that have gone on in Washington since the Obama administration has continuously bumped heads with the other-minded congress (especially House under Boehner's leadership. There is enough depth in the book to help me understand and in some ways begin to empathize with the diverse values and beliefs of the different interests and agendas of our political leadership. Great read that moves pretty fast although frustratingly slow given the huge dis-function of the two party system voters are stuck with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outofthenormtv More than 1 year ago
All hatchets aside, truth and perception are usually miles apart, but Mr. Woodward hits it right on with little emotion as usual. Obama truly is the most dangerous perso in the world and will lie without reservation. Unfortunately, the Republicans will sit in the dark with their hands folded, while we pay the bill for both wekenesses. I agree that the women of Obama should be next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is another excellent impartial written book by Bob Woodward on a subject of intense interest to every U.S. citizen. That subject deals with Congressional leadership’s failure to act reasonably in a non-partisan manner to seek common ground on reaching resolution for solving the nation’s budget deficit and national debt problems. In a non bias written rendering of events Mr. Woodward shows the human pettiness, the political posturing for party gain and how politicians are more concern with political survival then with profile of courage to do what is proper for the nation’s citizens to settle outstanding differences to reach common ground. At times, as a U.S. voter, I find our political leaders’ behavior appalling, disgusting and nauseating. Events in Washington by our political leaders seem less about governing on what is best for the electorate, and more on political posturing for self-aggrandizement. Jerry D, Alexandria, LA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very bad don't recomened it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good and informative read. Sadly, here we sit Dec 2012 and its the same argument except President Obama wants even higher taxes and removal of the debt limit. Scary part of the book is how even the Democrats admit Pesident Obama was completly lost on how Congress works his first two years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Bob Woodward lays out the players and the issues clearly. This is a must read post the 2012 election as the issues and players remain the same. Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JIMSETAUKET More than 1 year ago
Reads like a text book and becomes dry and tedious