The Pilgrim of Hate (Brother Cadfael Series #10)

The Pilgrim of Hate (Brother Cadfael Series #10)

by Ellis Peters

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$4.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Pilgrim of Hate (Brother Cadfael Series #10) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
smik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have already read this Ellis Peters novel, but so long ago that my memory was very dim, and so I decided to listen to an audio copy.It is of course one of the Brother Cadfael series, made famous particularly by Derek Jacobi's TV series.1. A Morbid Taste for Bones (1977)2. One Corpse Too Many (1979)3. Monk's Hood (1980)4. St. Peter's Fair (1981)5. The Leper of Saint Giles (1981)6. The Virgin in the Ice (1982)7. The Sanctuary Sparrow (1982)8. The Devil's Novice (1983)9. Dead Man's Ransom (1984)10. The Pilgrim of Hate (1984)11. An Excellent Mystery (1985)12. The Raven in the Foregate (1986)13. The Rose Rent (1986)14. The Hermit of Eyton Forest (1987)15. The Confession of Brother Haluin (1988)16. The Heretic's Apprentice (1989)17. The Potter's Field (1989)18. The Summer of the Danes (1991)19. The Holy Thief (1992)20. Brother Cadfael's Penance (1994)The setting is the Benedictine Abbey at Shrewsbury, on the eve of the installation of the casket with St. Winifred's bones into the Abbey. The political setting is the struggle between King Stephen and the Empress Maud. Will the installation of Saint Winifred's bones be accompanied by a miracle? So far Shrewsbury has not been favoured with a miracle, and certainly there are many who are hoping for her favour.In the early hours of listening to the novel, I found myself thinking that the series had dated a little. The language is bit more formal than that of more modern writing, but then I found that as the story developed, that didn't really matter. It helps if you know a bit of the political background when you are reading the novel, and that may have been what frustrated me at the beginning - I was struggling to resurrect my history, couldn't quite remember who was vying for what. And then this is #10 in the Cadfael series, and things have been revealed about his earlier life that it helps to know about.But if you like historical mysteries, then this is a series you will enjoy. It is not for nothing that the CWA awards for historical mystery is dedicated to Ellis Peters. And she had such a great love of this period in English history and this particular part of England. So get to a library and borrow the series, starting at the beginning. Or check out the CWA page for other historical mystery reading.
MuseofIre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Peters has an unfortunate habit of trying to present conversations and situations as if they can only mean one thing, when clearly there are alternate explanations. Doesn't help when she puts the real motive in the title.
DWWilkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The murder is off stage and everything that stems from that seems to circumstantial. Most of the story now delves into prior books in the series to enrich the novel. The mystery is virtually second place to it.
Merneith on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite of the Brother Cadfael books, tying up family, politics, war, faith, miracles, love, revenge, religion and humanity, in 250 pages.This probably isn't the best place for newcomers to start the series, but the series itself is well worth starting. Book 1 is called "A Morbid Taste for Bones".
AngelaG86 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A knight was murdered several weeks earlier, and Brother Cadfael is curious about the arrival of two pilgrams.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book series, and so far, I have yet to find an unabridged audio version of any of them that I don't also love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago