The Night Fire (Harry Bosch Series #22 and Renée Ballard Series #3)

The Night Fire (Harry Bosch Series #22 and Renée Ballard Series #3)

by Michael Connelly

Hardcover

$20.30 $29.00 Save 30% Current price is $20.3, Original price is $29. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Night Fire 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous 18 days ago
Well written plot, complex well developed characters, I hope this is number 3 of many more to come.
Anonymous 19 days ago
Definitely another Connelly hit!(pardon the pun) Fast action, couldn't put it down. Keep them going forward. Love the Bosch/Ballard team. They do well together
Anonymous 17 days ago
Great reuniting of Bosch and Ballard.
Anonymous 10 days ago
same format as usual. did not enjoy as much as #2.
Anonymous 13 days ago
I see that most really liked this book. I have read almost all the Harry Bosch books, and both the past Ballard books too. This was my very least liked book. I found the story very very scattered, and not all that interesting. I found Rene Ballard to be getting even stranger. And I found Harry to be not like Harry anymore...not really focused or with strong purpose. Just not for me. Kat.
Anonymous 18 days ago
Another great one.
Anonymous 8 days ago
Enjoyed reading this new novel with Bosch and Ballard. Entertaining and exciting through the end.
Anonymous 8 days ago
Michael Connelly's books are always great fast moving reads. Truly love Harry Bosch. Looking forward to the next novel.
Anonymous 11 days ago
Michael Connelly is at the top of his game. Entertaining
Anonymous 13 days ago
Could not stop reading!
Anonymous 13 days ago
Great book!
Anonymous 14 days ago
Fast paced, intriguing story , and engaging characters. Look forward to the next book in the series!
Anonymous 16 days ago
Great read - up to Connelly's standard.
Anonymous 16 days ago
Michael Connelly is the best
Anonymous 16 days ago
Characters are well developed and believable.
Anonymous 18 days ago
Good as usual
Anonymous 20 days ago
Outstanding as usual.....the only downside is I read it so fast that I now have to wait another year for more Harry Bosch!
Anonymous 21 days ago
Just+finished+reading+this%2C+one+of+my+favorite+Bosch+books+and+Ballard+is+capturing+my+heart+too%21+See+%40wrenn_bongo_and_books+on+Instagram+for+my+full+review.
labmom55 23 days ago
Harry Bosch is one of my favorite detectives. And Renee Ballard is a worthy “partner”. The chapters alternate between the two. Here, they are re-examining a cold case from 20 years ago. Harry’s mentor has recently died. His widow found a murder book in his desk and hands it over to Harry. This is the case Harry and Renee partner on investigating. What’s unique is that it doesn’t appear the mentor had actually worked the case, either on the force or after his retirement. So, why did he have it? One thing I always like about Connelly’s books is he never pretends a detective would just have a single case. Even Harry in retirement has multiple balls in the air. Harry and Renee both search for the truth, but they also struggle with helping anyone on the defense side of things, a substory that is contained in Harry’s chapters as he helps Mickey Haller with a case. I appreciate that Connelly paints Renee as just as strong and intelligent a character as Harry. That said, they always come across as human. Several times, another character points something out to Renee and she realizes she should have picked up on it earlier. With the actors that play Harry and Mickey firmly pictured in my head, I’m still trying to decide which actress should play Renee. This is a great story that kept my interest throughout. I’ve got to give Connelly credit, the man continues to come up with fascinating, timely storylines. I’ve read everything Connelly has written but I still think this book could easily be read as a standalone. My thanks to netgalley and Little, Brown for an advance copy of this book.
Anonymous 6 hours ago
I didn't find this to be up to Mr. Connelly's standards. There were too many people involved in too many things at too many different times. Another reviewer referred to the plot as complex. I thought it was tiresome. Had it not been one of my favorite authors, I would have put it down mid-way into the book. I will read the author's next effort though. Hint to author: Stick with one of them please; and get ther out of the tent will you? This isn't Haight-Ashbury in '67.
MonnieR 4 days ago
4.5 stars, actually. After reading the first two books that brought together retired LAPD detective Harry Bosch and detective Renee Ballard - giving each 5 stars - I was eager to read this one. I loved it as well, albeit not quite as much as the other two. It's hard to put my finger on why, but I think for the most part it was because Bosch just didn't seem to have his whole heart in the game. Granted, he's nearly 70 years old with a couple of health issues, but somehow he lacked his usual enthusiasm for the tasks at hand. Nonetheless, this is not to be missed if you're a fan of Bosch and Ballard; both get plenty of read time here, as does Bosch's infamous half-brother Mickey Haller (the "Lincoln Lawyer," remember)? Mix them all together, stir them up and you've got a winning recipe for an enjoyable book that holds attention throughout (well, mine, at least). It begins as Bosch attends the funeral of a former LAPD partner and mentor; his widow invites Bosch back to their home, saying her late husband had something she was to give to Bosch. It's a murder book that his old partner had taken home from him when he retired 20 years earlier (had stolen, actually). But looking through it, Bosch can't figure out why the book was so important; so he shares it with Ballard and enlists her help with figuring out what to do next. Meanwhile, Ballard, who works the midnight shift, lands an official case of her own; a homeless man dies when the street tent in which he's sleeping catches fire. At first, it appears to have been an accident - but further investigation raises a real possibility of murder. So now, she must follow up on that case as part of her job, trying to follow up on Bosch's mystery as time allows (thank goodness she doesn't need much sleep)! Although the three storylines are well thought out, as always, the main attraction is the interaction between Bosch and Ballard (and Bosch and Haller). All told, this one stands on its own quite well. Bring on the next!
Anonymous 8 days ago
How do you keep up with how very smart this smart, classic female police woman is? I wish I was smart as she is,thoughtful, accurate and moral. She and Bosch are so loyal to each other AND in tuneHow do they recall. all of the laws and rules. Maureen H Cooley
NOOKfile 8 days ago
Hede: Michael Connelly plumbs partnership as Bosch and Ballard combine to quell 'The Night Fire' In 21 novels featuring Michael Connelly’s now-legendary detective Harry Bosch, the touchstone has never wavered: “Everybody counts or nobody counts.” Heck, earlier this year, Connelly even had the mantra plastered on T-shirts, raising more than $75,000 in donations for My Friends’ Place — a Los Angeles initiative that inspires homeless youths to build self-sufficient lives. So, to say the slogan is a bellwether of Bosch’s DNA is not saying too much. And saying that the detective’s barometer is battered by his faith in his now-deceased mentor, John Jack Thompson — the man who taught him that in any investigation, everybody matters — is saying that at its core, Connelly’s newest Bosch novel, “The Night Fire” (Little, Brown and Company), presents a moral dilemma. But it’s not one that Bosch has to go alone. In his second pairing with Los Angeles Police Department Detective Renee Ballard, the semi-retired Bosch again forms an unofficial alliance with a partner who has never deigned to thrust both feet into a fire that the more-steadied, seasoned detective might have tread more cautiously. Competently combining a cold case with an active investigation in “The Night Fire,” Connelly merges a decade’s-old secreted murder book given to Bosch by Thompson’s widow with the burning death of a homeless man that may or may not have been accidental. And the story begins. But on the way, there’s an unexpected development — unexpected in that Bosch has made more than 20 appearances in print, and readers surely by now have the measure of his mettle. Yet, one of the strengths of “The Night Fire” is its depth of weakness. Bosch, tested by loyalty, is tempted in ways we haven’t seen him tried before. And Ballard, who might serve as compass, is distracted herself at times from True North, stemming from an unjust demotion and career-limiting incident of sexual harassment she was right to report. In "The Night Fire," Connelly thrusts these two flawed champions into the fray and into a novel of alternating voices — a literary gambit that other authors could not navigate so successfully. Here, though, the voices combine to form a more perfect union and belay Bosch’s early answer to Ballard, “True heroes are hard to come by, I guess.” Not so in “The Night Fire.” Here we find two.
Anonymous 9 days ago
Good read!
Anonymous 9 days ago
as usual