Magpie Murders

Magpie Murders

by Anthony Horowitz

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Magpie Murders 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a whodunit that included not one, but two complete stories. The characters were well developed, and the plots were intriguing and engrossing. The endings were surprising ,and satisfying. I recommend this book to all mystery lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a delight to immerse oneself in this wonderful book. A puzzle within a puzzle that you peel like Russian dolls figurines . It does pay homage to Agatha Christie and the English manor mystery. It pokes fun at the genre and the same time takes us on a dizzying tour. I think this is the most fun I had reading a book in a very long time. There is none of the gore and the tough dialogues that seem to afflict most of the modern books. Bravo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just when you think there are no more original thoughts...along comes Magpie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's that good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Puts agatha christie in the shade. Hands down the best English manor house mystery live ever read. The only problem is lack of a final chapter stating who dunnit, how, and why . Zilch. Nada. You're on your own to solve this one. Very frustrating . But still a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two tales in one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Engrossing mystery,well written with engaging characters. written with real characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well Done! Fascinating from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hated to see each story end as one was traded for the other. Makes you wonder about the attitudes of some of our most famous mystery writers.
bkworm_ran More than 1 year ago
As publishing editor, Susan Ryeland reads another manuscript presented by the troublesome author, Alan Conway, she begins to think there is more to this installment of the Atticus Pund series than a mere murder mystery. There is nothing more enjoyable than a mystery within a mystery. Horowitz has created an engaging novel that enfolds you and whips you through not one but two stories. Are there clues within the manuscript to actual events now playing out? Weaving many storylines which are active within the covers of this novel, Horowitz manages to keep each separate and viable. The pacing is smooth without becoming sluggish. You will not want to speed read or scan this one. If you have read any of Horowitz’s novels, you know he is not one to follow a pattern. You’ll be surprised every time you pick up one of his books. For Magpie Murders, I suggest you grab a bag of Nacho Doritos and settle in to enjoy it.
1857500 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I found it hard to put down. Mr. Horowitz, the creator of Foyle's War on TV, writes intriguing story lines. I high recommend it.
Alice Casey 13 days ago
A good read, but too long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting to have a mystery within a real life mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A murder mystery within a murder mystery. Very interesting concept and very cleaver
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Superb plot development with well wrapped up ending.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished reading this book and I loved it! Interesting how it is two books in one. Two great mysteries that intertwine and leave you wondering who done it. Didn't want to put it down!
BeckyMcF More than 1 year ago
A great audiobook that had 2 stories woven into one--a present day mystery and a manuscript of a celebrated mystery writer's last book. My husband and I enjoyed this longish book on a road trip and sometimes had trouble turning off the cd when we got to a stop for food or the night. That is the sign of a well-written, clever tale!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this boring in the extreme. Sorry I spent the money I didn't like the characters. It all seemed flat and rather pointless. Finishing it was a chore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the suspense in this book. I can not wait to read the next book
Go4Jugular More than 1 year ago
What a delightful murder mystery! This is my first Horowitz book, and I wouldn't usually list Mystery as my favorite genre, but all the planets aligned and I found this to be a fascinating, can't-put-it-down, read. It's a two-fer: the first third or so is a proof of a mystery novel by an author who's a character in the book, and that then relates to a murder that transpires, and is solved, in the rest of the book. I think part of why it was so fascinating is that the clues, and what of course will prove to be false leads, come seemingly non-stop in both stories. The pace never flags. And by the end, at least for this simple mind, all is resolved, in both tales, with no loose ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good.
Sofia-desert-flower More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a really fun and intriguing mystery - two mysteries in one. Complex and fast-paced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely brilliant. Two mysteries laced together with such finesse to tease the reader's intellect. It is a delicious pleasure to unravel the tales one delicate strand at a time. Anthony Horowitz is a master storyteller.
colo48 More than 1 year ago
Confusing, unexplained beginning which was supposed to set the entire premise about a book and its unpleasant author which would change editor Susan's life. Good narrative and setting of the "Magpie Murders" novel, complete with small village, numerous village characters, large manor, suspicious behavior, and an unexplained death which began it all. Finally the principal character of Atticus Pund, hero detective, who observes everything and everyone (and adds several red herrings) to try to solve the mystery a la Hercule Poirot. Suddenly mid way through the book we are torn back to the present and the life of the author (seemingly disliked by almost everyone) and his death (murder) and Susan's determination to find out what happened, regardless how it might affect her and her life. A bait and switch story........... She ran down every lead and everyone who might have know the author, and her natural suspicions kept her going, but almost destroyed her. Any great moral of the story????: "You can't trust your boss", You shouldn;t have a Greek boyfriend", "You shouldn't try to pry into the death of a nasty piece of work writer" who no one liked", " don't get involved in what doesn't concern you". or none of the above. Really did not enjoy the book, and the long delayed conclusion.