The Magician's Land (Magicians Series #3)

The Magician's Land (Magicians Series #3)

by Lev Grossman

Paperback

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Magician's Land: A Novel 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast paced and entertaining. If you like Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, or Harry Potter, you will love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brought a good conclusion
PaulAllard More than 1 year ago
Last part of a fantasy trilogy Not having read the previous two parts of this trilogy, I started at a distinct disadvantage but there are enough hints at the beginning to make this approachable. However there are frequent references to the earlier volumes which obviously escape me but the plot of this part of the trilogy is still within any reader’s reach. The novel revolves around our hero, a magician called Quentin who has been expelled from his role of king of Fillory and is now having to adapt to life back in the “real” world. He recounts all that he got up to after his return and also his involvement in a magical challenge to find a suitcase. Various adventures ensue involving many characters and there is a separate storyline involving what is transpiring in Fillory at the same time. The plot is well-written and quite engaging. I enjoyed this and am tempted to read the earlier volumes. For fans of Lev Grossman and of the earlier stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lev Grossman does a great job pulling together all the strings left loose in the first two books of the series while leaving himself room to add on if he chooses. One hopes, though, he will write the Fillory books before he does anything else. If there is a flaw to the Magician's series, it is the lack of a coherent concept of magic and magical power. Unlike the Harry Potter books or the Earth Sea "Trilogy" where magic and its evolution follow a consistent set of rules, Grossman's books use magic more as a plot device, changing it as needed to move the story along. His story, though, is a real page-turner. One never knows where he will go next with it, and where he does go is always enjoyable and a surprise. Most importantly, the end of the book, to which everything has been building since page one of book one, does not disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great end to the series.
crayolakym More than 1 year ago
Call in sick, drop the kids off at childcare, pour a protective salt circle around your favorite reading hole and get ready to dive into the spellbinding world Lev Grossman has once again perfected with his beguiling finale in the Magician’s Trilogy, The Magician’s Land. The Magician’s Land tells the story of thirtyish year old Quentin Coldwater who has been cast out of the magically wondrous land of Fillory where he once ruled, finding himself back at Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic, only to be fired after a student prank goes awry. Some people just have the worst luck, that is, if you believe in luck. "But this was only one battle. A war is beginning, Eliot, a war we cannot win. The last war." Quentin has lived most of his life with a childish mindset, begging the question of what he is hiding from and why. It isn’t until he crawls back to Brakebills, the Preparatory College of Magic he attended years earlier, that he finally understands his somber talent. Plum was a final year senior at Brakebills, who struggles with knowing her limitations, often getting herself into situations best avoided and with a dark family secret of her own. On a mission to find a suitcase with an impenetrable spell upon it guarded by two shady and murderous crooks, Quentin, Plum, and the others will learn valuable lessons, find their true selves, and unleash magic they never knew they had. "These little things? Waste of time. Would take one hundred years! Or one hundred Quentins!" The book itself is beautiful. With a simple dust jacket that opens to the inside cover artwork of the many worlds of Quentin Coldwater. It also boasts the classic deckle edge paper giving it that antiqaurian feel most people think of when it comes to magic and grimoires. While many are hailing this book as an adult Harry Potter, I would beg to differ. Written more in the nostalgic style of The Neverending Story, the multi-world transcendence, self-discovery, and setting wrongs to rights. Overall, The Magician’s Land is a brilliantly fast-paced book containing everything we dreamed of as a child and still carry with us as adults. With its magically captivating storyline and intriguing characters, book three was a thrilling ending to this adventurously magical tale, worthy to stake its claim as one of the best fantasy books written for adults. *This book was provided by Viking-Penguin in exchange for an honest review*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont know if i love or hate the ending of this book but thats part of the reason it is such a good read. Start reading now!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Just amazing.
ruthsic 12 months ago
With The Magician's Land, Grossman tries a new tactic - instead of quests and magical destinies, he starts the the third and final book with a magical heist. Quentin is recruited into a crew of Magicians, one including a Brakebills Final year student, Plum, into stealing back a briefcase that they don't know the contents of. While Quentin is seemingly done with magical quests (he got burned on the last one, as you may remember) and ready to settle into adult life as a Brakebills professor, two things happen to change the course of his life: Alice makes an appearance and he gets fired/hired. Meanwhile, while Eliot and Janet are finally settling into their kingdom, the course of their lives also change, thanks to Ember delivering the unfortunate news that Fillory is about to have its very own apocalypse! Part grim, part humorous, this book really gave meaning to magic being a manifestation of your desires. The first half of the book was break-neck speed, exciting and exhilarating and contained wondrous magic that reminded you why this series is awesome in its uniqueness. There is a whale transformation (also, whales are spellcasters OMG), the heist (as I mentioned earlier), a quest that turns out to be not a quest, and Quentin coming to terms with his fantasy of having a father figure to guide him through his marvelous adventures. But the second half - oof, that was like spraying water over hot coals; it was still going great but the effect was sort of dampened you know? Because the second half takes a turn onto uncharted waters - telling us the story of the young Chatwins, having a magical hide-and-seek between Quentin and Alice, building up to creation magic, and having a drawn out end-of-times with Janet as the witness. That was also another thing different - we get more POV in this book, including Eliot, Janet, and Plum. Janet gets more backstory too, and I loved her badassery in this one, and Plum's naivete called back to the first book wonder. There was a lot going on in this book, and while the first half would have gotten a full five stars from me, the second half I am on the fence about. The ending is adequate and satisfactory in that it resolves plot threads and pushes the characters into a place where they feel content, but it felt like that spark was missing a bit. It felt like it should have been building up to something, maybe a sense of bittersweet loss on part of the reader, but it never did. As a series finale, though, I feel content and complete, so it is an amazing ending nevertheless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best trilogy I've ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stories get better as the characters get themselves together
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book one was just talking. It didn't feel like I was reading a novel. Book two picked up and found its way to interesting. Book three started well and got better. It ends with a sense of closure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You'll get lost in the lives of these characters . Great story...can't wait to see where they go from here! Thanks for the ride !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book, like harry potter meets Narnia and American College
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding story. I wish there was more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is it fantasy with literary elements? Or literature with fantasy elements? Well ok, it's the former. But it has the kinds of flawed, faceted characters I love in my fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An engrossing read that gives the characters a believabke conclusion. The story involves mystery an adventure and adds new depths and areas if growth to the characters. A very satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go4Jugular More than 1 year ago
This review will be for the series as a whole and, in short, it is simply outstanding. While clearly, sometimes explicitly, paying homage to the worlds of Narnia and Harry Potter, there's more mature themes as are found in, for example, Catcher in the Rye and Less Than Zero. Yet none of those laudatory comparisons should in any way detract from the superlative originality of this series. Strong and interesting characters, ideal plot pacing, and dialogue that never strikes a false note. Magic, materialism, platonic and romantic relationships, introspection and thoughtful contemplation, and climactic conflicts and battles - I wouldn't have thought there were books that could comfortably sit on my shelves between Tolkien and Irving, but this series is worthy of that spot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steve-Fiano More than 1 year ago
You probably pre-ordered this book if you read the first 2 books.  I was satisfied by this in most ways.  Much of what I wanted to happen as a fan of the series, happened.  I thank Grossman for dishing that out.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome series!!!