The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris: A Novel in Recipes

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris: A Novel in Recipes

by Jenny Colgan

Paperback

$14.57 $15.99 Save 9% Current price is $14.57, Original price is $15.99. You Save 9%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Zach_B 5 months ago
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan was a nice story. Anna Trent, injured while at work at a chocolate factory, wakes up in the hospital to discover she has lost more than she thought. But while in the hospital she is reunited with Claire, the French teacher she had years ago. The two form a great friendship during their stay in the hospital. Claire’s story is told in an alternate storyline usually at the end of each chapter. Claire had a great love, Thierry, who is also a chocolatier, one of the greatest in Paris. When Anna goes to work for him, she meets his son, Laurent. This story was a different story than I’m used to from Jenny Colgan. Usually, the protagonist builds her small business after losing her job, affects the community around her, and finds love. In this story, while Anna has lost her job, she goes to work for Thierry, and while she does find love, she doesn’t really affect the community at all. I enjoyed this book; Jenny Colgan is a favorite author of mine. However, it was not my favorite of hers. Thank you to the publisher for a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review. #netgalley #theloveliestchocolateshopinparis
Cat_Reader 5 months ago
I'm used to Jenny Colgan's light and humorous books, and this one has surprised me from the start with two well-suffering dramas. As I like her stories, I ventured out anyway, because I have finished reading two tragedies and my heart has not yet fully recovered. Two exciting love stories alternating a love of the past and a love of the present. Two women who reveal themselves, who find themselves strong. But what I felt most strongly was the message of resilience and forgiveness. It's been a while since I've had such a tightness in my chest that I have to stop reading so I can breathe a little. One of the most beautiful endings I've ever read, even though I want something different. I found the scenes involving Paris beautiful and the scenes involving the chocolate delicious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book, a fun, easy read for when you don't want think too much :o)  
Anonymous 28 days ago
This story transported me to a lovely time.
Becka 5 months ago
Thanks go to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. If you are looking for unexpected plot twists that hit you out of nowhere, this book won’t be your cup of tea. BUT, if you’re looking for a book you can snuggle up with that will whisk you away to the beautiful city of Paris for friendship, self-realization, and (of course) romance, then you don’t want to miss this one! If you’re already a Jenny Colgan fan, you won’t be disappointed. If this is your first Jenny Colgan book and you’re looking for a book that is a warmly-written contemporary, you’ll be glad you gave it a try.
Fredreeca2001 5 months ago
Anna has had a terrible accident at work. She shares her hospital room with her old French teacher from school. They develop a unique friendship. This leads Anna to a new job at a fancy chocolatier shop in Paris. Anna is a little bit of a scaredy-cat. There were times I wanted to shove her in the right direction. Luckily Claire, her French teacher, knows just what buttons to push to get Anna out the door. I enjoyed the characters in this read, especially Anna’s flat mate, Sami. He is a hoot. Then there is Anna’s love interest, Laurent. I had a love/hate relationship with him. And of course, there is Claire. You just must read this book to find out! This is a very sweet read, pun intended. It is a bit wordy in places but the characters are amazing. And, of course, who can forget about the location! PARIS! And don’t forget the recipes! Yes! Wonderful chocolate recipes!
Laurensbookishlife 5 months ago
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris tells the story of Anna Trent who lives in a small town in the UK. After suffering a tragic accident in the local chocolate factory where she works, Anna receives the opportunity to travel to Paris and work in the world famous Le Chapeau de Chocolat run by well renowned chef Thierry Girard. The kicker is, Anna’s travel arrangements were made by her old French teacher, Mrs. Claire Shawcourt, who lived in Paris one fateful summer of her youth and fell in love with a young Chocolate maker just opening up his shop. Claire, who is terminally ill, would give anything to return and see her first love one last time. I loved this book! The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris is so much more than the synopsis lets on. I loved how it is told in multiple time periods and view points. I feel like this makes it a fairly quick and engaging read. Everything about this book screams romance from the romantic location of Paris, Claire and Thierry’s love story, and Anna’s personal quest to find love and live with confidence after her accident. The only I thing I didn’t like about this book was the ending. Yes, as a reader you know what’s coming, but it was so abrupt, and not really realistic at all. It ends suddenly and then the book just goes right into the epilogue. Overall though, I would strongly recommend this book, and I look forward to reading more by Jenny Colgan.
3900980 5 months ago
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan is a beautifully written, tender love story that intertwines two women, Anna, who has her whole life ahead of her, and Claire, whose life is ending. It is the story of deep love, regret, and strength. But it is also very funny and expertly written with scenes of Paris which makes the city come to life in the reader's mind. Anna Trent worked in a chocolate factory in England. She thought this is where she would be for the rest of her life. After a serious work accident which lands her in the hospital, she finds to her surprise her roommate is none other than her childhood French teacher Claire. As they become friends, they begin to share their life stories. Both are filled with much love and much sorrow. Claire sees herself in Anna and wants to help her experience both true life and true love. Anna on the other hand just feels as if her life is over. Claire is able to get Anna a job at the premiere Paris chocolate shop. Anna begins her journey both excited and terrified. As she begins to acclimate to both the French, the cast of characters at the shop, as well as her hilarious roommate who forces her into the adventures of a lifetime, she begins to come out of her shell. She reluctantly at first begins to live. What develops are two beautiful love stories which at times are mirror images of each of the women. The story is told by both Anna and Claire, and with Claire giving us flashbacks throughout her long life, we are able to see the similarities in both of them and also the regrets which Claire has and is desperately trying to help her friend avoid. The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris is a wonderful funny story with the richness and excitement of falling in love. There are lessons to be learned for both the characters as well as the readers. Especially in the City of Love and especially in a chocolate shop!
gaele 5 months ago
Lighthearted fun with a touch of romance, set mostly in Paris and with frequent references (and recipes) with chocolate: it is hard to go wrong! Jenny Colgan introduces us to Anna, a supervisor in a chocolate factory in England. When she has an accident and loses two toes, she finds her roommate at the hospital is her French Teacher Claire. When Claire uses her influence to give Anna a chance at a change in scenery and a new opportunity, the story really takes hold and thrusts the reader into Paris and the kitchen of a famous chocolatier. Thierry is a master chocolatier and his shop, Le Chapeau Chocolat is a favorite of many. He also found his muse in Claire and her reminiscences run through the story to correlate Anna’s journey and discoveries, to the moments that informed her own life. What emerges is a lovely story that brings a woman, perhaps squandering her potential in favor of security and the known and by adjusting her living situation, she learns to find the potential in herself. She is faced with several challenges in her new city, but rather than allowing them to defeat her, she is enchanted by the differences, and finds potential and reconnects with her own dreams, long dormant. Clearly the correlation of Claire’s relationship with Thierry and Anna’s to his son bring a touch of romance and fancy to the whole story: as one is losing a dream, others are gaining one. First person narration from Anna, and the third person reminiscences and reflections from Claire provide lovely description, feel and definition to the city and the story. Seeing Paris through Anna’s eyes is a lovely technique, bringing areas and elements of the city to light that perhaps are missed, or unseen by those more familiar. Also, the story is liberally peppered with hints and tips for handling chocolate, as well as some recipes for home-crafted treats – who can resist good chocolate? Quick reading, fun and funny with a light touch of romance, this is a lovely story. I enjoyed this second (ok - probably fifth) re-read of the title as much as the first. And, it is Paris after all. I received an eGalley copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anna, from a small, rather dull village in Britain, has just been in the hospital. There, she encounters a former teacher, Claire, who helps her get a job in Paris. Anna is later able to return Claire's kindness in an unexpected way. The book alternates chapters between Claire's summer in Paris 40 years ago and Anna's current experiences, and we get a feel for how living in Paris changes these two young English women. There are recipes at the end, and I confess that I did feel like eating chocolate as I read. Sometimes you want to read a well-written book with likable characters, a beautiful setting, and a happily ever ending--nothing too unpleasant or stressful, just pure enjoyment. The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris fits the bill perfectly.
Anonymous 6 months ago
This book will be published in the summer and is a welcome re-issue of a title by Jenny Colgan. This author's novels are always involving and heart warming. In this one, Anna (who works in the chocolate industry in England) suffers a freak accident. While recuperating, she reconnects with her old French teacher, Claire. Claire encourages Anna to go to Paris where Anna takes a position in a very different chocolate business. Anna's ups and downs form part of the story. The other and equally engaging story is Claire's. The reader learns about the choices she made when younger and her feelings about them. Jenny Colgan writes novels that tug at the heart strings and leave readers feeling satisfied. That is certainly the case in this novel. Many thanks to Sourcebooks and NetGalley for a lovely time in Paris. All opinions are my own.
Avid_Reader_LB4 6 months ago
A moving tale of two British women who find love inParis I must admit, it took me a good part of the book to get into this story told alternately in present day and in flashbacks to a magical summer in 1972. Claire's story is bittersweet; Anna's begins with sadness and depression but ends in a joyous atmosphere of good friends well met and accomplishment. I was more drawn to Claire's story, but both provide scintillating glimpses into a Parisian life and aesthetic that few foreigners ever experience. It seemed that one woman's life was just getting interesting when it switched to the other until closer to the conclusion when their tales converged. The chocolate-making, described in aching detail as a central activity in both Claire and Anna's story, was a bit too down in the weeds for me. I hungered for the romantic bits and would rather experience the tasting over the laborious creative process. This was not my favorite Jenny Colgan effort but the ending was truly touching and both women's journeys , with such different outcomes, lovingly depicted by a skilled writer. I read a complimentary advance copy of the book provided by the publisher through NetGalley; this is my voluntary and honest review.
Jan Tangen 6 months ago
Although Anna seems to be the main character, it feels more like it's Claire's "what might have been". Their stories are written parallel until it is time for the older, ill Claire to reconnect with the man she never forgot in the city no one can ever forget. Anna escapes herself in Paris with Claire's help after learning what it is like to have a disability that few can see. Written with sensitivity and understanding. I requested and received a free ebook copy from Sourcebooks Landmark via NetGalley.
JW88 6 months ago
Anna is a chocolate factory worker in England who suffers an accident and experiences a prolonged hospital stay as a result. Her hospital roommate is her former French teacher Claire who is herself very ill. Claire offers Anna an opportunity to work with a famous chocolate maker in Paris, and needing to make changes in her life, Anna begins a life in Paris. I found this story to be extremely endearing. The overlay of the Anna’s life in Paris, along with Claire’s memories of living in Paris, was written with tenderness typical of Jenny Colgan. I enjoyed the descriptions of the food and chocolate, as well as the narrative about several Paris locations. A really sweet story. I look forward to reading more Jenny Colgan books in the future. Please note: I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for a fair review which I have provided here.
the_judylwd 6 months ago
This book has two of my favorite things, chocolate and Paris, in the title, so I knew I had to read it. The first two thirds of the story focuses on Claire's story in 1972 and Anna's story in modern times. Then the final third is Anna and Claire together. Claire was Anna's French teacher in high school. They reconnect in the hospital. While they are patients, Claire gives Anna French lessons and then later gets her a temporary job and a place to stay in Paris. Claire wants Anna to get out of the small town in England that they are from and have an adventure of a lifetime. We have two romances in one novel. The flipping back and forth in time was handled very well as the stories were clearly marked. I loved the characters. I loved seeing Anna go from being depressed over losing two of her toes in an accident at the chocolate factory to becoming more confident while she developed a life for herself in Paris away from the small town she was born and raised in. Sami, Anna's Paris roommate, stole the scenes that he was in, because he was just so full of life. I enjoyed both Anna and Claire's stories. This story will make you laugh and cry. It also makes me want to learn French and book a flight to Paris. There are several chocolate recipes at the end of the book. All look amazing. If you like Sophie Kinsella's books, you will like this story. This is only the 2nd Jenny Colgan novel that I have read and it won't be the last. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the book. All opinions expressed are my own.
jjthor 6 months ago
Anna moves to Paris after she gets a settlement from an accident. she met her old French teacher again while she was in hospital and she arranged for a job there for her with a man she used to know. Anna loves the work and saves to bring her teacher over to see the man she used to love before she dies. I found this to be a heartwarmning story with a good storyline. The author even included recipes at the end of the book. It does have a sad ending though but is worth reading. Great characters and discriptions of Paris.
Tangen 7 months ago
Although Anna seems to be the main character, it feels more like it's Claire's "what might have been". Their stories are written parallel until it is time for the older, ill Claire to reconnect with the man she never forgot in the city no one can ever forget. Anna escapes herself in Paris with Claire's help after learning what it is like to have a disability that few can see. Written with sensitivity and understanding.
Book_and_recipe_Examiner More than 1 year ago
Anna worked at a boring mass-produced chocolate factory in a small English town, until a freak accident left her missing two of her toes, and her self-esteem. Feeling sorry for herself and bored, she rekindled a friendship with her old French teacher, who is also at the hospital, for chemo. Her weary teacher begins to tutor Anna again, and after a little while, even finds Anna a job in the most prestigious chocolate shop in Paris, and the only one that still makes everything fresh, by hand, daily. But the owner of the shop is more than just an old friend to the French teacher, Claire. He was her first love, which she gave up long ago. And working at the shop is much harder than Anna had anticipated, especially under the mean English expat co-owner, and living at the top a daunting number of stairs with a flamboyantly confident roommate addicted to the local night life. The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris is hilarious, snarky, tragic, and a wonderful feel-good romantic comedy about yearning, striving for perfection, and mouth-watering chocolate. A wonderful book any time of year. For discussion questions, a list of similar books, and a recipe for Molten Chocolate Cupcakes with Double Chocolate Frosting, visit http://hub.me/amqJM
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was funny, heartwarming and delicious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with the characters; and in the times where I had to put the book down, I found myself wondering what would happen next and couldn't wait to pick it up again! A great light read, engaging, and heart-warming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whats better than a book about Paris, chocolate and falling in love? I laughed and i cried. Great read.
BookishLF More than 1 year ago
This is a heartwarming love story in a beautiful setting well worth reading! The characters are very likable people in true to life situations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful story