The Hungry Girl Diet: Big Portions. Big Results. Drop 10 Pounds in 4 Weeks

The Hungry Girl Diet: Big Portions. Big Results. Drop 10 Pounds in 4 Weeks

by Lisa Lillien

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Hungry Girl Diet: Big Portions. Big Results. Drop 10 Pounds in 4 Weeks 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hungry Chick Vs. Hungry Girl? For months, all I heard about was how much weight my sister-in-law lost from my family and how great she looked. So today I went to BN to get the book. I ended up buying the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution and the Hungry Girl Diet when I saw it too. I am so glad that I bought this book. The Hungry Girl Diet, I found, is a 4-week program. There is a separate chapter for each of the 4 weeks, and within each week there is a separate page for every day of the week (i.e., Week 1 - Day 1, Week 1 - Day 2, Week 1 – Day 3, etc.). Every single day has its own menu plan broken down into Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and Snacks. It is very structured, but there is also a lot of flexibility within that structure. For each meal, you can choose from 3 different menu choices (breakfast on Week 1, Day 1, for example, offers your choice of Mega Fruit ‘n Yogurt Bowl, Egg Scramble & Bun, or Growing Oatmeal B-fast). For every menu item, there is a reference to the page number in the book where you can find the recipe for that item. There are over 60 recipes in this book. When the book is opened to a menu plan for a given day, the menu plan is on the right-hand page, and the left-hand page has helpful hints, time-saving shortcuts, money-saving tips, ideas for food swaps, etc. There are even little reminders throughout about when to drink your water. But, only The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution was able to tell me how much water I should be drinking. I already started following what the Hungry Chick recommended for that. In the end, I am seeing this little mix up as a win-win. I will use The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution for its great advice and the Hungry Girl Diet for its great recipes. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do nor waste money on the ebook i suspect that the real book format works ok because there are writing spaces or something but it doesnt work for ebook disaster
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Hungry Girl Diet is truly for hungry girls! I actually found it difficult, impossible at times, to eat ALL of the food allotted each day! Now that is a great “diet”! While a lot of the information seems obvious (don’t drink your calories, eat a LOT of veggies, etc.), there are some incredible tricks that make it seem like you are cheating. An example is the fettuccine alfredo made primarily from Laughing Cow cheese wedges, a dish that clocks in around 100 calories yet tastes like it’s easily as rich and creamy as the real deal for four times the calories. For this recipe alone, I’ll be eternally grateful! The plan and recipes are simple and incredibly delicious. Best of all, even making some adjustments to the plan (I have an occasional glass of wine, I use whole eggs instead of egg whites) I have already lost five pounds in the first week. If you want to eat good, easy to prepare food, yet still lose weight, grab this book right now!
Rose38 More than 1 year ago
I'm 75 year old. The older you get the harder it is to lose weight. Well this diet is working for me and I can't eat everything they tell me to eat. I've had to cut down on portion sizes but it gives you a feeling of fullness. I eat more now than I did when I was dieting on my own. I preordered it on Nook so I received it on the first day available. I read it that night and started the diet the next day. So far I've lost 6 lbs slowly. No overnight huge drop in weight but gradually and consistently.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This diet delivers!  I have struggled all my life with weight issues, but this diet is keeping me VERY full while losing weight  (8 pounds in 2 1/2 weeks).  Yes, the first week was tough, but  after that, it was much easier.  She knows exactly what she is doing because I love food, esp. sweets, and I have stuck with the diet plan.  Furthermore, it has weaned me of my trigger foods and helped me understand what I was doing wrong previously.  Most importantly, I followed tips for dining out and did so twice a week  while remaining very close to the diet plan with no setbacks.  Also, the app (tho' not perfect) helps you keep track of exactly what you eat.  Can this diet be made part of one's permanent  eating lifestyle?  Yes, I believe so if I continue to use her low calorie /high quantity approach and recipes.  Only reason I did not give this book a 5-star is because she failed to indicate the time  involved in shopping, prepping, and making meals.  The only way to be successful, to me,  is to cook ahead in larger batches, so the meals will be ready  to eat ,and that requires a lot of time and  refrigerator room that a person with a family won't have.   
shellide More than 1 year ago
Great book to have! I am a member of weight watchers but have been receiving the Hungry Girl emails for years - and was delighted when the book came out! Recipes, ideas, tips all so worth the purchase!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth the money I paid for it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This diet is so complicated and expensive. Besides being totally unrealistic, you will never stick to this diet for long. I want a refund.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sarah1986 More than 1 year ago
The problem with diets in general is that they're restrictive. Sadly, that's the problem with the Hungry Girl Diet, it's another restrictive diet. I hate saying that because I usually love Hungry Girl (Lisa). But alas, I cannot recommend this book. There's just so much white knuckling going on, that you will lose weight, but you're more likely to gain it right back because it's not about making a lifestyle change. I was really disappointed. There are some really good recipes, though. Also, you can still follow some of this while doing some other type of weight loss. So, there's the upside. If you were to buy the book for those reasons and those reasons alone, only then would I recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very easy to follow and you get a free appt,when you buy the book,good and easy recipies
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great tips and super advice for a healthy and realistic way to lose and manage weight!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to admit I haven't looked through the book, but I have looked at several of Lisa's books in the past. My problem, and I would really like to like them, is that the grams of sugar and carbs are never taken into consideration. It's all about the calories and that's a GOOD thing, but  I really like to see the sugar and carbs not being ignored.  If she did that I'd buy ll of her books believing they'd be helpful for my husband who is Type 2 Diabetic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Big Portions, but noticed quite abit of sugar. I am concerned about the amount of sugar in Greek yogurt that is included in many of the recipes and breakfast. One yogurt serving can contain 23grams or more of sugar. 7grams equals one teaspoon. Do the math....sugar does not help any diet!!