The Human Division

The Human Division

by John Scalzi

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Human Division 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoyed 'Old Man's War' at all, then this will be righ tup your alley. John Scalzi has a writing style that holds my attention and interest, as well as getting me to chuckle over his story telling. I purchase the chapters individually as they came out and was pleased to see that they are now available in a single volume. Unlike others, I did notice right away that it was all the chapters assembled into one and did not buy them a second time. In short, a fun and light read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was afraid this would be just another hackneyed space opera. It's not! Humorous twists and entertaining characters makes The Human Division a page turner as much for how the highly diverse characters get into predicaments as how they get out of them. Originally published as a serial, the episodes are beautifully blended into the full book.
JR_one More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this return to the "Old Man War" universe! Scalzi continues the story of the Colonial Union and Earth with a story where shadowy forces are working toward the downfall of humanity. Lots of action, humor, and sarcastic dialog! I purchased it as a serial (individual chapters) and enjoyed it immensely.
odj More than 1 year ago
A great read.  Extremely well written, engaging, funny, yet gritty.  I, too, mistakenly purchased after having read each of the individual chapters.
TheGreatSnook More than 1 year ago
This book is a compilation of short stories that are loosely tied together. However, don't think that you are reading a full and complete novel. By the end of the book a decent amount of things have happened, but nothing has been resolved. I was just happy to get another glimpse of this universe. I also always liked Harry as a character and he is prominently featured. I also grew fond of some of the other characters that were introduced. If you are a fan of the Old Man's War universe you should read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. Good classic style sci-fi.
Bubwolf More than 1 year ago
A science fiction story that is what a space opera should've.  Lots of action, engaging characters and humor.  
Drewano More than 1 year ago
The fifth book in the Old Man’s War series, “The Human Division” continues the story of the CDF and this time focuses in on their dealings and diplomacy with earth and other races.  It’s an interesting premise that really adds to the story, but because of that it lacks some of the action and smart retorts that made the other books so engaging (especially when not featuring Harry, Hart at al).  Overall the book was good, but not at good (or as much fun) as the first three, but it does advanced the story a great deal and leaves a very large runway at the end for the next in the series of books so you know the battle may be done but the war is far from over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun book.  Back to the Old Man's War universe, but with some great new characters.  Scalzi has some good Laumer's Reteif like moments.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everything I expected and more! I first discovered Old Man's War when I worked at a bookstore. One of my coworkers said she wanted me to buy a book and read it. She said she had recommended this book to many people and then told me that she would make me the same offer. Buy this book and read it, if you don't love it, I will buy it from you. She asked do you know how many copies of this book I own........one, then she handed me a copy of Old Man's War and walked away. I will be forever grateful to her, thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept me going. I read a lot of science fiction and have my favorite authors. I am also use to skipping around as well as (detours). With this said, it is a good read. Just bear with the author and don't start in the middle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait for the next book in this series. It leaves you wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BigMike45 More than 1 year ago
I found The Human Division to be both thought provoking and extremely entertaining. The connected short story format was somewhat cliffhanger-ish but did not take away from the story. I enjoyed it thoroughly. I hope the next one comes out soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great short stories
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another amazing adventure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago