The Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel

The Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel

by Chrysler Szarlan

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
All I can say is WOW! Just WOW! There isn't a dull moment in this book. Again I have another new author. I was pleasantly surprised that as I was reading along up popped a small town, Mount Holly, that I once lived near. This made it a personal read. This is a magical book and I couldn't get away from it. For me this is one big spoiler. It is also a tear jerker in places. Chrysler conjured up some of the best people for her story. The bad and the good. I read her biography and she has a magic background. It shows in this book. Grab this book and give it a chance. You won't regret it. I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.
TMS-Avid_Reader_Am_I_0828 More than 1 year ago
Magic, Mystery and Mayhem are wonderful bed fellows in this heady new book series from author Chrysler Szanlan!!! It grabs your hand, leading you in and keep you wanting for more from the first page to the end. Run don't walk to your favorite book store, library or other place that you can purchase your books. I hereby give this book 4.75 stars out of 5 stars. ** I received the ARC through Net Gallery in exchange for my honest opinion. This means that you the reader should take in with a grain of salt & know that I give it in my own version of the good, the bad and indifference without being associated with the making of this book.**
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing+read+-+couldn%27t+put+it+down.+Kept+me+engaged+from+start+to+finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a unique story weaving magic, family, and love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this fast paced story. Looking forward to more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book because the title intrigued me, and I was not disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This last year, I read at least 150 books---books are the cheapest form of enterainment, and I am acompulsive reader. I found two new authors who aren't household names, who wrote the two best books/series I read last year. This was one of them. Didn't hury that I had just movef tp the area inwhich it is set. In simple but elegant prose, the writer tells the story of a woman who is the wife of a brilliant stage illusionist who outdoes all the competition in Las Vegas. His secre is her ability to move unseen, thus allowi g him to perform illusionsno one else can duplicate. Their marriage is happy and blessed with remarkable daughters. They are a golden family, until the day a trick goes wrong, when an unloaded gun turns out to be loaded, and he is mtdered. Suspicion immediately falls upon his wife. The police regard her as the main suspect, but cannot prove her guilt. Besieged by the police and the press, she takes her daughters to the small town she left so many years before. Once there, she is forced to learn more about the bloodline which gave her her unique talent, in order to protect herself and her daughters from the one who killed her husband, while dealing with an old love. And that's just the beginning. Characters are rich and believable. As someone who lost a young husband when I was only 34, I find her grief and her pain and fear captured to perffection. Her daughters are equally well-drawn, especially the youngest. The back story and family history was fascinating, and the magical (in every sense of the word) mystery was satisfying. Since I live here, I can also tell you she has a strong sense of place and mood. If you like your mysteries with a paranormal twist and deft characterization, read this. I can only say that even my husband, who doesn't luke mysteries but does like urban fantasy, enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book on a whim because I was intrigued by the title. I have been absolutely transfixed and hated to have to put it down to go to work or even sleep. Hopefully this author will write more books. Stephanie Clanahan
eternalised More than 1 year ago
The Hawley Book of the Dead has an original, surprising premise, and delivers with great writing and outstanding characters. The book starts off with a bang, introducing us to Revelation, “Reve” Dyer, who accidentally kills her husband. They’re a duo of magicians and illusionists, but one night, one of their tricks goes wrong and she kills her husband on stage. Reve is broken up about it, and along with her three daughters, she struggles to pick up the pieces of her life. Afraid the person who murdered her husband (the intruder who switched her trick pistol) is after them, she gathers her girls and moves to Hawley Five Corners, a small town founded by her ancestors. But living in a secluded farmhouse in the middle of a town she grew up hearing so much about, Reve discovers things about her history that she never thought possible. She finds the Hawley Book of the Dead, an ancient journal with strange power that might save her or destroy her. Reve tries to uncover the journal’s secrets, and hopes it might help protect herself and her daughters, for it seems the person who murdered her husband has chased them to Hawley… The book has an amazing amount of lore behind it, and I enjoyed uncovering the secret of the Hawley Book of the Dead. It also has a good amount of mystery and even some thriller-aspects. The middle part lagged a bit, but I found that this helped build up the supsense. I began to really care for Reve and her daughters, and I didn’t want anything to happen to them. The characters were well-rounded and interesting. Reve’s sorrow and grief is so realistic you instantly feel bad fo her. While the plot was interesting, it was the magic that brought this book to the next level for me. I liked the history behind it, the introduction of the book, and in general, the whole magic system. The writing was great too, with vivid descriptions and an unique setting. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago