The Gourmet Cookbook: More than 1000 recipes

The Gourmet Cookbook: More than 1000 recipes

by Ruth Reichl (Editor)

Hardcover(None)

$29.33 $40.00 Save 27% Current price is $29.33, Original price is $40. You Save 27%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Gourmet Cookbook: More Than 1000 Recipes 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
cookbookliz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't use this book because the titles of the recipes are in yellow and it is very hard to see them. I'm sure it's a great book, but I can't read it well.It was a long awaited cookbook when it came out, but overestimated.
trudes111 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my 6 "GO TO" cookbooks. Excellent resource, subtle changes to classic recipes that create the definitive dish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite cookbook, and I have a lot. I've used it dozens (if not hundreds) of times and never even noticed any issue with the colors or typeset. And while it would be lovely if there were photos, most cookbooks this size don't have any, so I wasn't surprised. The recipes are generally easy to follow without photographic help. 
MS_RML More than 1 year ago
I have the hard cover, both books and they are an invaluable addition to my cookbook library. I hope they soon come out with both on the nook too....I used to subscribe to the magazine before they stopped publishing it. I miss it dearly...
ElastiMom More than 1 year ago
Fabulous book, full of amazing recipes which worked very well for my Thanksgiving feast.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I collect cookbooks and have about 200. This is one of my very favorites. I've yet to make anything from it that wasn't at least darned good, and most of the recipes have been just plain excellent. This has become my "go-to" cookbook whenever I'm looking for something new to try. I haven't had a problem at all with the yellow typeface, and neither has my 73-year-old mother, who has cooked from it in my kitchen with me. And honestly, I found it somewhat laughable that people are complaining about the lack of pictures in the book. Since when do cookbooks have to have pictures in order to be great cookbooks? This is definitely not a cookbook for a beginning cook, nor was it meant to be. (Hence the "Gourmet" in the title, as well as the reputation of the magazine that produced it.) But for someone with a little experience in the kitchen, it's fantastic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great for mid-level to more experienced cooks. This book provides a number of recipes for inspiration. I've had this for at least three years and have not yet had any recipe less than 4 of 5 stars. Most are 5 stars. The DVD is an added plus. Demonstrates simple techniques that can help spell success (as with making risotto).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goldbros More than 1 year ago
Every recipe we tried has been nothing but a success.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My friends and I refer to it as "The Book". It has never failed me or them. Everything I have made from "The Book" has been wonderful. We use it almost weekly and have many favorites. It is a must have.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have had this cookbook for years and use it weekly. Every recipe (save the cold cucumber soup) is amazing. Each time I prepare a recipe, whatever it might be, I am told that it is the best (of whatever) the person has ever had. Clear instructions and amazing results.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is what it claims to be--the very best from Gourmet Magazine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for myself last year for Christmas! I have used the book throughout the year and have made approximately 40 recipes. All have been hugely successful. I just ordered the book for a gift for my sister for this Christmas! Many people have complained about the yellow printing in these reviews about Ruth Reichl's 'Gourmet.' I, too, have found it a bit cumbersome. For me, the content far outweighs any problematic printing. I highly recommend this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't find the yellow type hard to read at all. I sat down and read it from cover to cover first and now use it as a regular cookbook. It IS like a textbook in that provides a wealth of info. If you need pictures for inspiration than this is not the book for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the yellow type face to be illegible and it is used on every page throughout the book. It is impossible to scan pages for headings, recipe titles, or the like. I also found the page layout to be very heavy and wordy, making the book appear more a textbook that a work for creative enjoyment. I have excellent reference cookbooks, so I'm choosy about what I purchase. This one needs some revision in style to make it worth the purchase.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recently purchased this book for my sister online and I'm really dissapointed with what I received. It has recipe after recipe, with the titles in yellow lettering that are difficult to read. There isn't one picture in the entire book,leaving you uninspired to cook any of the recipes because you can't see what they are supposed to look like.The most expensive part of the book is the cover, which is quite pretty and since it's all you see online it leads you to believe that the inside is probably even better. I expected something much better from Gourmet Magazine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like the recipes and quiet happy with this one. Yes, perhaps it would be easier to read if they change the font color, but the information in this book is incredible
Guest More than 1 year ago
No, there aren't any pictures, and yes, the yellow typeface is awful (although supposedly supposed to be fixed on the next print run), but this cookbook covers it all, and the recipes are incredible. I also love the fact they tell you how long it will take you to make the recipes--invaluable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
and reads like one too, with page after page of copy unrelieved by nary a photo...talk about doing a book on the cheap! The release of this volume was obviously intended to coincide with the upcoming holidays; if the title appears on the wish list of someone you will be buying for, make certain they have seen the book, and are positive this is the one they want...otherwise you'll both end up making rude remarks about the jolly old elf in the red suit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lots to read; needs more help with typeset and printing! Small, with unusual colors of typeset doesn't do much for these boomer eyes. Some good recipes, but average cookbook...... \Way too much$$$$ for what you get.
Guest More than 1 year ago
was hoping for a high calibre cookbook .was described as with illustrations . with a title by gourmet 60 years in the making was bewildered why there are only stencil drawrings and no photos to complement what would have been the best cookbook ever published.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was so disappointed in the book. While the recipes may be classics, the names of the recipes are unreadable. The decision to write the names in yellow ink was a poor one. I returned the book, two days after I purchased it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One wonders if the bread and butter pickles made in this book with maple syrup instead of sugar has been tested for pH? While sugar does not impact the pH of canned pickles, maple syrup does.