The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband (Rokesby Series #2)

The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband (Rokesby Series #2)

by Julia Quinn

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$37.19 $39.99 Save 7% Current price is $37.19, Original price is $39.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it. Julia does it to me every time. Engaged me from the first page. Her characters had me rooting for true love. Can't wait for the next installment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So full of humor and love, I can't wait for the next installment!
Anonymous 11 months ago
good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a+fun+ride++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+really+enjoyed+this+book%21++I+read+it+in+one+day%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Desperate times call for desperate measures! And how do you undo the messy knot of it all at when the desperate measures are no longer needed? Julia Quinn has the enjoyable solution. Sad that Thomas died ... or did he?
PegGlover More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars The Girl With The Make-Believe-Husband is a sweet and enjoyable historical fiction romance. Cecilia Harcourt left England, for the States, after receiving a letter from Thomas’s commanding officer, informing her of his injuries. Cecilia never thought that she’d have the courage to cross the ocean by herself, but she needed to see her brother. Thomas was all she had left. But, when Cecilia reached the NY hospital, Thomas wasn’t there; his best friend, Edward Rokesby, however, was. Knowing that only family members could visit patients, Cecilia told the officer in charge that she was Edward’s wife. Cecilia was hoping that Edward could shed some light as to the whereabouts of her brother. He couldn’t. Edward was suffering from a severe head injury with amnesia. It bothered Cecilia to lie to Edward. But, he was an Earl’s son and an officer, and the Rokesby name was opening doors. And, right now she had to find her brother. But as the days passed, Cecilia felt more and more guilty about the lies she was telling. And, the thing was, Cecilia was falling in love with Edward. She hoped against hope that she’d find her brother before Edward regained his memory because Cecilia knew, that Edward was going to be furious. And, Cecilia would rather not be around for that scene, even though it was going to break her heart to leave. The Girl With The Make-Believe-Husband is an entertaining read, but not one of my favorites by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Three and a half stars. Cecilia Harcourt has received word that her brother Thomas has been injured in the American revolutionary war and has travelled from her home in Derbyshire to New York to search for him after the sudden death of their father leaves her at the not-so tender mercies of their cousin Horace. Unfortunately, when she arrives none of the army officers seem willing to help her and Thomas is nowhere to be found, she is about to give up in despair when she hears that Thomas' best friend, Edward Rokesby is unconscious in the hospital, Cecilia feels she knows Edward through her correspondence with Thomas over the months in which Edward would often add little anecdotes and postscripts. Cecilia is refused entry to see him, family only, until she blurts out that she is his wife! Cecilia nurses him back to health, but when he finally awakens he has forgotten the last three months due to a blow to the head, and is not in a position to refute Cecilia's claim. Together Cecilia and Edward search for Thomas whilst Edward desperately tries to regain his memory. But living as husband and wife when one party knows it is a lie and the other has no recollection is fraught with perils, especially since they were already half in love with each other through their letters. This was an enjoyable historical romance, although I felt that the reveal about how Edward lost his memory was a bit of an afterthought. The first book is still the best for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put the book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy this author's books. The plot is both interesting and believable, and the characters are well-developed and likeable. While I seem to plod through a lot of other books lately, this one seemed to take no time at all to read, and now I can't wait for the next in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read from one of my favorite authors!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Julia Quinn books. This one was very good. I read it very quickly....too quickly! I enjoy how she can make you get so attached to her characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super great. One of her best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the sweetest love stories I have ever read. LORRAINE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesomeness
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But what's the name of the new book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At school i make pots in ceramics for flowers just like julia
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Julia Quinn and have read all of her books. They are generally light hearted and fun and this one was no different. I recommend it as a quick fun read. It would have been 5 stars if not for it being a little frustrating. There should have been more time for the characters to develop together once the truth came out. The time after his memory returned and she told him the truth seemed rushed...
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Not very many authors are capable of blending sensitive romance with courageous adventure. Julia Quinn transitions between the two with a smoothness and clarity that appeals to readers like me who are fans of both. The Girl With the Make - Believe Husband exudes classic romance while squeezing in a few modern day subjects. With a strong sense of female empowerment Cecilia sets out in search of answers and ends up facing more than she could have imagined. Edward holds the key to all she seeks, if he can forgive her in the end.