The Empress File (Kidd Series #2)

The Empress File (Kidd Series #2)

by John Sandford, John Sanford

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Empress File (Kidd Series #2) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
nursejamie More than 1 year ago
This book reads like a high school student wrote it. The plot was not thrilling at all, I didn't like the characters, and I didn't feel like any of it was really happening. I never got into this book, but rather drudged through it.
claude_lambert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In real life, I dislike thieves, people who snort cocaine to get excited and I do not care for hackers. The superstition of the thief does not add to his charm. In books, this describes the heroes of the Kidd series, including the Empress file, and I dislike them too. Sandford being very smart, he made the people who opposed these sad heroes much worse than that. What I really liked in the book is the problem: how does one get rid of the corrupt administration of a small town?It is very well studied, down to how to change the district lines.Altogether, an amusing read.
JustAGirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not as good as his Lucas Davenport series (but few things are) but this is a good crime thriller, with a host of entertaining characters.
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kidd and LuEllen are back for more action and danger. This time things are heating up in along the Mississippi. Some crooked polititians are robbing a town dry and causing other problems. They are brought in when Bobby contacts Kidd about a prodigy he was in contact with in this small town. A young black kid who showed promise as programmer, was accidentally shot dead by the local police and it was all hushed up.Kidd and LuEllen go down and stir the pot and all kinds of stuff floats to the surface.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not nearly as good as his more recent writings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First Kidd book I have read. Different style for Sanford but I liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unbreakable. <P> Thats what I thought he was. He was cold, more of a machine than a man. He cared little for anyone, not even me, his best friend.<P> Of course, I'm talking about Sherlock Holmes. Emotions, to him, are more of a hindrance than a blessing, and he would rather die than to admit his feelings for someone.<P> But sometimes, he's human. Just like you or me. But even more so. <P> Sherlock came home one night, exausted. He had been out for 2 whole days, solving a murder, and probably hadnt eaten or slept at all in those 48 hours. I had gotten a text from him to get a pot of coffee ready, and I had. I gave him a mug, and he downed it in 1 swallow. <P> Suddenly, he staggered forward, and his head dropped against my shoulder- and he burst into tears, his whole body shaking. <P> "Sherlock?!" He couldnt even answer, just sobbed and shook. He seemed small, vulnerable, wrapped in the great shadow of his black coat.<P> Awkwardly, I put my arms around his shoulders, and finally, he spoke.<P> "Death, John, Death!" He gasped. "Everywhere around me is death! I breathe, sleep, and live DEATH! And yet the greatest irony is that I fear it! I fear it more than anything!" I held his shaking shoulders, looking into his eyes, trying to calm him down. <P> "Why, Sherlock?" His red-rimmed eyes stared up into mine. "I have nothing to look forward to when I die. I have no heart, no emotions. Any good I do is out of my own self-interest. When I die, there will be nothing for me but torment...and I'll never be able to outsmart God." <P> I took off his coat and hung it on the rack, then got him another cup of coffee and a blanket. He sat on the couch, staring blankly into his cup, the blanket wrapped around him for hours. The next day, it seemed as if nothing had happened at all. He was fine. <P> That was the first time. He broke down about 6 times in our first years together. But then...the horrible Reichenbach fall...<P> It took me almost 3 years to recover, but I thought it was completely behind me. <P> Until Sherlock showed up again. <P> Thankfully, he survived our first encounter back together again. And even the second. I (eventually) started blogging about him again. He was even the best man at my wedding. <P> But no matter what, no matter how many cases he solves, how much fame he acquires, how annoying he is, all I can see, when I take the time to truly look at Sherlock, is that broken, childlike figure, who cries about death, and fears what is to come. I'm not a religious man, but if God in Heaven can't have mercy on that poor, frightened man, then absolutely no one on Earth can recieve mercy.
Sassyg1rl More than 1 year ago
I stumbled on a Kidd novel years ago and then read a second...somehow missing this gem when reading Prey and Flower series. So glad I filled in the blank. Sandford is a genius writer and the Kidd series makes the reader think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandford delivers again: good plot, great action. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brook_W More than 1 year ago
Another in the Kidd series or revenge of the computer nerds! How gullible bad guys can be for Kidd's version of the long con.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago