The Death of Mrs. Westaway

The Death of Mrs. Westaway

by Ruth Ware

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.59 $16.99 Save 20% Current price is $13.59, Original price is $16.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Death of Mrs. Westaway (B&N Exclusive Edition) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read in two days. I have read all Ruth Ware's books and this is the best one. Her other books are good but this one really grabs you. A good mystery and the ending is right on. Looking forward to reading the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one is my favorite . ....Loved the setting and the characters. Read it in one sitting..,tho my eyes protested mightily !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not out this book down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Much different than Woman in Cabin 10, but equally as enthralling! Reminiscent of early Victoria Holt, Daphne du Maurier and Emily Bronte.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Better than Cabin 10 which I did not like. Somewhat repetitious, but the unraveling of the mystery is well thought out. The tarot card descriptions are interesting and integrated into the main character's thoughts. The dialogue for the main character Hal is poor. For the most part, Hal begins and ends with "I..I...uh.." This is my biggest criticism. The ending is good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read with plot twists and turns galore! Well worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of her best yet. Loved the setting. Waiting for her next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gripping
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by Ruth Ware that I have read and I enjoyed it immensely! The characters have depth, feel real, and quickly take on a life of their own. The story itself is gripping and wrapped in mystery until the very end. The setting (the Westaway estate) in which the bulk of the story takes place is well fleshed out and quickly takes on a life of its own. Bravo, Mrs. Ware. Bravo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it. Didn't want to put it down. I've read all of Ruth Ware's books...she's one of my top favorite authors!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A true gothic feel in scenery, Plot and characters. A perfect read for a dark and stormy night!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got half way through and thought I figured it out, but there was still half a book to go and I was wondering what else could happen to take up the rest of the pages. Then the book was over. Couldn’t believe how quickly it went. Totally absorbing plot and intense characters. This is a page ;turner!
Fictionophile More than 1 year ago
This is the second Ruth Ware title I have read. Her debut novel “In a dark, dark wood” was a very enjoyable read so I had high expectations of this, her fourth novel. I was not disappointed (even though the author included a telling clue within the first chapters). I liked Hal’s character and was invested in her plight. Family secrets are always a draw for me, and this novel was rife with them. Secrets, lies, deception and betrayal in an atmospheric setting make for an enjoyable thriller.
miss_mesmerized More than 1 year ago
Harriet Westaway, called Hal, is broke, totally broke. When she receives a letter stating that her grandmother has died and she is to inherit a substantial sum, this seems to be the solution to all her problems. Yet: the dead woman simply cannot be her grandmother. They share the same last name, but all the dates on the birth certificates show that there must have been a mistake. Nevertheless, she travels to Cornwall to the funeral where she meets “her family”: Harding, Abel and Ezra – presumably her mother Maud’s brothers. Before Maud died three years ago, she never spoke of neither her family nor Hal’s father, she and her mother were all family she had and now, she got three uncles and their families. Hal feels uncomfortable betraying them, even though they apparently do much better in life than she herself and they easily could do without a couple of pounds. But more than the nagging bad conscience she senses that the old mansion, Trepassen, she is staying at has some secrets to hide – especially the deceased Mrs Westaway’s servant Mrs Warren seems to know something she does not want to share – and she recognises Hal. How could that be? I have read several of Ruth Ware’s novels and I like that she always finds a completely new story and that you are not reminded of any former books – a problem of so many authors who seem to write the same novel over and over again. Even though Ware has become famous for her psychological thrillers, I wouldn’t classify “The Death of Mrs Westaway” as one, for me it is rather a suspenseful family drama without the big thrill but a lot of secrets and mysteries. What I liked especially was the setting of the old house in which all the secrets have lain buried for two decades. The floor boards creak when you walk on them, there is an old study with masses of books and you can hear the wind howl. Plus, the secretive family who is not very open and welcoming to the stranger and who surely does not want any old stories to be uncovered. For her protagonist, Ruth Ware has chosen a very unique character. A young orphaned woman is not that rare in those kinds of novels, however, Hal is a tarot reader and has a special capacity of reading people – in order to tell them what they want to hear. She herself does not believe in the cards as fortune-tellers, they are much more providing guidance and concentration at the facts at hand. The story itself is captivating immediately since you anxiously wait until Hal’s deliberate deception is revealed and she is thrown-out. Then you realise that things might be a bit more complicated and the further you get, the more pieces of the puzzle appear leading to a new picture. There are many small aspects which make the novel absolutely outstanding, first of all the title which seems so simple since you know right from the start that a certain Mrs Westaway has died. Yet, at the end, there is much more to this than you might have guessed at first. Second, Harriet has a tattoo of a magpie, a reference to her mother and closely linked to Trepassen – which is a corruption of the Cornish word for magpie farm. She calls herself “Hal” which is also the name of the goddess of death in Norse mythology and whom the magpies served. All in all, a captivating read in which it is worth looking at the details.
RMeckley 13 days ago
Not Ms. Ware's best work, but still entertaining. Harriet “Hal” Westaway is a tarot card reader who is broke and owes money. When she receives a letter telling her that she has inherited something from her grandmother, she is desperate enough to attend the funeral, even though she doesn’t have a grandmother, in the hope that she can get some money and get out. The plot is very intricate and involved, with people and names that cause much confusion. I didn’t really like Hal very much, and thought she made too many “convenient” mistakes to progress the plot. I do enjoy this author, but this one is down on the list.
GratefulGrandma 26 days ago
Harriet, aka Hal Westaway is still reeling from the death of her mother three months earlier in a hit and run. She has given up on college and is now working on the pier as a tarot card reader. She gets a letter from a lawyer informing her that her grandmother has died and she is in the will. She assumes this can't be right and is ready to ignore the letter until she starts being threatened. Earlier she borrowed some money from a loan shark who is now threatening bodily harm. Not only does a quick inheritance sound good to her, but getting away from the loan shark sends her off to Trepassen house. The house is dark, brooding and falling apart, a perfect setting for a gothic thriller. There are lots of characters who are quite well developed. There are aunts, uncles, cousins and a housekeeper, Mrs. Warren. She is cranky, a bit scary and seems to be lurking around corners. She seems to know all the house's and family secrets but is she willing to share them? I liked Hal. She was trying to do what was right, but with the threats to her life, she thinks a few thousand pounds will come in handy. What she was not expecting was to inherit Trepassen House. As the story unfolds the reader learns there are many secrets. Some of the family are willing to help Hal, others seem to be standing in her way. This is one of those stories that I thought I had figured out, but oh how wrong I was. I was right on in some areas, but the final ending was amazing. As one reviewer said, The Death of Mrs. Westaway is not action packed, but it is thoughtfully creepy and has so many twists in store for you. I definitely recommend this one!
Anonymous 3 months ago
it starts pretty slow, but turns out to be a good book!! I would recommend!
Anonymous 3 months ago
Very good storyline
Anonymous 4 months ago
Couldn't put it down !
Anonymous 10 months ago
Couldn't put it down! Incredible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harriet (Hal) Westaway lives in a tiny flat in Brighton. She works in a little kiosk on the beach reading tarot cards for customers while barely earning enough money to keep herself. Her mother had been the one reading the cards until a year ago when she was hit and killed crossing the street. Hal has been devastated at the loss of her mother as it has always just been the two of them. Her mother would never tell Hal the name of her father saying he was just a one night stand and she has no idea where he is. One day, Hal receives a letter from a solicitor saying that her grandmother, Mrs. Hestor Westaway of Trepassen House, has recently passed way leaving a large estate and Hal is a beneficiary. The solicitor has asked her to attend the woman’s funeral and hear the reading of the will. She is shocked to learn this because she thought her grandparents had been gone for 20 years or more. Since Hal has a vicious money lender snapping at her heels, she decides to attend the funeral even though she feels she is not Mrs. Westaway’s granddaughter. After the funeral, she returns to Trepassen House with her uncles to hear the reading of the will. She is shocked to find that after a stipend to the housekeeper and payment of the death duties, Hal is the sole heir. Staying at the unheated and bleak Trepassen House for a few days with her uncles and the bitter old housekeeper, she tries to get to know them and learn more about her past if, indeed, she truly is the daughter of Mrs. Westaway’s long missing daughter. I have been waiting for quite awhile to get a copy of this book from my library as I had been turned down to read an advanced review copy by the publisher at NetGalley since I do not have a blog. I eagerly opened the book and kept reading and reading waiting for something spectacular to happen. What a disappointment. I was hoping for a really good thriller but, instead, found a rather dark mystery. The setting is a cold place which adds to the mystery, but the characters didn’t have much punch to them. They were dull and uninteresting to me. Hal didn’t come across as heroine material either. All in all, this book is somewhat of a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it in about 7 hours. Ruth is one of my new favorite authors. This one kept me guessing right up till the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very exciting story. A must read. Have bought it on audio for a blind friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book. I kept reading to find the next twist. Entertaining!