The Dark Side: A Novel

The Dark Side: A Novel

by Danielle Steel

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dark Side: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I have read true crime books about this subject and find it fascinating and scary. This was a book I could not put down as are all the books I have read by Danielle Steel but I feel this one was truly on the dark side. Loved it.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I have read every book that Danielle Steel wrote and look forward to reading more. Lately the characters and story line develop nicely,but the end doesn't reflect that. It just stops. Perhaps a sequel would help.
Anonymous 5 months ago
A moving story , hard to shake but bringing the point across ....if anyone thinks they are dealing with a situation such as MBP please seek help for the sake of your loved one before it's to late
Anonymous 6 months ago
It was a book that I could not put down. It started out on a sad note where a little girl has a sister who has leukemia. How this affects the little girl in her future is anyone's guess. A must read novel that is darker than most Steel novels.
Anonymous 6 months ago
She never disappoints
Anonymous 11 days ago
Better plot development and better characters
lsmoore_43 13 days ago
I’ve read and loved so many of Danielle Steel’s books and this one was maybe my favorite. It held me captive throughout and I didn’t want it to end. Other than knowing exactly how it would end that is. Her writing style has always intrigued me and this one did not at all let me down. It’s different from most of her books and like I said possibly one of my new favorites. The things that happen in this book will keep you turning pages until the very end. It was fantastic. I can’t rave enough about it. I loved it from start to finish and won’t give not one thing away. It’s a book I highly recommend if you like Steel’s work or even if you have never read any. This one is definitely one to read. Thank you #NetGalley, #RamdomHouseBallentine A huge 5 stars from me. I highly highly recommend this book. A real page turner.
Anonymous 15 days ago
Good
Anonymous 24 days ago
I really liked this book.
LulusReviews 3 months ago
Reading a Danielle Steel novel is like wearing your favorite pair of fuzzy socks - exactly what is expected and comforting. #TheDarkSide was a quick read, following Zoe's personal relationships and focusing on the one with her only daughter Jaime. I realized how the book would end early on, but still could not put it down. It was a light but emotional fast-paced roller coaster - exactly what I expect from a Danielle Steel novel. I couldn't click through the pages quickly enough! Thanks to #Netgalley for the opportunity to preview The Dark Side by @DanielleSteel - I really enjoyed it!
Anonymous 3 months ago
Ms. Steel u have put a light on this terrible disease. Your research is always so thorough. Thanks gor educating your readers. I look forward to reading your books.
Anonymous 4 months ago
I really loved this book, there were some extremely difficult to read parts for anyone who is a parent but all in all it is definitely a great book, Danielle does it again.
Anonymous 4 months ago
This book was difficult to read because of the subject matter, I have read all of Ms Steel's books and this is an absolute departure from her usual writing, I read it all and was satisfied with the ending but it was painful; readers be prepared!
rlhendrick 5 months ago
This is a difficult book to read. It deals with the pain and suffering of children. . Zoe Morgan is a new mother and is having a hard time adjusting. She had a very difficult childhood seeing her younger sister die from leukemia. Her family fell apart after the death and it made a huge impact on her life as an adult. As she settles into motherhood, her small child begins to have accidents and health concerns. Everyone thinks that Zoe is the greatest, most attentive mother because she has to deal with a clumsy, sick child. Things aren't always what they seem. People around her finally start to see a pattern to the illnesses and accidents of the child but how will they ever prove that there is more to the injuries than just a rambunctious 2 year old. This was a fast read but I never really got invested in any of the characters. The main character is understandably unlikable, but the other characters seemed to be aggravatingly naive. It's a different type of story than I'm used to from Danielle Steel. Thank you netgalley for the ARC of this book for my opinion.
Denice_L 5 months ago
This is not your typical Danielle Steel book, if it can be said that she has a typical. The Dark Side takes us on a trip through the story of a family wounded by the illness and death of a child. As is the case too often, the family unit does not survive the child's death. The surviving child shows no visible scars, but they are there. As she moves through life, she works hard to excel and reaches her goals while still hiding her pain. Her marriage and family seem perfect, maybe too perfect. The Dark Side is of course about the effects a childhood illness has on everyone around them. How the world will see and ultimately heal this family is a very good story. Danielle Steel may not write this type of "dark" tale everyday but she definitely is one of the best story tellers around.
MarionMS 6 months ago
This is not your typical Danielle Steel romance but instead more of a psychological thriller and one that I had a hard time putting down. The Dark Side is the story of Zoe Morgan and the things that happened in her past to shape her into the person that she is now. Zoe lost her sister at a young age which caused her to have a somewhat different childhood than the norm. Now she is a wife, mother, and a friend to those around her. She finally has the life that she has always wanted. This book is a real page-turner that I did not want to end. This book is well written, and the characters are very well developed. It gives you a window into a world that you may not have even considered. Thank you to Danielle Steel, NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to review this book.
KelsieAL 6 months ago
The Dark Side is a tale of psychological suspense by Danielle Steel. Steel is the author of many bestsellers but this novel is different from your standard fare. Zoe Morgan has a difficult childhood because her younger sister, Rose, is diagnosed with leukemia and dies when Zoe is ten years old. Zoe’s mother spends all her time with the seriously ill Rose and then retreats into deep despondency after Rose’s death, leaving Zoe very isolated. Zoe’s father remarries and has two more children but isn’t involved in Zoe’s life. Zoe eventually attends medical school but withdraws to work at a nonprofit for abused children. Austin Roberts is a well-known child advocacy attorney who takes pro bono cases for children and is member of the board of the nonprofit. Austin comes from a completely different family background. He’s from a close family and enjoys spending time with them. He loves his brothers, and their wives and children. Zoe and Austin marry and conceive their daughter, Jaime, through in vitro fertilization. They’re both over the moon happy, but Zoe has some unusual parenting ideas. She’s totally against schedules for babies and insists she will nurse on demand for at least the first year. Also, she believes that children should be given the freedom to make choices about things that may be harmful to them. Austin is taken aback, but he’s a first-time parent as well so he goes along with Zoe’s plan. From the beginning parenthood proves difficult. Zoe has problems breastfeeding. They overcome that issue but it’s only the beginning of a litany of issues for little Jaime. Austin’s mother comes to him with her concerns, and he is no longer able to ignore his own suspicions. He’s now faced with possibly one of the most difficult things a parent ever has to do. He’s looking directly into the dark side. Though this novel has a different tone than the average Danielle Steel novel, it is still just as well-written. The actual subject matter is well camouflaged until the author is ready to reveal it. I was fully captivated. The characters are relatable and believable, but not all likable. I rate The Dark Side 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to all readers who enjoy fiction with a bit of suspense. My thanks to Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book. However, the opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine and mine alone.
Teri1957 6 months ago
I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This was definitely a different book for Danielle; her stories don't usually get this "dark". Very well written story written about a subject that is grossly overlooked in our society. Characters and prose well thought out and very well written. I would highly recommend this book even if you're not a Danielle Steel fan. Enjoy!
Momma_Becky 6 months ago
It's been quite awhile since I've read a book by Danielle Steel, but The Dark Side is different than what I've seen in the past. The story starts a little slow. Incredibly sad, but slow, and I'll admit that I was confused about where this one was going. That said, once Zoe marries and has a child, I started to get it. From there things get a bit darker with each incident, and the tension slowly rises. The story is disturbing and at times downright chilling. It's also a thoroughly compelling read, and once it starts to really take shape, I had a hard time putting it down. Looking back on it, that earlier part of the book may have moved slowly, but it offers some insight into why Zoe acted the way she did. It doesn't excuse it by any means, but it does help with understanding what started Zoe's spiral. Steel's detached writing style may cause a lack of connection for some, but it worked for me. This one hits on a hard topic to understand and for me, it all came together to create a story I won't soon forget.
Jackiebkworm 6 months ago
This is Danielle Steele at her best. She likes to write books where kids are the victims. Zoe’s family falls apart after her little sister passes away. She basically raises herself. She does well in school and doesn’t get into any trouble. For someone who doesn’t have parental guidance she foes really well. She meets Austin and falls in love. They have a baby girl and it all seems like the perfect family from the outside looking in. But looks can be deceiving. For someone who lived without anyone showing love for her, Zoe seems perfect. But she has a lot of fears and a very serious problem lurks beneath it all. I felt bad for Jamie, she seemed to be very accidental prone but it was always when she was with one person. Austin’s mother starts to suspect things from everything she’s heard. Zoe and Austin are really good friends with Jamie’s pediatrician so it’s easy to run things by her. Jamie has so many accidents they know her and her parent by name. I highly recommend this book. It’s very interesting.
KrisAnderson_TAR 6 months ago
The Dark Side is darker than Danielle Steel’s other novels, but it still contains her unique and engaging writing style. The Dark Side is a fascinating story that quickly pulled me in and had me staying up late to finish it. The book is well-written with a good flow and steady pacing. I like that the story is written in the third person. Zoe Morgan is a developed character, though, not likeable. Her childhood shapes her whole life. Zoe becomes an overachiever determined to excel at everything she does and that includes motherhood. I like how the story gradually evolves as you move through the book. The Dark Side deals with a topic that is rarely addressed and is very hard to prove (I do not want to say too much and spoil it for you). It is an emotional story that will touch the heart of parents. The Dark Side is a psychological suspense that will linger in your mind long after you finish it.
DebbieLTD 6 months ago
Wow! This was a great suspenseful thriller with a plot so well developed as only Danielle Steel can. The book starts with Zoe as a child. She had a happy childhood at first and adored her little sister, Rose, who looked up to Zoe,. Sadly, Rose developed Leukemia and died, devastating Zoe's family and eventually breaking it up. As an adult Zoe has worked hard to put the past behind her and make a life for herself. She meets and marries Dan, and together they have a beautiful daughter, Jaime. Zoe appears to be a neurotic mother, always reading new ways to parents, new approaches to discipline, and questioning doctors endlessly. As Jaime gets a little older, it becomes apparent that things may not be as they seem. Jaime has had more accidents and injuries than most three year olds, and they always seem to happen when Zoe is with her. Is Zoe so haunted by her past childhood that she is unable to be the mother Zoe needs? This suspenseful psychological thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat in a race against time that has everyone holding their breath! I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
MKF 6 months ago
A very different Danielle Steel. It's serious, not a romance, and it's about very difficult issues. Zoe's whole life has been impacted by the tragedy of her sister Rose, who died from a rare form of leukemia when Zoe was a child. She became the best girl in the world - the best student, etc. And then she decided to do something she wanted to do- work for a nonprofit for abused kids. She also meets and marries, and, after fertility issues, gives birth to Jaime. Sadly, though, Jaime keeps getting sick and having accidents. The family physician doesn't think it's odd, at first, but her husband does. What's wrong with Jaime? Or is it really what's wrong with Zoe? Munchausen by Proxy is a terrible thing. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC. A good read that skims the surface of the issues.
RMIsmu 6 months ago
A big thank you to NetGalley and Random House/Ballantine for the ARC. I am voluntarily reviewing this book. I have not read a book by Ms. Steel in a long time, so I was quite shocked at how dark this book became. I am not sure if this is something different for her or not. I found this to be a very deep, complex story about abuse in multiple forms. I found it heartbreaking and painful to read. This is not a light romance so be warned. I think this is a thought provoking story that will impact a lot of readers. I give it a 4. I personally didn't really like it but it is well written and an important topic. I just was surprised.
Doreena Silva 6 months ago
Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for the opportunity to read this ARC in exchange for an honest review. Hmmm while I am a huge Danielle Steel fan and read all her books, I found this book to be very interesting and chilling at the same time. I didn't really know what Munchausen by proxy is but I sure do now. I really tried to like or even feel sorry for the protagonist but couldn't. It was a quick read as I read in 2 days.