The Christmas Sisters

The Christmas Sisters

by Sarah Morgan

Hardcover(Original)

$24.29 $26.99 Save 10% Current price is $24.29, Original price is $26.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Christmas Sisters 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
GraceJReviewerlady More than 1 year ago
I love a good Christmas read; especially those that leave me with that warm and cosy feeling and The Christmas Sisters ticks all the boxes! Suzanne McBride and her husband Stuart live in Scotland with their youngest daughter, Posy, nearby. Posy's two sisters, however, live in the US and each year Suzanne goes all out to create the perfect Christmas, hoping the whole family will head home and finally all the underlying currents will disappear and they will enjoy the family festivities as one. With everyone following their own path, is that even possible? This one has a bit of everything .. love, history, family pressures, danger, excitement and - as with every great Christmas tale - snow! A packed story from beginning to end, with lots of revelations and typical family feelings coming to the fore which all adds up to a wonderful winter read which has left me full of festive spirit and really looking forward to the Christmas season. One to add to your December reading list without a doubt! My thanks to publisher Harper Collins for my copy via NetGalley. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just loved this book, the story was great and the author wrote such great details about the characters and why each sister was so different and the reasons for their behaviors.
Valerian70 More than 1 year ago
The title really sums the book up - it's about 3 sisters and how they spend one Christmas. One Christmas coming to terms with a tragic accident 25 years ago and trying to regain their closeness as a family unit. Unfortunately, the characters of the sisters are, how to put this tactfully, rather stereotypical. We have Beth who is the stay at home mum to 2 daughters who is desperate to reclaim an adult life for herself outside the home; Hannah who is the career woman and pushes everyone away from her and Posy who is the tomboy following in her parents footsteps who wants to leave home for adventure but is afraid of upsetting the family. To be perfectly honest I never really felt any connection to the characters on the page at all. Even Suzannah, the family matriarch, is fairly flat as a person - her whole reason for living seems to be to provide for her girls and little is made of her entrepeneurship. The story itself is quite good - the tension between the various family members is well described and the mystery of the avalanche is drawn out over most of the book with the reader only finding out the real circumstances behind it roughly 3/4 of the way through. By that point though I was reading to finish rather than reading to find out what happened. Even worse Patrick is regularly mentioned and described as the rock of the family but he hardly makes an appearance in the book at all as an actual person - we hear far more from the lodger Luke, Beth's husband and Hannah's boyfriend than we do from him. I also struggled with how saintly Suzannah and Patrick were portrayed in the book, it really was cloying in places. The village set scenes were probably the best thing about the book. The claustrophobia of small communities was apparent throughout and yet it is a strangely welcome claustrophobia where everyone is supportive whilst sticking their noses in. Not too sure about the Craft Cafe though, it did have more than a touch of my bete noir in novels the strangely overly successful small business in an unlikely location. I'm not sure why I struggled to connect with this book so much - maybe it is because I am an Only Child so the family dynamics exposed here are beyond my ken. The writing itself is accomplished and I can understand the attraction for readers in the author's books, it just didn't do "it" for me. So much so I did wonder if I was reading the same book that others have reviewed so glowingly.
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: If her sister had been a laptop, Posy would have run antivirus software because there were times when she was convinced Hannah had been taken over by malware. If parenting was a meal then Jason came straight in at dessert, bypassing all other courses including vegetables. She smiled. “I’m so glad I married you.” “Of course you are. I’m irresistible. You couldn’t resist my practiced seduction.” Stewart swaggered across the room, ruining the effect by tripping over one of her slippers. She rolled her eyes. “You have a terrible memory. I was the one who seduced you.” “Not true.” “You were moving too slowly for me, Stewart McBride.” “That’s not how I remember it. I was like a rampant stallion.” I have a trick I use whenever I’m scared…I pretend I’m in a movie… Whatever movie fits the scenario. It’s easier to pretend I’m playing a character, than it is to be me. My Review: I have sighed with contentment after reading every Sarah Morgan book I have ever picked up. While her cleverly complicated characters are not always easy to appreciate when initially introduced, over the course of their story they have all managed to magically tunnel their way into my cold heart. It is a specific type of Morgan magic as her word voodoo is strong. This fractious and captivating family has packed with complex personalities with deep-seated issues, and they fascinated me. The writing was engaging and well-paced with generous sprinklings of smirk-worthy wit and clever levity as well as a vibrancy that conjures sharp and vivid scenes in my head as I read. I adore Sarah Morgan in any season. Ms. Morgan is also a frequent contributor to my Brit Word List with the new entries of clag (which seems to have several meanings according to Mr. Google which includes sticky as in mud; a clog or clot; and a low cloud, fog, or smog) and snug (a small comfortable room).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very enjoyable & heartwarming story! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good relationship story
PinkStar More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were all relatable. I had a hard time putting it down and wasn't ready for the story to end! Well written.
Thebooktrail-com More than 1 year ago
ah the small community of Glensay in the wintry Scottish Highlands. It seems like the perfect place to spend Christmas doesn't it? Well there's not much festive going on in this family as 25 years ago, a tragedy occurred which is never really talked about. But Christmas reunions have a way of bringing things out into the open... With people returning from New York and all over , this small Scottish town is about to be invaded! One snowball of a secret...and we all know what happens with snowballs! Each member of the family has something to share, they have all been deeply scared by past events and it's that unravelling of secrets which makes this book so interesting. A bit like a real family Christmas for some I would imagine! So, if you think your family Christmas is chaos, this book will make you feel better ;) Lots of Christmas feel to this, a gorgeous location and plenty of snow. Family dramas, past secrets and plenty of characters with opposing personalities. A Morgan Christmas treat!
onemused More than 1 year ago
"The Christmas Sisters" is an absolutely lovely Christmas read that follows the three McBride sisters over the holiday. The book is told from four points-of-view- that of each of the sisters and their adopted mother. Suzanne, their mother, is in a tizzy preparing for what she hopes will be the perfect Christmas. Although her husband Stewart is there to reassure her they don't need all the trappings, Suzanne believes otherwise, especially since Hannah didn't come home for the holidays the previous year. Hannah, the oldest, has adopted a persona that is all about work and efficiency. Her life may seem cold and lonely, but she loves her job, her assistant, and her at-work romance, Adam (even if she isn't ready to admit it to herself). She feels obligated to head home over the holidays, despite the time of year and the memories that dredges up. However, when her worries grow and she is scared about her future, home is the first place she wants to go, heading to Scottland early. Beth is a stay-at-home mother of two girls. However, she has been feeling like she wants more for herself and is thinking about going back to work. When an opportunity presents itself, she is unsure of how her husband will react. As he seems to believe being a stay-at-home parent is all relaxing and eating bon-bons, Beth decides at the last minute to let him try it out while she heads home for Christmas a little early. Posy is the one who has never left home and still works with Suzanne and Stewart at the cafe they own. Everyone assumes Posy will take over one day, but she has bigger dreams that their little town can contain. Considering the writer that is staying in their rental is tall, dark, and handsome, Posy may have a little romance of her own cooking. When all three sisters are home for Christmas, there is drama, joy, sorrow, and so much love. I adored getting this peek into their lives and the healing that comes from letting out a lifetime of things kept back. Added onto that, there's also some passionate romances (no more than kisses make it onto the page, other things implied), and this book made me feel all the feelings. I loved the whole thing! Considering the setting was heavily around Christmas (frequent mentions and events/activities), this was a wonderful holiday read. Grab your cocoa, a blanket, and get ready to enjoy this lovely romance with a heavy dose of family/sisterly love! Please note that I received a copy from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
shobeteener More than 1 year ago
I love Christmas books and I consider Sarah Morgan's an absolute must! The story being told from the 3 sister's points of view and their adopted Mom, Suzanne (who was their mom's best friend) was an amazing way of telling their story. We get all their points of view, their thoughts, their feelings, their hopes, their struggles. I felt we really got to know each of the characters in depth. Due to twists and turns of life the sisters have drifted apart and now they are gathered again for the holiday and are struggling through their past to regain their future and reconnect. I really love the intrigue that is in this book. I just couldn't put it down.
Susan250 More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure about this book at first as when the sisters were introduced they seemed almost stereotypical.... workaholic Hannah, stay at home mother Beth, and Posy, who really had stayed at home with their adoptive parents. However, as the narrative continued, my feelings changed. It became obvious that all three sisters (and their adoptive mother, Suzanne) were still influenced by the tragedy that had killed their parents 25 years earlier...and that all of them had secrets. The sisters came to life, truths were told, arguments erupted, memories swamped them, and they finally rediscovered their sisterly bond. The storyline kept me reading...it wasn't fast paced but it didn't need to be. It was emotional, heartbreaking at times, and yet there was humour, along with the anger. There are some moments that had me cheering for all three, but especially Beth...and no, I'm not going to say what they were...read the book and you'll recognise them! The male characters were also realistic, and were perfect foils for the sisters. And the Scottish Highlands deserve a special mention. They were almost magical in the author's descriptions. This is a wonderful Christmas read. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book via Netgalley.
Claire140 More than 1 year ago
Sarah Morgan is one of my favourite authors and she has moved from the lighter chick-lit to more contemporary women's fiction in her last two books, with much more depth to the stories, and in my opinion is just going from strength to strength as this was another wonderful book about family dynamics. The three sisters are Hannah, Beth and Posy. Hannah is a high-flyer living in Manhattan, very clever, very controlled and seems quite cold, never letting emotions rule her. Beth is a stay at home mum to two young children, also living in Manhattan, who is feeling a bit overwhelmed with motherhood being her whole life. Posy is a mountain guide and lives near her parents in Scotland. All sisters end up in Scotland for Christmas with their parents, Suzanne and Stewart, who are actually their adoptive parents as the sisters parents died in an avalanche when they were young and as Suzanne & Stewart were friends of their parents they took in the girls to raise as their own, moving them from the US to Scotland to be nearer Stewart's family. There are various dramas going on with the sisters, all initially stemming from losing their parents at such a young age, and they all grew up with various hang-ups, well apart from Posy really, she seemed the most grounded of the lot of them and probably my favourite. But this Christmas things came to a head in a variety of ways and the sisters actually start talking properly to one another again about more emotional subjects that they'd been avoiding for years. Suzanne and Stewart were great parents too, such a stabilising influence, always there when needed. This was a really engrossing story set around Christmas in the Scottish Highlands. So whilst not a fluffy Christmas story there was plenty of snow and Christmas-feeling throughout, with deeper feelings finally getting sorted out for everyone - with a lovely ending - I do love a happy ending! Loved it!
SaraOxo More than 1 year ago
The Christmas Sisters by Sarah Morgan a four-star read you will want to open. This author gives us good heart-warming stories that make you want to snuggle in comfy chair with a cup of hot chocolate and this book to while away a cold wintery afternoon. It gives you that feeling while reading it even when you can’t be in those circumstances. This was a tale of family and coming together and anyone with a family with even the slightest drama will know that Christmas is a hard time to be together and this author shows us that, but she also shows us hope and shows us how sisters pull together in the best way possible. These sisters are such compelling characters, they all have differences and are amazing in their own rights, the way they have been written make you adore them and need to read each page quicker than the last.
Lesley Walsh More than 1 year ago
Another Engaging Story by Sarah Morgan. Set in the snowy Scottish Highlands this Christmas story is told from the viewpoint of four women. Due to a tragedy twenty five years ago, Christmas has always been a holiday overshadowed by what happened and the need by their adoptive mother to make things perfect at this time of year often leads to stress and tension. The three sisters have vastly different personalities and have drifted apart emotionally, each think that the other’s have perfect, put-together lives. Crises in Beth and Hannah’s lives bring them home early for Christmas and gradually their insecurities are exposed and they open up to each other and find a way to be close again. The story flows well and the characters are interesting and I felt invested in their lives. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
BooksAndSpoons More than 1 year ago
A touching story about family and parenting, sisters, drama and tragedy in love and life during one special Christmas time that shakes up the relationships in the family and leads them all to a new path in life. I absolutely adore the way Sarah Morgan tells a story; there are deep emotions and angst but not so much that it overshadows the story hope and love. There are conflicts, passion, humor, warmth, sweetness, and everything else that are part of the relationships and life, yet when I get to the end, there is this balanced, wholesome, complete feeling of happiness and satisfaction towards the tale and its events, that it fills the heart with bliss, every single time. The Christmas Sisters is a story of a family that was formed by a tragedy but stayed together because of love, loyalty, and commitment. All the three sisters and their adoptive mother get their chance to tell their point of view into the events of this particular Christmas and the one 25 years ago, that changed their lives so drastically. Each of the four leading ladies have their points of weaknesses and issues they have to face, relationships their have to repair, and moments of learning and growing they have to embrace while spending the Christmas together with their loved ones. Each of those four leading ladies also has their romantic relationships to deal with, to grow in, and fall for, or to take the leap of faith to the next level of the bond in between them and their mates. I loved the sisters, how truly different they were, and yet so similar in their pursuit of life and love. They are strong women, each talented in their own way, the tragic accident shaping them up in different ways to be the women they are today. I loved the bond between them, how they might not agree upon much at first, yet still willing to stand for each other when the need arises. The Christmas Sisters is a profound story about love; maternal love, love between sisters, love in a family, and the romantic kind of love that swipe you off your feet. It is a heartfelt tale of the bond only sisters can feel between them, an ardent tale of romantic love between four different kinds of couples. And it is a story about a Christmas miracle that saves a little girls faith in the all that magic that only the season can bring into our lives. Another home run from Sarah Morgan, a story that I savored, felt part of while I was reading it, and will want to revisit again. An absolutely marvelous story that will stay in my mind and heart for a long time to come ~ Five Spoons
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Three sisters return to Scotland for the holidays and each is dealing with a bit of drama in each of their lives. Hannah, Beth and Posy were adopted by Suzanne and Stewart when a tragedy befell their parents. They have been raised by Suzanne and Stewart their whole lives, but each has dealt with the loss of their parents in a different way.
jojosmodernlife More than 1 year ago
I know what you might be thinking, dear reader. It's far too early to be reading a Christmas book. And I would be inclined to agree with you-it's not even Halloween yet! However, the temptation to read another Sarah Morgan romance novel outweighed the holiday timing principles. Make no mistake: I will be reading this again during the holiday season. It was that charming and magical. This is a story mostly about three sisters: Posy, Hannah, and Beth. These three sisters each have very tricky relationships with each other, with their adopted parents, and with their respective significant others. Each one is also trying to overcome their own significant hurdle in their lives but all things come back to the one fateful night that their parents died in an avalanche years ago just a days before Christmas. That night has not only impacted their lives, but also the lives of those who would come to know and love them afterwards. How can they move forward 25 years later when that night comes back to haunt them every Christmas? Sarah Morgan is easily my favorite author. Every book she writes has characters that are authentic, complex, and hard-working. In this book, each sister handled the traumatic experience of their parents' death differently. Yet each sister needed to rely on the other in order to overcome it many years later. Each sister had their own mountain to climb but learning to work together rather than only relying on their own self made it easier to face. I seem to have a problem choosing my favorite character in each book Sarah Morgan writes. In this book, I choose Stewart. Stewart and Suzanne took in the three orphaned sisters and raised them as their own. Stewart is the calm yet adventurous, quiet yet funny, father figure that we honestly could all use. I found him to be incredibly endearing and entertaining. I would recommend this book for all adult readers, regardless of the time of year, as it pulls you into the Scottish Highlands and takes you to new heights. I would also note that there is a big surprise about 70% into the book that changes everything. On the other hand, I would not recommend this book for readers who do not enjoy or may be triggered by parental death, grief, mild foul language, or sexually suggestive scenarios. Please note: an Advanced Reader Copy of this book was generously provided for free by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
bookfan-mary More than 1 year ago
Three sisters, adopted at a young age when their parents perished in a climbing accident, reunite to celebrate Christmas in the Scottish Highlands – and no one is more excited than their parents, Suzanne and Stewart. Hannah hasn’t been around for a family Christmas in a few years. Her fast-paced job has kept her occupied. That’s still the case but she also has a secret. Beth is mother to two young children. She wants to return to work and try to recapture some of the person she’d been before kids. Her husband is less than thrilled with the idea. Posy, the sister who stayed in Scotland to work in the family business, has met someone who makes her yearn for a bigger life – one that would take her away from home. As the three sisters work through their challenges will their parents get the family Christmas they hoped for? I enjoyed finding out and recommend to fans of Sarah Morgan and women’s fiction. Who can resist a Scottish setting at Christmas time? Not this reader!
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
I loved this one! Ms. Morgan has assembled one heck of a cast for this one--the three "Christmas" sisters: Hannah, Beth, and Posy; their three (actual and/or possible) significant others: Adam, Jason, and Luke; the sisters' parents, Suzanne and Stewart; Beth and Jason's girls, Melly and Ruby--together they all combined into a wonderful story that left me smiling and thinking cozy, Christmas-y thoughts about my own family :) Ms. Morgan skillfully weaved all of their stories together, bringing everything to a heartwarming conclusion. At times I was almost as despairing as Suzanne--would a lack of communication and understanding keep the girls at arm's length from each other forever? Even as I shook my head at them, seeing things from each woman's POV (Suzanne, Hannah, Beth, and Posy's) really helped make both their conflicts and the resolutions realistic and satisfying. Though Christmas is the vehicle that brings the three sisters home to Scotland, the focus is really on relationships and healing rather than the holiday itself. Even though it ends on Christmas day, it's definitely going to be the characters and the feelings they evoke that I'll remember, not the snowstorm and fairy lights. I dare you to not find something in this story to identify with--honestly, between the parent/child relationships, the sibling relationships, and the significant other relationships, this story has something for everyone. I can't wait to see what Ms. Morgan has in store for us next! Rating: 4 1/2 stars / A I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
I loved this one! Ms. Morgan has assembled one heck of a cast for this one--the three "Christmas" sisters: Hannah, Beth, and Posy; their three (actual and/or possible) significant others: Adam, Jason, and Luke; the sisters' parents, Suzanne and Stewart; Beth and Jason's girls, Melly and Ruby--together they all combined into a wonderful story that left me smiling and thinking cozy, Christmas-y thoughts about my own family :) Ms. Morgan skillfully weaved all of their stories together, bringing everything to a heartwarming conclusion. At times I was almost as despairing as Suzanne--would a lack of communication and understanding keep the girls at arm's length from each other forever? Even as I shook my head at them, seeing things from each woman's POV (Suzanne, Hannah, Beth, and Posy's) really helped make both their conflicts and the resolutions realistic and satisfying. Though Christmas is the vehicle that brings the three sisters home to Scotland, the focus is really on relationships and healing rather than the holiday itself. Even though it ends on Christmas day, it's definitely going to be the characters and the feelings they evoke that I'll remember, not the snowstorm and fairy lights. I dare you to not find something in this story to identify with--honestly, between the parent/child relationships, the sibling relationships, and the significant other relationships, this story has something for everyone. I can't wait to see what Ms. Morgan has in store for us next! Rating: 4 1/2 stars / A I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a modern xmas story that l enjoy
Lynn53 More than 1 year ago
A Book You Can Read Any Time Of Year. Suzanne McBride is a true mother – she worries about her children. Bethany “Beth” seems to be a woman who is trying to find her purpose. You can almost feel the stress coming off the page. She’s also a little frustrated with one of her siblings. Hannah seems to be a very important part as to where this story is headed. She makes me think of someone who doesn’t know how to be anything but standoffish. It was interesting to see how she explained to the reader about her personality. When you see a holiday listed in the title, you start the book off with certain expectations. You can’t do that here. For me, this story starts off so sad. There are some people that just aren’t happy around the holidays. Posey had me thinking that maybe there’s hope. She seems to do something that she enjoys. I liked how all the McBride women are main characters. This way I don’t have to choose a favorite. I also got my sister fix so I grew up in a house of brothers. I had to take my assumptions and put them away. I didn’t want to go in looking for our family to fall apart – there has to be that part where family love wins out. It’s not a story where I wanted to listen to Christmas music as I was reading. And that’s a good thing because that just means that I could read Ms. Morgan’s book any time of year. On the other side, I don’t want to be thinking snow just yet. I would prefer to ease into it but I know that I don’t have any say in that. Although I must say that I had the urge to pack my bags, book included, and take a trip to Scotland. It would also be interesting to experience how they would celebrate the holidays. This was my first experience with this author and I look forward to more – especially if it has me wanting to go and experience some of what her characters did. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.
PrincessThuy1 More than 1 year ago
Ah these women. Wow. The issues they had to work through, the relationships they restored. What a journey. I love a good family relationship story, especially set during the holidays? Makes me believe in the miracle of the season. And of course there's some romance too. But oh the emotions. Definitely have your tissue ready. I totally needed it. This story just made my heart feel so good.
blonde_betty More than 1 year ago
I was hooked on The Christmas Sisters by Sarah Morgah from page one. While the chapter separations and each being told by a different woman threw me at first, Morgan’s distinct voice for each drew me in quickly; after about the forth chapter I didn’t even need the headings to know who was speaking. There was something I could relate to about each character and I loved the opportunity to be a part of this family, even for a little while. Morgan throws in a few curveballs to keep things interesting, but overall this delightful holiday read will warm your heart. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this novel.
PennieM More than 1 year ago
I am ready to start decorating for Christmas now! Suzanne adopted three girls after their parents were killed in a tragic accident and we are get to hear from each of them, Beth, Hannah, and Posy, and learn how they have learned to cope through the years from their loss. This book was so good I couldn't put it down and found myself carrying it from room to room. I'm not going to tell you anything about it except that because this is just another great one from this author and brings family together and you cannot miss it. Definitely gets high marks from me and high recommendations! This is set in the Highlands of Scotland and the descriptions had me homesick for my ancestors! **Received this for review**