The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set

The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set

by Garth Nix

Paperback(SLIPCASE)

$26.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Abhorsen Trilogy Box Set 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Grandpa More than 1 year ago
This is a new Author for me, and I am impressed, the story line is fairly simple, straight forward us against the really bad guy,lacking the multiple sub plots that can sometimes be distracting. I like the original form of magic used here too. There is plenty of action and cliff hangers to keep you turning pages. I bought the box set trilogy and I am glad I did.
BigMike206 More than 1 year ago
I loved this series, Its a Refreshing change from the norm of this genre. The author managed to write a story that traps you within its pages and doesn't let go until its finished with you. In the first three days I read the entire first book and the next day I read a quater of the second. I would suggest this book to anyone looking to break away from the overdone Dungeons and Dragons type storyline.
CLAmullen More than 1 year ago
These books were wonderful, I read them in my preteen years and was amazed, this was one of my first book series that I was ever really into. It is an excellent read for teenagers, and great for book reports! I loved them!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Garth Nix has managed to weave engaging and unforgettable stories that take fantasy, a dilluted and done-to-death genre, and breathes new life into it. Vivid imagery and characterization abound in this breathtaking series that skillfully avoids every fantasy cliche. No evil dragons, magic wands and predictable plot revelations here, every aspect about these novels is unique and fresh. You don't even have to read fantasy to enjoy these books, and readers of any age will revel in these shining examples of what fantasy was meant to be.
bolgai on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The last time I read epic fantasy was in college when I stumbled upon a copy of the Lord of the Rings and figured that I might as well give it a try because the calculus textbook wasn¿t ever going to become even remotely interesting. Tolkien¿s heavyweight was definitely better than calculus and helped pass the time but it didn¿t thrill me (yes, I know, blasphemy) so when I realized that the Abhorsen Chronicles is also considered epic fantasy I proceeded with caution. The box set was already there though and there were girls on the covers so seduced by the promise of girl power I read on. This was a rather dark series set mainly in the first half of the 20th century on a continent reminiscent of Great Britain, which is split in two by a great ancient wall. On one side the world is modern with technology thriving and phenomena explained by science. On the other side the world is archaic because none of the new inventions will work there, magic is everywhere and even the calendar is different. I really enjoyed the parallels between the worlds in these books and the Europe of that time - it was an interesting take on the reasons behind the World Wars and the part the people who were at the helm played in the events. These parallels weren't immediately obvious but as the story progressed I felt they were undeniable. The first book, Sabriel, sets the stage for the events that take place in the second and third volumes and prepares the reader for all the magic, action and a bit of drama that unfolds as the great battle that holds life and death in the balance approaches. The pacing lagged a bit in some instances when some of the main characters had to grow up a bit before they could continue on their quest but the general feel of the series is not slow by any means. There are several plot lines and mysteries that arise and develop throughout the books and Nix skillfully drives them either to a logical conclusion or untangles the secrets in a very satisfying way that isn't forced or contrived. When I turned the last page of the last book I felt that everything was as it should be, which can be challenging with as many character and story arcs as we have here.Garth Nix does a great job of developing the characters in the trilogy. These books are as much about a quest and a battle as they are about growing up, learning about oneself, accepting who one is, owning it and becoming stronger for it. All the main characters start out in the story when they are teenagers and they all have challenges they must deal with, be that their past that haunts them, their perceived shortcomings or a destiny that feels completely wrong. I was very impressed with how their personal growth was woven into this mainly plot-driven story and how in the end every oddity became a perfect puzzle piece. This series was on the Goodreads Best Fantasy list and I thank those who included it and voted for it to push it up higher in the rankings. These books are some of the best I've read this year and if you enjoy fantasy I recommend that you check them out.
bookdoctor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Believable world, solid characters, and a very compelling story.
b_lizard on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
another fun fantasy series that's great for kids. the other series by garth nix don't look as fun. i wished there were more books in this series.
hibiscustea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hands down, one of the best YA Fantasy trilogies I've ever read. Individually the First book is my favorite, and I think, the strongest. The third book--for me--is the weakest of the bunch, leaving a great deal undone, but still head and shoulders above the majority of YA books being published right now. Absolutely worth reading and owning.
ZoiMontClaire More than 1 year ago
Though there are some pronunciation issues with names and cities and other places... I highly recommend this for the fantasy hunter that falls in love with the characters, and feels what they are going through and can in someway relate. Although according to Publishing News, Garth Nix was preparing to pitch a 'Sabriel' film to studios in mid-2008 via Steve Fisher at APA. Nix co-wrote the screenplay with Dan Futterman, actor and Oscar-nominated screenwriter of 'Capote', and Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner at Plan B Entertainment were to produce. The director would be Anand Tucker. Planning for the pitch was delayed by the writer's strike, and resumed the following February. While the current status of any film is unknown, Garth Nix is now represented by Matthew Snyder at CAA. Also for those that have read the book and loved them...This fall, September 2014 we will see the release of CLARIEL: The Lost Abhorsen.
LadyoftheRings More than 1 year ago
Interesting Trilogy This trilogy was definitely an interesting read...it has a lot of depth and danger to make you really feel the tension and the stakes at risk. However, I found myself not caring as much as I wanted to about the characters...something I think that had to do with where the second book picks up from. However, if you like epic fantasy with real life stakes then definitely check this series out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eliseo26 More than 1 year ago
I read this book as a kid, I have the original set I had as a kid but its in another state, Im in college and I need to find my niche back, I loved reading.
bolgai More than 1 year ago
The last time I read epic fantasy was in college when I stumbled upon a copy of the Lord of the Rings and figured that I might as well give it a try because the calculus textbook wasn¿t ever going to become even remotely interesting. Tolkien¿s heavyweight was definitely better than calculus and helped pass the time but it didn¿t thrill me (yes, I know, blasphemy) so when I realized that the Abhorsen Chronicles is also considered epic fantasy I proceeded with caution. The box set was already there though and there were girls on the covers so seduced by the promise of girl power I read on. This was a rather dark series set mainly in the first half of the 20th century on a continent reminiscent of Great Britain, which is split in two by a great ancient wall. On one side the world is modern with technology thriving and phenomena explained by science. On the other side the world is archaic because none of the new inventions will work there, magic is everywhere and even the calendar is different. I really enjoyed the parallels between the worlds in these books and the Europe of that time - it was an interesting take on the reasons behind the World Wars and the part the people who were at the helm played in the events. These parallels weren't immediately obvious but as the story progressed I felt they were undeniable. The first book, Sabriel, sets the stage for the events that take place in the second and third volumes and prepares the reader for all the magic, action and a bit of drama that unfolds as the great battle that holds life and death in the balance approaches. The pacing lagged a bit in some instances when some of the main characters had to grow up a bit before they could continue on their quest but the general feel of the series is not slow by any means. There are several plot lines and mysteries that arise and develop throughout the books and Nix skillfully drives them either to a logical conclusion or untangles the secrets in a very satisfying way that isn't forced or contrived. When I turned the last page of the last book I felt that everything was as it should be, which can be challenging with as many character and story arcs as we have here. Garth Nix does a great job of developing the characters in the trilogy. These books are as much about a quest and a battle as they are about growing up, learning about oneself, accepting who one is, owning it and becoming stronger for it. All the main characters start out in the story when they are teenagers and they all have challenges they must deal with, be that their past that haunts them, their perceived shortcomings or a destiny that feels completely wrong. I was very impressed with how their personal growth was woven into this mainly plot-driven story and how in the end every oddity became a perfect puzzle piece. This series was on the Goodreads Best Fantasy list and I thank those who included it and voted for it to push it up higher in the rankings. These books are some of the best I've read this year and if you enjoy fantasy I recommend that you check them out.
mogget More than 1 year ago
It's a rare book or series that has me coming back to read it more than once, but in the past 10 years I have read the Abhorsen trilogy several times over. I always pick up on some new thing I had missed the previous times I read, and I am always sad to say good bye to my friends at the end of the last book. I know this is written as young adult fantasy, but it is definitely interesting to those of us who don't fall into the "young adult" category anymore. The characters are well-rounded and the plot is well-written. I don't really like cats, but I think my favorite character might just be Mogget; although the Disreputable Dog is also a great character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago