The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Writings

The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Writings

by Edgar Allan Poe

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$5.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Writings 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great! It was so suspenceful! It had me sitting on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read scary books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it( from the stories i already read) i'm at "The Cask of Adimonlldo" ( i know i spelt that wrong) but you should like it too and if you don't im sorry for telling you to buy it YOU SHOULD BUY IT, TRUST ME!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EdgarAllanPoe is the master of darkness in novels and poetry with TheTell-Tale Heart.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is alot of suspence ' mad man' and an old man a death and the mind playing tricks a great horror story though you may want to read it again its a great work of art if you like this read more poems and stories by EDGAR ALLEN POE if you like love poems this is still him a poem written for his dear Cosin Virginia before she died of taberculous the poem is called 'Annabel Lee'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This title is truly suspenceful. The Pit and the Pendelum was freaky, the Facts of the Case of M. Valdemar was worse, and the Murders on the Rue Morgue was fascinating. This title is wonderful, but I would only reccommend it to those who enjoy that not-being-able-to-put-the-light-out-at-night feel. These stories are a fascinating read, and the formula for Mr.Poe's tale's is intriguing. I reccommend this book, but I really wouldn't advise the Facts of the Case of M. Valdemar amd the Man Who was Used Up. I almost could'nt stomach them. Other than that this was a great book.
tdmmm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is absolutely the best short horror story every written! Excellent for reading out loud. Poe excels in this story in setting the mood, building tension, and making the reader feel the beating of that tell tale heart.
LA12Hernandez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A small collection of stories and poems by Edgar Allen Poe.
amydross on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Poe is a troublesome writer, usually overblown and sometimes downright silly, but I can't help feeling some affection for him even as I roll my eyes at some of his story-telling techniques. There is much to be admired in Poe's insistence on radically subjective perspectives, his commitment to delving into the extremes of human psychology. And there's something quite modern about the way he thrusts you right into the meat of a story, wasting no time on backstory or exposition.
danconsiglio on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was my introduction to Edgar Allan Poe. I could not put it down when I was 10. "The Black Cat" and "The Pit and the Pendulum" messed me up for weeks. As I got older I started to enjoy his more complex mystery stories. "The Fall of the House of Usher" is unparalleled in its complexity. Poe really did perfect the art of the American short story. I know English teachers are paid to say things like that, but I'm not at work right now. This stuff is golden!
Voxc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Has an excellent twist, one of my favorite short stories.Still leaving me with questions, I continue to read it over and over.Poe is a great author, he psychologically scares you.
Heather19 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Although I don't usually like Poe's stories, I bought this book because of a few of his poems that I read and liked in school, and it ended up becoming a favorite of mine.
Alera on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't like Poe. I never really have, not at length. That's not entirely true. I have an appreciation for his poetry. I love the way he uses words. It's just when he comes to telling a story...he both steals from himself, is overly wordy, and the endings are always a downer really. I must say...Poe is the first writer I've ever fallen asleep to. But allow me to again say...I appreciate Poe for what he represents. It's was a different style and not one I altogether dislike...it's just very much not one for me. His novel however might have been an easier read for me had I not already known so much about whaling ships that I discovered a few things not quite right in his tale. Though...let us find the positive. I loved The Murders in the Rue Morgue and The Purloined Letter...the first of which was actually the one I fell asleep during...marvel at that. I loved the characters being carried over into another story...and something about the all knowing character appealed to me. If I weren't so tired I would find the quote about being able to retrace the end of a conversation back to its origins but sadly I am...so tired. Ah...now do I recommend Poe? Yes and No, I feel one should have experienced Poe in both forms. If you have not read a poem and a short story by Poe you should slap yourself and go do so now. As I am about to go reread the Raven...because um...I have a secret love for the rhythm. Which is not so secret now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tell Tale Heart was a great mixture of darkness and ad pretty much darkness! Great story to read. But if you have pretty bad nightmares and may be one of the younger kids who may read it. Keep in mind. I warned you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ITS CRAP !!!! I HATE IT !!!!! ITS CRAP !!!!! PURE RAVEN DOO-DOO !!!!! STUPID STUPID STUPID !!!!!!!!! THIS IS THE MOST HORRIBLE STORY EDGAR WROTE!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lofanda More than 1 year ago
Book Review Outline Book title and author: The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe Title of review: An Eerie Enjoyable Story Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 Introduction We don¿t entirely know why Poe wrote this story; perhaps to prove that he was not mad. All this story will prove is that the narrator is mad! The way they act, and what they do will shock you. You¿ll wonder how any human being could do such malicious and scary things, not to mention tedious and difficult. It was hard for me to even fathom these tasks, and I know I could never complete them myself. Description and summary of main points In this story, the narrator is frightened by the eye of the man they are taking care of. The description of the eye is pretty frightening. I know I wouldn¿t want to see something like that every day! The narrator decides to get rid of their problem. Every night they do the exact same thing. They check on the old man in a very mysterious way to see if the eye is open. If the eye is closed, the old man continues sleeping, if it¿s open, the problem will be eliminated. On the last night, the eye is open, so the narrator- in such a horrifying manner- gets rid of the old man and his grotesque eyeball. Evaluation I really enjoyed reading this story, it kept me on my toes. It had the perfect amount of suspense and terror; it kept me wanting to read more and more. At one point I found myself thinking, ¿What would I do?¿ Therefore, anyone who likes to feel a little frightened, or put themselves in someone else¿s shoes, this is a great story for you. Conclusion Although it was a little scary, I loved reading it. I was baffled by the narrator¿s behavior, but at the same time I felt sorry for them. If it really frightened them that much then they were just trying to protect themselves, and try to continue their lives like before. That just wasn¿t the way to do it. I was only mildly unsatisfied with the ending; I would¿ve liked to know what happened to the narrator after they were caught. Your final review The story was very well written. The dialog was different and intriguing; I actually had to think about what he was saying a few times. The way Poe writes it truly captures his inner insanity, making the story extremely entertaining. I¿m sure that most will love it just as much as I did, and hopefully will be fascinated by the way this man thinks. Poe was an amazing writer, and everyone should have the chance to be acquainted with his work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, first of all the guy was crazy so obviously he's not normal and wouldn't do what you or I would've done. And second of all, he turned himself in because of his guilt. The thumping heart wasn't the old man's.. it was the murder's because he was so guilty about killing his roommate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago