Talk of the Town

Talk of the Town

by Karen Hawkins

Paperback

$25.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Talk of the Town 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Gardener-Cats More than 1 year ago
Couldn't be better. I read it straight through, it was funny, romantic and extremely entertaining. I wish she had more contemporary books. Don't miss this one. I will definitely put it in my re-read pile!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Roxie Treymayne celebrates Victory Day as her divorce from two hundred and fifty ponds of worthless cheating slug is finalized. She vows no more Ms. Nice Gal behaving properly. Before noon on V-Day she bleaches her hair blond, obtains a tattoo and wears four inch heels with a black mini low top. Her come and get me gear is step one on the wild side.

However, the best laid plans of mice, men and Roxie go astray when her mom suffers a heart attack. She rushes home to Glory, North Carolina to be there for her mother. There she meets Sheriff Nick Sheppard, who she once shared short blissful high school tryst that ended badly duie to a misunderstanding. She decides he is the perfect one for her to walk on the wild side with; he rejects her though he wants her. However, his investigation into a death turns into a homicide case in which Roxie and his great-aunt Clara's Murder Mystery Club members trespass.

Displaying her vast talent Karen Hawkins leaves the historicals that have made her popular and writes a lighthearted wonderful regional investigative romance. The lead couple is a delightful pairing as Roxie goes all out to seduce Nick, but though he has a permanent hard on for her, he refuses to let the lower head do his thinking especially while working a murder investigation. The support cast is great starting with her friend Tundy and his Aunt Clara as fans will want the Glory Murder Mystery Club to work on future amateur sleuth cases while driving the sheriff and his professional law enforcement peers crazy.

Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
230 pages. Murder / mystery / romance. Chick lit at its finest. I usually prefer a mystery! or books set iN WWII, of family books set during the depression. I also enjoy humorous books, unless they fall into the stupidity catagory. This book was a fun read. It is laugh out funny in places. I loved the assisted living people and wish the author had given them a little bit more respect instead of making them so much like juvenile deliquents. The is no profanity, but there is a lot of lust and some pressure cooker hot sex. There are laugh out loud incidents which I really enjoyed and I would love some burbon balla and am considering moving to California just to try running rum through a bong filled with pot smoke. I hardly ever love a chick lit book, this one I did. Janet Evonovich eat your heart out. This author has you beat hands down and is going to give you a run for your money. For ages 18 and up. Delightful. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed out loud more than once. Cute read with lovable characters.
LTB88 More than 1 year ago
This is a sweet story but not a lot of substance to it. The characters keep you interested, but the plot is fairly predictable. The mystery is very easy to figure out as soon as it's presented. The growth of the main character is what keeps you going. There are better books out there, but this is a quick read when your options are limited. I will try this author again to see if her writing style is bubble gum or if there is a good filet mignon under her belt.
willcox More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I have read by Karen Hawkins and it won't be the the last. I found myself laughing out loud. It was very enjoyable.
AustenfanAR More than 1 year ago
I was bought the book because I love reading romance novels. I was very excited to find a small murder mystery inside the plot. The characters were just down right funny. I found myself laughing outloud at the conversations and antics of the characters. I recommend this for anyone who likes to read fun romance books.
BeaMN More than 1 year ago
Sexy, Fun and I laughed so hard the tears were rolling down my face.
Don't miss this one !
Starduster1938 More than 1 year ago
I am always a bit leery when an author whose works usually take place in a certain time period switches over to a radically different time.

I needn't have worried about Karen Hawkins. I was in good hands. I've always enjoyed her humor in her Regency/Historical novels. In TALK OF THE TOWN, she really cuts loose and I laughed my way thru it. I was very happy to see that she didn't change from 3rd person to 1st as some have done. I, personally, don't care for 1st person reading.

TOTT is contemporary at it's finest with some terrific zany-ness thrown in. I love the sense of humor. And I adore seeing Nick & Roxy find each other again after so many years. They are wonderful.

And so are Tundy and her cronies out at the home. What a hoot. I look forward to reading more of their shenanigans in the future. Because, of course, Mark & Susan must have their stories told.

I love stories about small town nuttiness. Thanks, Karen!!!
adeptmagic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Contemporary romance with the thinnest of mystery plots. The characters and situations are funny, which makes the book light and fizzy, but there's not a great deal of substance to it. There's a lot of lust here, but the love is not particularly well-developed and the climax is flat. The suspense element is tossed in offhandedly and there's no drama to it. Still, the writing is entertaining and it's an easy read.
jjmachshev on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Dec08Karen Hawkins normally writes historical romance novels that I love to read. She¿s one of my `must-buy¿ authors, so when I saw that she had a contemporary romance coming out, I bribed Quinn into letting me be the one to read and review it! Hawkins¿ trademark humor and witty dialogue are just as delightful in ¿Talk of the Town¿ as any of her historicals.Roxie has had enough of being the good girl. It may have taken her the best part of her twenties and a nasty divorce, but she finally got the message¿bad girls have more fun! So she dyes her hair blond, tattoos her butt, and gets a navel piercing to `celebrate¿ the end of her marriage and intends to head for Paris as soon as she¿s finished crying. Unfortunately for Roxie, her mother has an attack so Roxie is forced to delay Paris for a trip back to her hometown of Glory. On her way into town, she¿s pulled over for speeding by her old boyfriend. My, my, my¿she used to be the goody-two-shoes and he was the bad boy, but now it seems their roles are reversed. She¿s looking for trouble, and he¿s determined to avoid it¿but he can¿t avoid Roxie.Nick knows everything about his town. Since moving back to Glory and becoming Sheriff, he¿s made it his business to play by the rules and keep the peace. As soon as he sees the new Roxie, he knows trouble is bound to follow. She still affects him the way she always did, but he has no intention of allowing her to pull him off the straight and narrow. Apparently Roxie doesn¿t intend to pull¿she intends to yank¿hard.Hawkins did a great job of making this reunion and role reversal an entertaining read. I liked that her definition of a bad girl wasn¿t too far out there. It was more a matter of Roxie throwing off the etiquette and social restraints she¿d always lived with. And watching Roxie¿s influence on Nick and his willingness to allow emotion back into his life was heartening, yet Hawkins still gave it a grand dose of humor. Some of the secondary characters had me laughing out loud, especially the older group (you¿ll know `em if you read the book) with their C.S.I. antics. I could easily see this becoming a mystery-romance series without much tweaking and I¿d certainly buy the books!The Southern small-town atmosphere was the perfect backdrop for a story where everyone knows everybody else¿s business and spends at least a portion of their day gossiping about it¿if you¿ve never lived in a small Southern town, I¿ve gotta tell you that Hawkins hit it dead on with this story. There was humor, there was a pretty good mystery, there were plenty of clues and red herrings, there was an entertaining dog, and there was also plenty of hot sexual tension between the hero and heroine¿and it all was done with a light hand to keep the story from becoming too `heavy¿ or serious.If ¿Talk of the Town¿ is how Karen Hawkins does contemporaries, then count me in. My only worry is that she may slow down writing her historicals, but it certainly wouldn¿t be a hardship to `console¿ myself with more contemporaries like this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Roxie's world crumbled... Fast. Recently divorced, she decided being the nice girl never got her anywhere and decided to spice things up. Then Mother got sick and it's back to the old home town, Glory. But can the little town take the new, tattooed Roxie? And what will the new sheriff think?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first story by this author and IT. DID. NOT. DISAPPOINT! This was a very enjoyable and quick read. If you adore JAKrantz's romances or Christie Craig's escapades, you WILL enjoy this. I promise! BTW, I sure hope we get more contemporary fun like this from Ms. Harkins.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a cute, fun, quick read. I enjoyed the stories and the characters in it. Worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me laughing out loud! I look forward to more books about Glory!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read. Reminded me of the mudbug books. Predictable ending but fun getting there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago