Swapping Lives

Swapping Lives

by Jane Green

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.66 $16.00 Save 8% Current price is $14.66, Original price is $16. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Swapping Lives 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Swapping Lives is a cute, quick weekend read. Jane Green reminds us that the grass is not always greener on the other side. It's not her best book, but it is one that shouldn't be missed. The characters are real and likable, without being far fetched.
risuena More than 1 year ago
I think the whole appreciate your life and things are not always better elsewhere is a good theme, but the author's delivery is not very catching. I thought the story was very slow, and I didn't grow attached to any one of the characters. I had sympathy for their situations and saw how real their problems can be, but it wasn't enough for me. The book just didn't hook me. It had good intentions, therefore I finished it, but I probably wouldn't reread it.
NancyChase More than 1 year ago
I've always enjoyed Jane Green's books and "Swapping Lives" is no exception. The story was interesting, but not a surprise since the subject of swapping something, homes, mates, work, etc has been around for awhile. The characters in the story were believable, especially Vicky and Amber. I read the book over a two day period, so for me it was a fast read, but an enjoyable read. I won't say it was one of Jane Green best, but it was still a wonderful read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first picked up this book because I LOVE the show wife swap. This is probably my second favorite Jane Green book. You really get to now the characters in the story which make it so much more real than other authors do with their characters. At first I thought there was going to be a LOT more drama but was pleasntly surprised that there wasnt. (I didnt want another 'To have and to Hold' on my hands.) Read the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will say that I was very interested in this book all throughout but Green did take quite some time to get to the point she intended to make. I wish she would have developed some of the characters more. The main point of the book was fantastic in that the grass isn't always greener on the other side. I think we have all wondered at some point what it would be like to live our lives another way. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys witty writing and fun characters with vivid imagination.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While Jane Green's books are always very elementary, they are fun and a nice break from stressful, everyday life. 'Swapping Lives' is no exception. 'Jemima J', however will always remain my favorite of Ms. Green's books.
bookweaver on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book makes okay escape reading, but several of the details don't really hold up, making the book not quite believable. It's nice that the book treats men as a part of women's lives rather than the focus.
Librarygirl66 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two women who think their bliss lies elsewhere walk in each other's shoes for a month only to discover that happiness is closer than they ever thought in this sharply observed chronicle of the lives of modern women.
Bonni208 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time getting in to this book. Jane Green is an excellent author and typically her characters are more complex than the ones in this book (at least how they were initially portrayed). Just when I started to feel something for the characters and become interested in their lives, the book ended. It might be a fun read for a singleton or a 'desperate housewife,' but this happily married person found the plot and the characters a bit lacking. I most enjoyed the last 20% of the book, however.
Mzkitty570 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I think this book was a good read. Wasn't a page-turner for me but I was able to get through it. This is one of those "greener on the other side of the fence¿ stories. Someone is not happy with what they have and wants to find out if what they wish for could be worth the wait. The two women who switched lives, Vicky (35 & a Poise Magazine editor) and Amber (housewife, mother of 2) didn't stick it out for the whole month. It took too long to get to the ¿life swap¿ and then it ended up not going the distance. I don't think this was a true telling on how the other half lives. I've read in other reviews that Jane Green's earlier books were better. I will let you know.
mcelhra on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Swapping Lives is the story of Vickie Townsley and Amber Winslow. Vickie is the features director at Poise magazine in England and is living the life of an urban, single woman in her mid-thirties. Amber is a rich housewife in Connecticut. Amber enters and wins a contest sponsored Poise magazine to swap lives with Vickie for a month to see if the grass really is greener on the other side. Is being a single girl as carefree and fun as it seems? Is being a rich, suburban housewife less stressful than being a career gal?This was definitely a fluffy, chick-lit book. It was entertaining to read about Amber¿s McMansion and her superficial social circle of Junior League friends. At the same time, I think reading it while currently experiencing a horrible economy (in real life) took some of the fun out of it. Amber¿s friends, and to a lesser extent Amber, are so materialistic it¿s almost unbelievable. When Amber is living Vickie¿s life in England, she¿s incredulous that one of Vickie¿s stay at home mom friends actually takes care of her two children WITHOUT A NANNY. Maybe some wealthy people really are that clueless to how regular people live but Amber¿s character grew up in a trailer park so I found it hard to believe in her case.One thing that irritated me about this book is the lack of editing of the American dialogue. This book is written by an English woman and I would think someone would check the dialogue of the American characters to make sure it¿s authentic. But the American characters say things like, ¿He just turned up¿ and ¿I want a proper dinner¿. One English character tells an American character that they are being ¿saucy¿ and the American character had never heard of that word. It¿s not really a big deal but it was distracting.This was a good book to listen to in the car ¿ it didn¿t require much deep thought but was light and fun. It would be a good summer beach read too.
greshle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining audio book. Great reading by a british woman who really adds to the book by her various voices and accents. I found myself laughing outloud many times. Worth a read.
coolmama on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Perfect mindless beach book.Two women swap lives (Connecticut suburbs and London).No "revelations" made to the reader, but of course, to the vapid characters.Pretty mindless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago