The Surgeon (Rizzoli and Isles Series #1)

The Surgeon (Rizzoli and Isles Series #1)

by Tess Gerritsen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Surgeon (Rizzoli and Isles Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1378 reviews.
nanktsc More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by this author and it was difficult to put down. I was skeptical at first, being unfamiliar with the author, but I am now a fan. I did expect Rizzoli to be more of a front character in the book, but was still very pleased with the story filled with suspense. I am looking forward to reading the sequel, which I just purchased. I would definitely recommend this book to the people who enjoy suspense thrillers and solving the mystery.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
This was my first book I had read by this author and I enjoyed this one. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.
jkgott13 More than 1 year ago
Oh my gosh!!! I'm not a big review-type of person, but, I do want to say that this is a must read for those who enjoy a good murder/thriller/mystery. Well thought out and written. Draws you right in from the very first chapter!
Lannie More than 1 year ago
A serial killer strikes Boston and detective Thomas Moore, mourning his deceased wife, begins his investigation. This killer butchers his victims with expert medical knowledge and is labeled The Surgeon. While doing background research, Moore discovers that a serial killer in a distant city operated in a similar manner years earlier. That killer was finally stopped when one of his victims shot him. Dr. Catherine Cordell, that woman, now practices in Boston, and the current killer seems to be working his way closer to Catherine. Catherine fears this. So does Thomas, who is becoming emotionally attached to Catherine following his long mourning period. She had shot and killed the serial killer as he was about to make her his fourth victim so who was this guy, a ghost, a copy cat? THE SURGEON is a thrilling, sit on the edge of your seat novel. I definitely recommend!
CafeChocolats More than 1 year ago
A very good read within the contemporary Mystery-Detective genre. The plot line is about the Boston PD's efforts ("Criminal Minds" + "CSI" style) to identify and apprehend a particularly vicious sexual serial killer who has recently started to rape and kill, after a period of no activity. Dr. Catherine Cordell, a trauma surgeon, and a rape victim of 2 years, is the key to the puzzle of the why and the who of the serial killings. However, it is the contrasts in the mental outlooks of a Dr. Cordell, rape victim, and the killer, that provide a deeper human interest than normally present in detective stories. The two mind sets: a rape victim's enduring, persistent, silent and unseen trauma of "life-after-being-raped" contrasted with the killer's self-satisfaction and self-justifying thought patterns, implying that ancient societies' rites of "serial" human sacrifice legitimize his own actions
ladyluckTD More than 1 year ago
Had all the aspects I love, hospital and detective mystery, enjoyed!!
Craft-Lady More than 1 year ago
The Rizzoli and Isles Series is well written, good action, descriptive where needed, interesting, can't wait for the next book kind of read. I would recommend it to people who enjoy reading mystery, women detectives, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, entertaining very much like the show.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I discovered this book was available for a wonderful well acceptable price, I jumped at the chance to read this on my nook. I researched and found this book was part of a series so I took a chance; bought and downloaded this book and, put the next book in this series on my wish list. I think I put my expectations to high this time sadly. This book was okay to pass a boring rainy muggy day with, but it wasn't great. I was at first hooked by the plot and the beginning chapters and the authors creative touches with the medical world/ field, then everything went downhill from there. I agree with another reviewer, maybe I've just seen one too many murder/mystery shows/movies. I kept finding myself realizing that points in the book reflected many other books/TV specials/movies and then I just lost interest from there. I had to force myself to finish. I did find certain parts in the book that were well above disturbing, but that only kept my attention just so long and then dull predictability showed every other chapter. All in all, this was a decent read, but I will not be purchasing any other book from this series.
milwalk More than 1 year ago
I have read the whole series and can't wait for the new addition to them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down!
mimisophie More than 1 year ago
Quick read. Read all the rizzoli and isles series in a week. You must read them. The rizzoli and isles series in order, starting with the surgeon. I am now reading one of her stand alone called The Bone Garden...ANOTHER page turner. Full of suspense and you go along for the ride and solve the mysteries with them. Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hooked on this book when I opened the first page. I am a big fan of Rizzoli and Isles and noticed it was based on a book. So I picked this up to see what it was all about and I was hooked. It was a struggle to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good entry point to a series albeit without the aforementioned Isles or any real character focus to draw you in. The main character is the story.
Love2Write More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me by the throat and didn't let go! I loved it. Excellent read!
kittyh More than 1 year ago
Great Book!! It was hard to put down and now I must read the whole series. I have them saved in a wish list to be downloaded at a later date.
snkmurray More than 1 year ago
This was a very good ebook. I cannot wait to read #2
Clarabelle-PA More than 1 year ago
This is the first Tess Gerritsen book I have read. I loved it! The characters are great, the plot full of suspense. I didn't want to but the book, or should I say my Nookster, down. I will definitely read more of her books. I have already download the next 2 books in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book I loved. It is based on the show Rizzoli and Isles which is very good. If you like suspense then this series is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the entire Rizzoli & Isles series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Any body who loves a mystery will love this book the characters are as serious as the crime yiu will nit be able to stop rrading and enjoy it as much as i am.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Tess!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me from the start! It was written well and it flows. Now I have the whole series!
smik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tess Gerritsen was already a well established author when THE SURGEON launched the Jane Rizzoli series in 2001. Jane is a female detective working in a man's world in the Boston Police Department. She's recently moved from Vice and Narcotics to Homicide. She's the only woman in Homicide and already there has been trouble between her and another detective. She's a woman out to make her mark.There's a serial killer on the loose in Boston, his hallmark that he operates on his victims, removing body parts while they are still alive. Jane Rizzoli knows solving this case could be the making of her career. Her assigned partner is "Saint" Thomas Moore, the cop who never stepped over the line, never swore, never lost his cool.THE SURGEON snags the reader straightaway, opening with a prologue from the killer's point of view.Today they will find her body.Today they will know we are back.The Surgeon has a fixation of Boston doctor Catherine Cordell. His victims, we learn, are women who have already been damaged, as has Catherine Cordell, through rape. In their own ways Jane Rizzoli and Thomas Moore both step over the line, Rizzoli in a way that could mean the end of her career.The blurb on the front of the book says THE SURGEON is a page turner - as I read this on my Kindle, the "next page" button got a rapid work out.An excellent read and highly recommended.Perhaps I should warn that some of the medical details may make you a little squeamish.
crazy4reading on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Surgeon is mystery, suspense novel. It is based in Boston Massachusetts and Savannah Georgia. The woman Catherine Cordell is a doctor whom was raped 2 years earlier in Savannah Georgia. She has kept the past in the past and doesn't talk about the rape. She has made her life so that she feels secure and is always on the alert for possible things to happen. Dr. Cordell now lives in Boston and the murders start again. It is believed that Catherine has killed the man responsible in Savannah.The detectives involved in this case are, Thomas Moore and Jane Rizzoli. When the first murder happens in Boston Tom and Jane have to talk to Dr. Cordell. Jane is a woman working in a mans field and always feels that she is judged differently then the men. Tom is known as Saint Thomas because he seems to never do anything wrong. I found myself wanting to read when ever I had a free moment. I would hide the book under my desk and read while everyone else was working. I found myself thinking about the story as I would fall asleep at night. The Surgeon is a well executed mystery book. Tess Gerritsen kept me on the edge of my seat during the whole book. If you are looking for a new mystery writer then give Tess Gerritsen a try.