Stroke of Midnight

Stroke of Midnight

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stroke of Midnight 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
¿Winter Born¿ by Sherrilyn Kenyon. At the Atlanta based Dragon.com gala, were-panther Pandora seeks the help of Acheron as she is a bit frightened having left her pack for the first time. Pandora is a virgin in heat. Enemy pack were-panther Dante is drawn to Pandora, but he believes it is more than just her heat though she assumes it is a basic law of nature. How to prove otherwise is his problem until he realizes he must keep his soulmate safe from others of their kind.................... ¿Born of Night¿ by Amanda Ashley. Lord Reyes captures Lady Shanara. However, to both their respective chagrins they are attracted to one another, a taboo since her father wears the pelt of his father after killing him. Still could love be the impetus to end his family¿s werewolf curse?.................. ¿Make It Last Forever¿ by L.A. Banks. In 1979 a cursed Tara must leave Vegas to get help from her beloved Indian Nana in Arizona. On the bus she meets nomadic Jack. As they fall in love, weird happenings follow Tara due to the curse, but Jack led by his heart also follows Tara...................... ¿Red Moon Rising¿ by Lori Handeland. Just relocated from Chicago to Arizona, author Maya finds a Navaho skinwalker stalking her. Her only hope to survive her assailant is Clay, but she questions whose side he is on even as she falls in love with her only possible champion..................... The se four paranormal novellas are all terrific tales starring fully developed lead couples and delightful villains. At any time of day this is a winning anthology...................... Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is a good novel. I especially like the short story written by l.a. banks
KJPatterson More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for the Sherrilyn Kenyon short story and was not disappointed at all. It is a great short story and I just wished it was a bit longer. The story by Amanda Ashley was also just as good. I can't for the life of me remember the other 2 stories, but Kenyon's and Ashley's was worth the price of the book.
jshillingford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I bought this book strictly for the Dark-Hunter story from Sherrilyn Kenyon, and that story was easily five stars. Pandora is an Arcadian Were Panther. She was sent to mate with and care for a Katagaria panther pack, but escapes. She is told Acheron may be able to help her get home, and she goes to Atlanta to track him down. And she finds him at Dragoncon. Now, to anyone who has never been to Dragoncon (or any convention), this story may not resonate as strongly. However, I have been there (and so has the author obviosuly) and the descriptions had me rolling! First off, Simi can walk around as herself because everyone thinks she is in costume. And Ash blends in just as well. These two characters are hands down Kenyons' greatest creations, and I cannot get enough of them. Still, the romance between Dante and Pandora was also excellent. It isn't often that the "hero" wants nothing to do with the woman!Overall, this story alone was worth the purchase. Highly recommended to D-H fans especially!
dmwmtgal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pandora and Dante were fun! I don't like the novellas as much..they're too short and I would have liked to see the story develop more. I liked Dante in Sins of the Night, so would have enjoyed seeing his story as a full-length novel.
thehistorychic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a good short story but I am just not a fan of books in anthologies. I read them because they are part of the overall series but I think they are often rushed. I didn't feel like I had much invested in the leads (if they had been introduced in other books maybe but this was not the case) so while I was happy it all worked out for them I didn't really feel connected to them. I thought the Ash/Simi at Dragon Con parts were cute though!
AzhriaLilu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The only reason I gave this book 3 stars was the Sherrilyn Kenyon story. It was the only one that made this book interesting. The other stories were bland, boring and, at times, tedious to read. Worth picking up if you're following the Dark Hunter/Dream Hunter series though.
dukefn99 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This anthology includes stories by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Amanda Ashley, Lori Handeland, and LA Banks. This novella by Ms. Kenyon, Winter Born, actually fits into the Dark-Hunter series better than previous ones. The story is about Dante (a were-panther introduced in "Kiss of the Night") and Pandora (another were-panther). It's another story that you can probably skip over, but it's an interesting read and probably my favorite of the four novellas in this anthology. Amanda Ashley's story is about a werewolf who is getting revenge on the man who killed his father by kidnapping his daughter. LA Bank's story is about a girl who is in the middle of transforming into a vampire (she was recently bitten)... this one was my least favorite. And Lori Handeland's story is about a Navajo skinwalker and the girl it is hunting (and her rescuer).
hoosgracie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I only read Sherrilyn Kenyon¿s short story ¿ Winter Born ¿ in this collection. It¿s a decent, albeit, quick story. I would have liked it to be a bit longer. I did like that we learned more about Acheron.
rocalisa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pandora is a Were-Panter who has been stolen back though time to be the forced mate to a group of modern day Were-Panthers. She has come to Dragon*Con in Atlanta in the hope of getting help from Archeron to return home. Ash, as usual, does things his own way and sends Dante instead, also a Were-Panther, but with much better morals than the ones Pandora is running from. Essentially, they find themselves mated and have to decide if they are going to stay together. There really isn't much to this story. It's not even 80 pages and runs reused themes and situations. Pandora and Dante are nice characters, but the story is really only saved by Simi's cameo appearance with Ash. It's a nice, quick little read for a evening, but I'm glad I got my copy cheap and didn't pay full price for it, especially since I won't be reading the other stories in the anthology.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very mixed bag of stories. All are paranormal romance stories.The first is Sherrilyn Kenyon's Winter Born, set during Dragon*con I'm sure it would amuse me greatly if I had ever been to that con. Though I did recognise some of the moments from cons I have been to. Two were-panthers find each other but they're supposed to be enemies. Staying together may need help.Born of the Night by Amanda Ashley is a historical werewolf story and fairly predictable. Still fun.Make is Last Forever by L A Banks is part of her world and is about a man, a woman and destiny. Not my favourite in the book but still quite readable.Red Moon Rising by Lori Handeland - an author finds herself at the mercy of a skinwalker and has to find her way out. The man who helps her has his own plans. I quite liked this one and want to read more by both her and Amanda Ashley. Sherrilyn Kenyon is already a must buy author.
purrfectmatch More than 1 year ago
I usually only read anthologies that have at least one author I like. This collection has a story by L.A. Banks. The theme of this collection is paranatural or supernatural tales of sensual romance. Sometimes a bit too much sensual and not enough supernatural. An average collection of tales. I have read better anthologies. This one contains four tales by four different authors. 1. The first tale is Winter Born by Sherrilyn Kenyon. This story focuses on a human born were-animal trying to find the "person" who can help her get home. But destiny has other plans, involving a beast born were-panther. Too short for my taste. I also thought certain elements took away from the story. Specifically, the use of time travel. The other powers were a bit much too. The tale did have interesting cast of characters, and wasn't a bad read. Just could have been so much more. 2. Next is Born of the Night by amanda Ashley. This tale is about a man who is cursed to be a werewolf. He captures and holds his enemies daughter for ransom, in hopes of luring him inot a duel to the death, but of course, love has other plans. I enjoyed this tale. It wasn't too short or too long. The characters were well written. Liked the twist on the werewolf curse. The story grabs you and takes you on an entertaing ride. 3. Make It Last Forever by L.A. Banks. I have read her Crimson Moon series. Not quite the type of story I would expect form her, but it was alright. It's the tale of a woman who is trying to reach her Grandmother in hopes of stopping from turning into a vampire. She meets a man, who is more than he thinks he is, and their destiny's come full circle. Story felt a bit off, at times. Not sure how to explain it. I can get over the I barely know you and I have to have you thing, typical romance scenario stuff. But I mean, you have things in a prophecy and then you break the rule I thought a Prophecy had: Certain things can't be altered. But you have six and not seven, when it says there is always seven guardians. Plus, why didn't she just tell him the truth, after he seemed to begin to believe in vampires? All that time they spent having sex, when they could have been headed toward help. Not a bad tale though. 4. Red Moon Rising by Lori Handeland. This story is about a writer who is the chosen one, needed by a shapeshifter to complete a ritual that would give him immense power. But standing in his way, is a monster hunter, determined to save the girl and stop the bad guy. I enjoyed this tale but I wanted a more climatic show down. You build things up about this man's power and then Bam, he's dead. The story isn't bad, but does seem to grab you, and is a roller coaster ride up to the bad guy showdown, then sadly, simmers down in a slightly disappointing way. Ending should have been a bit different. Didn't quite flow with the rest of the tale. Like I said it was an average collection but not a bad read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago