Stone Cold (Camel Club Series #3)

Stone Cold (Camel Club Series #3)

by David Baldacci

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$10.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stone Cold (Camel Club Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 302 reviews.
Hammygeek More than 1 year ago
I am a new fan of David Baldacci. I love thriller mysteries, and by far this is one of the best I have read in a long time! There are so many twists and turns, and it is terrifically crafted for the ultimate suspense. I highly recommend this book, and David Baldacci books to anyone who loves mystery thrillers. I also recommend Simple Genius which was equally as stimulating.
Pitrich More than 1 year ago
This book is all that. Great story , fast pace, lots of action, page turner. Where does he come up with all the wonderful detail?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a book you do not want to put down to the end.
Cat_JacksMom More than 1 year ago
I have read 3 of the 4 Camel Club series books and I have not been disappointed at all! I can't wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A masterpiece!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story but ran imto multiple missnumbered pages
Lsue More than 1 year ago
I ordered this ebook and received it promptly. No problem there. Problem is I am using the Nook software for Mac. It is completely unreliable. I must open it anywhere from 1 to 15 times to get the program to engage. Once open, again, no problem. The book is excellent. It's the third in the series and I will read all of them.
Luv2ReadInAZ More than 1 year ago
So much mystery and intriguing plotlines. Can't wait to read the 4th in this series.
kshrmn8r More than 1 year ago
Baldacci is an excellent main stream writer. His books, while similar in tone and feel, are absorbing and fun to read. Stone Cold was not one of his best The characters did not evolve much from prior books and the plot was average at best. There are many other options by Baldacci that I would recommend prior to this one.
coachRS More than 1 year ago
Baldacci did it again.The camel Club crew at it again. This would be a good movie.You cant go wrong with this read.You need to read the first two books to get a good background.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great Book!! I really enjoyed reading Stone Cold even though I did not read the previous books in this series. Sone Cold is easy to follow and fills in what you missed. It's a fast moving story that will keep you on the edge.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sometimes the bad guys win, and other times, it's the good guys turn. Baldacci has another winner in Stone Cold, and it's great reading this time of year for those times when the snow and ice have you tucked away indoors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oliver Stone isn't who he seems to be, neither is Susan Hunter, or Harry Finn. Their lives and the lives of those who know them are intertwined in a complex tale of treason, con games, and murder. None stop excitement, twists, and intrigue keep this book moving at a pace that makes you want to stop so you can catch your breath, but don't. You just might miss something, and you don't want to do that. At the end of this book, you'll feel very differently about some of these characters than you did at the beginning. Not all those who die are bad guys. GOOD read. Review by Wanda C. Keesey (author of Lost In The Mist, release date May, 2008)
dannN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fast action-packed novel. The short chapters added to the pace of the book and always kept all of the characters in focus. A long book, but the pages flew past!
TerriBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am enjoying this series of books, "Camel Club." In this, the third, there are several plot lines weaving together, both tying up the open items from the second book and introducing new lines - and characters. Enjoyable, fast-moving, a little over the top, but the author makes the unbelievable sound plausible when you're in his world. Looking forward to number four.
ZachMontana on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
3rd of Oliver Stone and Camel Club series dealing with spy assasinations from the cold war era. Reader does a good job of attributing characters and fitting the theme.
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Stone Cold is the 3rd book in the Camel Club series. The club is back and still making trouble for those who need it. Susan/Annabelle has a mob-like casino boss gunning for her since she ripped $40 Million from him, and someone else seems to be killing off all of Oliver Stones old triple 6 teammates. Carter Grey even invites Oliver to his house in order to present the evidence. Later after Grey's house is blown up, Oliver is hung out as bait to draw the killer out of the woodwork.This book is rather action packed and keeps one wondering what is going to happen next. It also is mostly 'reasonable' as far as spy novels go, no major groaners for easy outs or spectacularly impossible feats. Just reasonable over the top action.Overall an enjoyable book, well written and no one had any unexplained superpowers show up out of the blue. I liked it and it's worth a read. Also Ron McLarty did an excellent job IMO in reading as well.
edwardsgt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A cracking read which kept me turning the page until I finished it. Most of the action is set in and around Washington and the political scene with two interleaving threads. One thread is a con artist and her team who are trying to evade the wrath of an Atlantic City casino operator they conned out of $40m; the other thread is a cold war retribution involving high-level DC political operators. Well plotted and any holes easily overlooked by the sheer pace of the story.
libraryhermit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read 4 or 5 books by David Baldacci and I like his style very much because I can read a book in one day and never get bored. The Camel Club has an interesting mix of personalities. It does seem unbelievable that people could live a secret life that is not interfered with because they have no families that would make them tread the straight and narrow. I guess that is just highlighting my own personal fantasy which is to somehow escape from the constraints of being responsible for my own family. Of course, Oliver Stone is not happy at all because he lost his family, so the point I made above is kind of dumb. I would like to be free from my family but not by the means of some catastrophic loss. So for the present moment, reading a book like this just serves as pure escapism.
she_climber on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The conspiracy theories continue to fly in the 3rd installment of the Camel Club series. I love that Baldacci brought back Annabelle from the last book and finished that story. Now I hope to see some Henry Finn and company in the next installment. And not to try and spoil the story for those who haven't read it yet, one principal member will sorely be missed, but in these stories where the body count is continually climbing I guess I can't be too surprised. Just sorry it was one of my favorites.
dspoon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oliver Stone, the leader of the mysterious group that calls itself the Camel Club, is both feared and respected by those who've crossed his path. Keeping a vigilant watch over our leaders in Washington D.C., the Camel Club has won over some allies, but it has also earned formidable enemies including those in power who will do anything to prevent Stone and his friends uncovering the hidden, secret work of the government. Annabelle Conroy, an honorary member of the Camel Club, is also the greatest con artist of her generation. She has swindled forty million dollars from casino king Jerry Bagger, the man who murdered her mother. Now he's hot on her trail with only one goal in mind, Annabelle's death. But as Stone and the Camel Club circle the wagons to protect Annabelle, a new opponent, who makes Bagger's menace pale by comparison, suddenly arises. One by One, men from Stone's shadowy past are turning up dead. Behind this slaughter stands one man, Harry Finn. To almost all who know him, Finn is a doting father and loving husband who uses his skills behind the scenes to keep our nation safe. But the other face of Harry Finn is that of an unstoppable killer who inevitably sets his lethal Bull's-eye on Oliver Stone. And with Finn, Stone may well have met his match. As Annabelle and the Camel Club fight for their lives, the twists and turns whipsaw, leading to a final that is explosive as it is shattering. When buried secrets are at last violently resurrected, the members of the Camel Club left standing will be changed forever.
lrobe190 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this third entry in the Baldacci's Camel Club series, Oliver Stone and the Camel Club members continue to keep their eye on the operations of the government. Annabelle Conroy, an honorary member of the Camel Club and a con artist, is running from the victim of her latest and biggest con and he wants her dead! As Oliver and his friends try to protect Annabelle, Oliver himself becomes a target. Although he doesn't know who is trying to kill him, he realizes it's someone from his past.In this novel, the Camel Club engages in yet another dangerous mission. This time, we learn more about Oliver's past as a former Special Ops agent. For the most part, the book is exciting, but sometimes it drags a little. There are two "main" plots and it's easy to get confused at times. Other than that, it's another great read from Baldacci.
SharonSommers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Exciting Story that will keep you on the edge!I¿ve always enjoyed David Baldacci's Camel Club series and their group of peculiar characters. The books are exciting and always keep you on the edge. In this story there are several plots and subplots going on. In one plot we find Oliver Stone, who went by the name of, John Carr, as a former CIA assassin, comes to grips with a terrible mistake that he made years ago. He had terminated an innocent man who was falsely identified as a traitor. While Stone uncovers the mystery behind this mistake, he finds himself entangled in the lives of the dead man's family. Once he finds out that this family is to be terminated by the same man who ordered the execution of the father years ago, he must act quickly to prevent another injustice from being performed. There are other plots, other characters that if covered it would only spoil the book for you. Be assured, that Baldacci, brings all the plots together with nonstop action, interesting character development, and an ending that neatly ties everything together.Highly recommend.
Grandeplease on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read several books by David Baldacci, including the two earlier novels in his Camel Club series. In short, Stone Cold, the third Camel Club book was entertaining, but left a bit to be desired.The best part was the new character, Harry Finn, who works for a private company that has a government contract to test the security measures of government agencies and contractors. This plot line is very interesting.The worst part is when some bad guys are either stupid or not bad enough. The reader is not sure which it is because an obvious potential advantage is just ignored. I found error so glaring and annoying that when it occurs 440+ pages in, I almost tossed the book unfinished.I attempted to ignore the blunder and finished Stone Cold and it ended decent, but not great because I just couldn't forget.Note: I mentioned the blunder to the person who loaned me Stone Cold. He did not notice the plot weakness until I pointed it out to him. Perhaps if you read rapidly and don't think too much, you will enjoy the book to its conclusion.
kysmom02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I listened to the abridged version and have decided to step back and listen to the unabridged. Of the 4 books in the series, this is my favorite. I found myself really liking Annabelle. Even though she was a conn, I found her story interesting, all the way down to the relationship with her and her father. I was a little heartbroken that Oliver wasn't the one who was going to save her from Jerry Bagger, but Oliver was true to his word in helping her. Even though it wasn't him. (Can't tell you who it is!) I think that what I liked about this the most was that no matter how hard I tried to predict the next event, I was never right! Baldacci has his newest fan!