So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #4)

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #4)

by Douglas Adams

Paperback

$14.93 $16.00 Save 7% Current price is $14.93, Original price is $16. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 123 reviews.
1000_Character_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Well...on to the forth (and almost last) of the original set of Hitchhiker's Guide books. We find Arthur Dent back on Earth, which has not been destroyed (I won't spoil the how on this – especially as I’m not completely clear on how Ford pulled it off) looking to help a girl he's fallen in love with, figure out why he's been given a fishbowl with a strange inscription, figuring out where all the dolphins went, trying to find his battered copy of the Hitchhiker's Guide and finally finding the message that God left for all of creation (which falls along the lines of 42 as the answer to Life, the Universe and Everything). The mystery-like storyline combined with the series’ characteristic sarcasm definitely makes it very hard to put down. I’d say it’s the funniest of the books thus far with the healthy dose of irreverent humor we've come to expect from this series.
jegan22280 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I considered this Much weaker that the previous offerings. I wasn't prepared for a love story when starting this book. It was, howeve, good enough to grab and hold may attention. So much so that while reading it in an airport, I was so engrossed that I missed my flight.
Nanoscale2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The fourth book in the Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy trilogy? Kind of an odd thing to have a fourth in a trilogy but it is worth while but please please read the other three books first...Or you will be very confused.DaScienceGuy.WordPress.com
lizzy-x on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my least favorite Hitchhiker's Guide book. Then again, I can't stand romance, and while the other four allowed me to remain blissfully unaware of it, this one thrust it in my face.
beckykolacki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Out of the "trilogy of five," this one was actually my favorite. I understand that for many people it's the least popular, because almost the whole thing takes place on earth and it focuses mainly just on Arthur Dent and not the other characters. However, that's why I liked it. After the somewhat overwhelming third book, it was a relief to have a novel that didn't keep jumping around between characters and plot, and just focus on one thing at a time.Plus, this story had a much more human element to it that the others did not. In the others, we never got to know the characters and they never exhibited any emotions in any depth that we could relate to. And I suppose that was okay, because it wasn't really about emotions, it was just about the humor and the science fiction aspect. But it was kind of nice to see a different side of Arthur Dent in this one. He actually finds a romantic interest in the fascinating character of Fenchurch. Yes, there was less action, but that was okay for me.Also, we occasionally got some glimpses of what Ford was up to, but he didn't really become pertinent to the plot until the very end. It seemed like the book ended on a really exciting note, with the newly formed emotional bond between Arthur and Fenchurch intersecting with the exciting space travel that had been involved in the other books. From here, the fifth book seemed like it could be quite promising.
jayne_charles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A change of gear from the previous books, which left me blinking in the sunlight: Arthur Dent returns to Earth (more or less) and starts chatting up women.There is a slightly self-conscious chapter close to the end where the author actually suggests some readers skip a few chapters. I was almost tempted to comply, though glad I didn't as the aircraft incident that followed was quite good.On the whole, though, not really up to the same standards as the first two books of the series.
FolkeB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So Long and Thanks for All the Fish is the fourth volume of The Hitchhiker¿s Guide to the Galaxy Series by Douglas Adams. Arthur Dent wanted to have some time to relax and stop traveling around the galaxy, so he leaves his companions to find a place to go. He ends up on Earth, but Arthur doesn't understand how this could be because he saw the Earth being destroyed by the Vogons with his own eyes years ago. On his first night back on ¿Earth¿, Arthur falls in love with a girl at first glance. He gets separated from her and goes back to living his life like he did before the Earth was destroyed, and everything appears to be the same. A mysterious thing, though, is that both Arthur and this girl, Fenchurch, question this ¿Earth¿ and are both trying to find out the answer to God¿s final message to his creation. Douglas Adams brings us back to the idea of this huge universe filled with interesting and wild ideas once again. He introduces intriguing ideas and clues in the story that make the reader excited to read further. Adams introduces us to new characters and that help keep the story interesting and moving. I would recommend this book for anyone who has read any of the previous books in the series and enjoys wild and sometimes random, but quirky, details that add to the story. I would give this book four out of five stars. Molly
susiesharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As I've said before these are hard to review.This one I must say though wasn't one of the best of the series.But I still enjoyed it it just isn't the best of the bunch.On to Mostly Harmless
mrsdwilliams on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fourth book in the Hitchhiker "trilogy."Arthur Dent returns to Earth. The fact that Earth has already been destroyed by Vogons is not particularly important. Why and how Arthur returns remains a mystery, but he is relieved to find that Earth still exists and that only a few months have passed since he first caught a ride with a passing spaceship. The novel's main focus is Arthur's relationship with Fenchurch, a woman who he falls for at first sight. Their journey of eventually leads them to discover God's final message to Creation. Not as much action as in the first three books, but the focus on the development of Arthur's character make this a worthy addition to the series.
rincewind1986 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ok so it isnt as good as the others, but it is still one of my favourites its funny witty and the story is so bizarre even thinking of it is making me smile.
Othemts on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite of the five books in the Hitchhiker trilogy. There's just something touching about Arthur and Fenchurch's flying date.
nm.spring08.s.peery on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a most interesting book, I would have to say. I loved how Adams was able to make such random things connect in the ways that they did. The apparent plot of finding out why the Earth was back to the way it was (but 8 years later) was profoundly funny. I loved how Adams didn't skip on using words normally considered inapropriate, and his odd use of describing what happened between Arthur and the girl up in the clouds.
heidilove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
it all comes together in the end and he even gets the girl.
sweetiegherkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the fourth book of the Hitchhiker¿s Guide to the Galaxy series, Arthur Dent returns to Earth eight years after it has been utterly annihilated. On top of that, it appears that only a few months have gone by since its destruction. Arthur tries to figure out this mystery and along the way falls in love with a quirky girl named Fenchurch. There is far less action in this book than the previous three, plus very little to do with space travel is involved. Ford and Marvin have only minor roles (and Zaphod and Trillian never appear), and the partial or complete absence of these favorite characters is only somewhat made up for by the delightful addition of Fenchurch. The book is still full of Adams¿s wit and humor but falls flat when compared to the previous three.
Darla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Morning read with the boys. Arthur's back on the reconstituted Earth, and finds a girlfriend. Still hilarious, but I missed the other characters and the traveling around in space.
ariebonn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It has been a while since I read the third book in this series but finally managed to get to the fourth. Since the last book was a little disappointing I was somewhat reluctant to continue reading it, but at the same time I really wanted to know what happens next.In the fourth book of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series, a new angle is introduced. We are back on Earth, yes the same one that has been demolished by the Vogons in the first book, where seven years later everything is back to normal except everyone one thinks that they suffered from a mass delusion that Earth was destroyed. The other thing that nobody seems to be able to explain is that all the dolphins have gone missing. This time the story revolves mostly on Arthur, which manages to find the love of his life, Fenchurch, and their relationship develops into something that he has never experienced before. Together, Arthur and Fenchurch embark on a mission to find God's last message to his creation.The first thing I noticed about this book is that it's completely different. Unlike the first three books, there is not much traveling in space going on and the focus is mainly on Arthur, which might be referred to as the most boring in the cast of characters. Overall the story is not bad, but nothing very exciting happens either and to be honest I was expecting more action. As usual there are some funny parts to it, this is after all what Adams is famous for, but again nothing like the first two books. This book might have been slightly better than the previous one in that it is generally less silly, and it does have a good ending when God's last message to his creation is revealed. That was quite hilarious and probably the best part of the book!I am now looking forward to reading the last book in this trilogy of five (I always loved this phrase) to see how it all ends. I am really hoping though that Adams put something good together in the same way that the first two books were good!
Figgles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The fourth book in the Hitch-hiker trilogy. It's a very long time since I first read it and I'd really suggest you should read the other three first. A more lyrical and less "laugh out loud funny" book, winding up the story and giving Arthur Dent a shot at love. The flying is lovely.
pauliharman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tolerable read from author trying to kill off a series
manatree on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Old favorite from high school. Had to pick up this used hard cover copy to supplement tattered paperbacks.
Crowyhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was never really my favorite of the series, but I think it's about due for a re-read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt that this book was the weakest in the hitch hiker series. there was hardly any planet hopping and the antics were not nearly as interesting without ford. Its still a great book though.
LeoM More than 1 year ago
As this series' ending begins, the events which occur in this book become even more wacky and crazed than the those previous to it. If this series has been entertaining so far, this book follows in suit as it twists the mind and bends all processes of thought to a new level with its unpredictable story line. It all begins with the illusion of a dream... Arthur is led to believe all the events of the past eight years have been a figment of his imagination, and that he has gone crazy (which, following his behavioral patterns, could be a possibility), but with the weird events going on, such as the Earth's dolphins disappearing, he begins to seek the truth, with the hunch that the Vogons were much more than a hallucination. Previous to this hunch, he falls in love with a girl named Fenchurch he met while hitchhiking, and she too believes the Vogons were real (but she was diagnosed with mental instablility). Arthur chases this girl around and eventually begins a romantic relationship, and together (after they have met up with Ford Prefect) they seek the truth behind the destruction and reappearance of the Earth. Without giving away any spoilers, this book is an exciting adventure, (surprisingly) with a love story included, and a tragedy involving a beloved character. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend, and hope this series is enjoyed by others just as much as it has been enjoyed by me.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago