The Snow Queen

The Snow Queen

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

$28.01 $29.99 Save 7% Current price is $28.01, Original price is $29.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
MARKETPLACE
1 New & Used Starting at $47.79

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Snow Queen 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That was such a sweet story. I recomend this for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought that this book was very good, although it didn't remind me very much of the movie. The story was about a girl name Gerda and a boy named Kay, so it didn't tie with the movie being mainly about the two sisters 'Ana and Elsa'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this movie on Hallmark and it was fabulous. And now I've read the book and it was even more fabulous!
johnlobe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Snow Queen is Naomi Lewis' retelling of the Hans Christian Anderson original. The written text is quite lengthy but is worthy of several sittings with younger children. The story is somewhat surreal, loaded with religious imagery and multilayered. The illustrations by Birmingham capture the chill of winter or the richness of a sunlit garden equally well.
Caonima on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book is a fast-paced, adventure-laden story of the contrasting lives of two 19th century girls, one raised in the "civilized" portion of Scandinavia, the other the daughter of a shaman and a robber-baron of Lapland. Together they must confront the Ice Queen, sorceress of the icy Northern wastes. When Gerda leaves home to track down Kai, the boy she wishes would return her love and who has gone North with a mysterious countess to study arcane subjects, she little expects to become the captive of a robber baron of Northern Finland and his daughter's pet plaything. Ritva, the shaman's headstrong daughter comes to realize that Gerda is not just a human pet, fit only to amuse her. Together they seek the Snow Queen's castle in the Northern fastness. Gerda's rational and common sense approach, along with Ritva's innate fey nature and her reindeer, Ba, allow them to release Kai and escape. Ultimately though, Gerda can see that Kai will never truly be interested in her. As a book for young adults The Snow Queen is just fine, proceeding quickly but in an exciting and page-turning manner. However, the best of childrens' literature reads well for both youngsters and adults, though obviously on different levels. For an older reader The Snow Queen lacks somewhat in depth and, in several instances, I would have liked a particular scene or narrative to continue longer and in more detail. The narrative often skipped forward several weeks or months. This to a certain extent is probably due to the fairy tale source/style, a genre which frequently uses such leaps in time or space, but in The Snow Queen this often precluded anything but the sketchiest details of the society and landscapes around the two young women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really cute story. Poor girl her foster-brother gets crazed in the head but do not i repeat DO NOT watch the movie until you have read the true story because they are very different
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was Totaly wicked, although I read it 1 million times I can't take my eyes of this book.I loved the part where little Gerda talked to the crow! But the worst bit is when Kay gets taken away by the Snow Queen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I JUST WATCHED THE MOVIE THAT WAS BASED ON THE BOOK, FROZEN ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT DOES NOT COST A LOT OF $$$
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not read this book so i really do not know but i hope it will be a good book !! I was shopinng on my nook and the book really caught my attention so that is why i hope that it will be great so have a nice day and thank you for reading my review#thanks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont like that there is only pictures."I want words,I want words complained myself.I didnt care for this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The one who posted on april 4 2003 posted that on the day after i was born
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIICCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!