The Sirens of Titan

The Sirens of Titan

Other Format

$99.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Sirens of Titan 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 174 reviews.
Tyler-S More than 1 year ago
The Sirens of Titan is the best Vonnegut book I've read by far. It tells of Malachai Constant, the richest man on Earth, and his adventure through space. This science fiction story is just great in every way imaginable. The characters are deep, the plot is meaningful, and the theme will blow your mind away. Vonnegut's 'The Sirens of Titan' questions the whole reason of mankind's existence on earth, and adds a completely unique theory to how and why we came to arrive on our planet. It will definitely get you thinking.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once you start this book, you will want to read directly through to the finish in one sitting. Vonnegut creates entire worlds through writing, and entirely new creatures. This book can be best descibed as a 'Sci-Fi-Drama,' because it intertwines human emotion into a science-fiction atmosphere. After you finish this book, you will take at least twenty minutes to sit back and contemplate life. Believe me. I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had never read any Vonnegut until a friend told me I had to read this book and loaned it to me. I thought slaughterhouse five was some kind fo slasher movie. Anyway, I started this and was completely surprised. Vonnegut tells this strange science fiction story well. He's got a great imagination. The way the story wraps around on itself is amazing. The ideas he came up with to make the story work are very creative. I haven't read anything else of his yet, but I look forward to trying. The same friend gave me 'Visions of Reality' by David Gregory, which, in my experience, is as close as current writers get to this sort of wildly creative Science fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is extremely good. It's the digital verson that is keeping me from giving 5 stars. Spelling mistakes on every freaking page makes it hard to read anything! SPELL CHECK PLEASE!
verrille More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book of all time, with Catch-22 a close second. The writing here and the story are unmatched, even by his Vonnegut's other works. If you don't read it you are missing out on a little piece of literary heaven.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sirens of Titan is a joy to read. If Slaughter House 5 is an attempt to offer hope in the light of war, to offer life back to those who for no good reason were deprived of their life in WWII, then Sirens of Titan is a meditation on God and human destiny. Who said God bears any resemblence to the Christian God? If our God is merely our creators, well what if our creators more resemble the product they created? That product would be us, our species, life on this earth, which encompasses life, death, suffering, and general disregard of life at the unit of an single creature. Not to mention numerous flaws in our character, judgments, and perceptions. This the parable Vonnegut offers in this book. His meditation is as wonderous and as uncomfortable as life itself: who ever told you (or us) that we are in charge? And who cooked up this concept of a benevolent God, a concept seemingly created in utter disregard for the world we exist in and observe, none observing more closely than Vonnegut.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This+day+will+always+be+remembered+as+the+day+I+got+hooked+on+Vonnegut.+This+is+my+first+exposure+to+the+writings+of+Kurt+Vonnegut%2C+and+I+certainly+wasn%27t+disappointed.+
stellamaymarie More than 1 year ago
one of the best books written by the greatest writer of our time. read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sc-fii comedy psicodelic drama that has a special place in my heart
_________jt_________ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It feels like it took me forever to finish The Sirens of Titan. That feeling has more to do with my reaction to the material than the difficulty, though, because Sirens is an easy read. In general, whenever something happens that would take a long time to narrate, Vonnegut saves himself the trouble by simply summarizing the action. In this way, Vonnegut packs the eventful seventy-four years of Malachi Constant's life into 320 trade paperback pages. This time-saving summarization hit a nerve for me, though, because it illuminated even more clearly the primary characteristic of this novel's plot, one of my least favorite characteristics of any bad plot, which is when they don't grow organically, but serve only as an infrastructure for the author to make snarky remarks about whatever suits his fancy. And indeed, for snark, Vonnegut can hardly be topped. Few aspects of human civilization go unridiculed, and Vonnegut's ridicule is just and mordant...however, I only found it amusing for awhile. Then it began to grow tiresome. I'm at a period of my life now where I'm trying to learn not to hate people so much, trying to see the good in the world rather than endless hopelessness. So while I can see the quality here, and I can see why people love Vonnegut, The Sirens of Titan just wasn't for me, right now.
shannonkearns on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this book took me a while to get into, but once it got going i liked it well enough. it was a bit disjointed which was annoying, but it had some really nice moments in it and some wonderful things about religion which i enjoyed.
JuniperHoot on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A great exploration of religion and militarism, done with classic Vonnegut humor. As ever, I'm in awe of the author's ability to infuse his frequently bleak tales with such wit and humanity.
jeff_cunningham on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent Vonnegut book. If you are a fan of his writing or of anything good then I highly recommend it. It is a histerical look into the future that include the classic aliens from Tralfalmadore. It is an interesting look at human nature whether they live on Earth, Mars, Titan, or a space traveling man and his dog that control the future. It is very enjoyable.
wvlibrarydude on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Vonnegut has an interesting satire that draws you in and makes it quite pleasurable to listen to his thoughts on the meaning of life, free will, and what form a novel should take. I remember seeing him speak at NCSU, back in the late 80's, and still remember his analysis of the three story forms (Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, or life which has highs and lows, but no real beginning or end). This story definitely takes the last emphasis.I strongly suggest reading The Watchmen if you like this. Alan Moore must have had this in mind when writing it (or should have).
weeksj10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's epic and will blow your mind. If you seek the meaning of life read this book and be enlightened.
pokylittlepuppy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sorry but no. I'm so disappointed with this one! In a way it's a relief because every other time I've read a Vonnegut I've been sort of embarrassed by how much I loved it. But this was definitely not for me. The adventures meandered and the people were dull. I found the tone far too uncanny to enjoy. The fictive religion had no heart. And since the satiric philosophies of his other books have all stayed with me and made me want to relate them to my life afterward, I know this one is simply off for me.It also wears its age poorly. Race and gender are insulted offhand without due attention. (Specifically, I didn't like the black dialect dialogue or the, you know, rape?) He even squeezes in a gay joke way at the end. It's weird! Because I know Vonnegut's work is above that, but I think the downside of his sharp vernacular grasp is that some of it goes sour decades later. It's ok with me if they're not all perfect, but I kind of hated spending my time on it.
CBJames on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. begs the question of just how will Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. be remembered. In fact, will he be remembered at all? I found the book to be well in step with his early novels. There is a time travelling man and dog who appear regularly appear on Earth wondering about the house where the man's disgruntled wife spends her days fighting off tourists and religious fanatics who want to see the space man. There is the richest man in the world who loses his fortune and finds himself on a rocket ship bound for Jupiter. There is an alien from Tralfamador, marooned on Titan, one of Jupiter's moon's, waiting through the centuries for the replacement part his rocket needs to arrive. And there is the suicidal Martian invasion of Earth that ends in the creation of a new religion, The Church of God the Utterly Indifferent.It's all in good fun with a dash or two of metaphysics thrown in. Maybe a splash of social criticism here and there for good measure. I enjoyed it, but I also found it very 60's. I've been reading Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. most of my life, probably for the last 30 years. Now that I've finished this one, I think I've read all of his published work, so you can count me as a fan. But I wonder if anyone will be reading him two or three generations from now. If they are, I suspect they'll be reading Slaughterhouse Five. Maybe a few graduate students will still be reading the rest of his novels, but I'm not sure. It feels natural to wonder about this regarding Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. since so many of his books, The Sirens of Titan included, deal with the issue of time and the notion that all time exists simultaneously. Everything that will happen has already happened. The time travelling man and dog in The Sirens of Titan are like Billy Pilgrim in Slaughterhouse Five, unstuck in time and space. They travel to the future and back, from planet to planet, experiencing it all as happening at once. Billy Pilgrim could choose which parts of his life he could visit. I hope Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. can, too. That seems like a fitting heaven for him, a paradise he might want to visit now and then. Actually, it doesn't sound that bad to me, either.
akinin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
How do you reconcile the Grandfather Paradox, Free Will and the meaning of life? You ridicule them.Vonnegut's powerful novel leaves his mark on the rest of science fiction.Douglas Adams grossly plagiarized from this book.great read but not as funny as other Vonnegut books.Pulled an allnighter to finish it
MikeFarquhar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Sirens of Titan, Kurt Vonnegut¿s second book, is one that I first read a long time ago, and have not re-read since, Like the majority of his work it tends to get labelled ¿science fiction¿, a label he himself hated, arguing that the themes he was trying to talk about transcended the idea of genre. His books do tend to be wider-read than much SF, and deservedly so.Sirens is about Winston Niles Rumford, a rich eccentric in the 22nd century who ¿ like Billy Pilgrim to come ¿ becomes unstuck in time, existing as a wave in space-time who periodically appears in particular locations and dispenses knowledge gleaned from his time travel. Along the way he colonises another planet, engineers a suicidal interplanetary war, and establishes a new religion ¿ the Church of God the Utterly Indifferent ¿ all in the name of trying to make humanity better itself, cheerfully abusing and sacrificing the book¿s principle protagonist, Malachi Constant, along the way. Ultimately though, Rumford¿s manipulations prove futile in the face of a realisation of a greater, and yet more arbitrary, manipulation of the entire human race. (And even knowing that revelation in advance, it still made me laugh when it turned up ¿ it¿s clear to see why Douglas Adams cited Vonnegut as a major influence when he came to write The Hitch-Hiker¿s Guide¿)Vonnegut looks at religion, love, fate, beauty, and the great questions of why we¿re here, and what our purpose in life is. On one level, the book¿s conclusions are somewhat nihilistic, but even in the pointlessness that marks the book¿s ending Vonnegut is alluding to something quintessentially more human with the potential to become something more. Malachi¿s final moments have a bittersweet quality of redemption to them that suits the tone of the entire book. Beauty is where we find it and what we make of it. For a book written so early in his career, it¿s amazingly well-formed. Vonnegut¿s position as one of America¿s finest authors is well earned.
sixteendays on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I honestly never believed I would read another Vonnegut novel I would love more than God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater. Upon finishing The Sirens Of Titan, I stand corrected. I liken Vonnegut's answer to the meaning of life nearly as clear and simple and hidden as "TURN SHIP UPSIDE DOWN". It would have been as plain as day if only we'd stopped and thought about it a little harder.
Arctic-Stranger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this book taught me more about beauty when i was in high school than any other experience i ever had. sometimes i wish i had paid more attention to it.
ravenword on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favorite of Vonnegut's novels. It meanders beautifully through space and time, tinted with incredible sadness. IT'S AN INTELLIGENCE TEST!
stipe168 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
about religion, friendship, the human soul, and free-will. One of Vonnegut's earliest and one of his best. My friend Kevin told me it opened up chambers in his heart he didn't know existed. that's fair enough. Unk: ¿ I was a victim of a series of accidents,¿ he said. ¿As are we all¿.
rachaelster on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favourite Vonnegut book by far. I have a quote from this tattooed on me. I even prefer this to 'Cat's Cradle.'
smurfwreck on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After reading this I wonder how influential it was on Dougla Adams...