Sinister

Sinister

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$29.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sinister 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book! The combined writings of three authors gave a little different twist in the story. I hope they will write together again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
interesting style with different sections written by different authors but the book flowed well.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A great mystery and you'll never guess who the culprit is. This book is definitely a page turner. MByrd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
acorley84 More than 1 year ago
SINISTER THIS STORY IS...UNIQUE COLLABORATIVE STORY!!! I have read a collaborative effort before, but each author had written 2 novella's each in a series, for a total of 4 titles, so each story was still the author's own. Sinister is a collaborative effort between 3 authors, who each write their own part to the story...so one story, three parts, written by 3 different people. I must say that at first, I was not captivated, nor was I interested in what was going on. I was almost to the point to where I was wondering if I should give up on it and try something else, but kept listening! I am certainly glad that it did, because boy did this story grow on me! It is like a fine wine, it just got better with time. There is a large cast of character's to keep up with, but once you get into the story a little bit, that gets easier! The Dillinger bunch is quite the family! They were wickedly entertaining and thouroughly creative! I think the characters were one of the best parts of the book! The story was also a great one! It was a creative take and one that threw me for a loop! It's not your every day mystery! I loved that it had an element of romance to it, but not nearly enough that it took over the story! The narrator was excellent and easy to follow. She kept me entertained throughout. I look forward to hearing more from her in the future! I was skeptical at first, but ended up really enjoying this story! I'm glad that I stuck it out, because if I hadn't, I would have missed out on a great collaborative book! Very unique...very unique!!!
BallroomDancerAF More than 1 year ago
I found this book too formulaic for my taste. I am listening to another of her books and they are just too similar, even to the same intiials for the protagonists!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of those rare books that you couldnt put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book very much--it is a page turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Lisa and her books. Once I start one, I can't lay it back down. Gets me from the get-go. The To Die series it To Die For. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These 3 author's put together a great Sinister thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
interesting, need to keep reading, some parts where hard to follow when changing writers for awhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept reading - couldn't stop.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
I applaud authors that take chances, and in this case we have three authors that have decided to color outside the lines. Rosalind Noonan and sisters Lisa Jackson and Nancy Bush took collaboration to a whole new level by dividing SINISTER into parts and then each author seized a particular section(s) and made it her own. While author collaboration is not a new concept in the writing universe, this particular brand of teamwork has not been seen by these eyes, or if I did see it, I lived in a world of blissful ignorance (which can be a perfectly acceptable playground if you’re so inclined). But that’s where my applause ends, and the criticism begins. If you’re going to trip and fall and possibly end up doing a face plant on an icy patch of sidewalk, you should at least do it in style. While these three ladies have earned style points on collaboration originality and character voice consistency, the style points ended as this romantic suspense novel took hold. The dialogue felt forced and sometimes trite; the romance was packaged a little too well and wrapped in a secondhand bow; the suspense needed an anticipation injection along with a tad more unease; and there were scenes where the moments felt erratic and jerky, because of the choice of viewpoint character. While Ira, Hunter, and Sam certainly had personality, Renee, Ricki, Sabrina, and Delilah proved more fleshed out than their male counterparts. And I had trouble identifying with and getting behind any particular character, and not just because I’ve never been to Wyoming and have very limited experience with barns and horses and farms. So, yeah, I’d been excited to see this one come, but in the end, I was rather glad to see this one go. I received this book for free through NetGalley. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
Bitten-By-Love-Reviews More than 1 year ago
Sinister by Lisa Jackson,Nancy Bush, Rosalind Noonan  is a thoroughly enjoyable book. Not only is it a romance story but it is full of suspense as well. I love the way the three authors came together for this book. "The romance, the investigation, the dysfunctional of the two rival families, the Dillinger's and the Kincaid's was described with no hiccups. You would not have even known that it was three different authors. Lisa Jackson does a great job capturing the feel of small town Wyoming and everyone from the townspeople to the crooked fireman are genuinely portrayed and add to the flavor of the book. There is never a dull moment in Prairie Creek, Wyoming once the Dillenger's get together. I have been reading Lisa Jackson for several years now. I started reading her back when she was writing mainly romance novels. Then she went into the suspense genre and got even better. I love her books so much that I read everything she writes.You will not be able to put this book down. Romantic suspense readers will loudly speak praise for Lisa Jackson, Nancy Bush and Rosalind Noonan thriller. The tension builds higher and higher until the story line seems ready to explode. The characters are an interesting cast who struggle to overcome mistrust, tragedy and separation. Ms.Jackson, Ms.Bush and Ms.Noonan has written a terrific tale that will garner them many new readers.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite Sinister is a fascinating suspense novel written by three authors - Lisa Jackson, Nancy Bush and Rosalind Noonan. Jackson and Bush are sisters and their like minds are apparent in the fluid nature of the plot which is written in three sections by the three different authors. Noonan doesn't miss a beat as she puts in her two cents worth right between the sister team. The Dillinger family has been feuding with the Kincaids for as long as the current generation can remember. But things are about to change as the Kincaid elders, Major and Georgina, need to decide how to keep the Kincaid ranch from bankruptcy. One by one, the Dillinger children return to the family ranch in Prairie Creek, Wyoming, and as soon as they're gathered, disastrous things begin to happen. In the midst of a planned wedding, part of the homestead is burned and the bride-to-be is singled out for an ungodly fate. Daughter Rikki Dillinger decides to step into a position of authority as a deputy while her sisters all assume a part to play in solving the mysteries surrounding the family. Death, arson, love and fate all play heavy roles in bringing the novel to the height of suspense. I was initially skeptical of the three-author potential of this book.  But any fears I had were immediately put to rest as I realized the story was flowing so consistently that it appeared to be a single-author novel. The characters were delightful and appropriately scary, narcissistic, and odd. In the line of true suspense novels, this one is a reader's delight!
RipeForReader More than 1 year ago
My rating: 3 of 5¿¿ When Dillinger family patriarch, Ira decides to get married, he is determined to have his children by his side. None of them are particularly pleased with the upcoming nuptials, since their mother just passed away less than a year ago, and they are in no hurry to flock back home to welcome a gold digging much younger woman to the family. Being a master in manipulation, it doesn't take Ira long to get his way and one by one all kids end up coming home to face their father, his new bride and some unfinished business most thought they had left behind. Two decades ago an unsolved fire burned down the old homestead on Dillinger land and trapped Ira's brother, Judd and his mistress. Judd died in the fire and Colton, Ira's oldest son, had been able to just pull out Judd's badly injured mistress. Although there was never any proof, some suspected that one of the  neighbouring Kincaids may have been behind it, but it was written off as the work of a transient.  With preparations for the wedding in full swing, some disturbing discoveries and unexplained fires bring memories and questions around the twenty year old blaze back to the surface and raises old and new suspicions. With everyone back in town for the big event, the speculation is running rampant, but one thing is clear; someone is determined to hurt the Dillingers. **** A complex and wildly woven plot makes for an intensely suspenseful read!! The balance in this book teeters far more to the suspense side than it does to the romance side, in that the romantic story lines are not explored, they almost occur as a side line and without much dialogue. The focus is and remains on the mystery side of the story throughout all three major parts of the book, each written by a different author.  The characters were plentiful and varied. At times I felt there were too many names and connections to keep straight along with a rather involved backstory to get the gist of. And that backstory was important, if not where everything started, it was where everything started to turn for the Dillinger family, and not only for Ira. The fire was a pivotal point in a few of the Dillinger children's lives as well. Colton was a little too close to the tragedy, having been right there, and he needed to get away from home, leaving his family and his girlfriend behind to sew some wild oats. Delilah left after the fire that lead to finding out her secret lover had cheated on her, and since she had aspired to be an actress, she headed for California. Ricki had taken off for the big city, pursuing her dream of joining law enforcement and getting over a childhood crush.  All three end up coming back to find themselves reconnecting with people not quite forgotten and feelings still alive under the surface. The family dynamics are interesting to observe. Ira as family dictator and manipulator, a general intolerant nature, nurturing the ongoing feud with the Kincaids and more concerned with the status and appearance of a complete and gathered family than the experience of one. The siblings, at least the three main ones we get to know a little better, get along well and seem to have their father's number. The two other siblings, a married brother, who we only see briefly, and a younger sister, who also only has a minor appearance, hardly factor into the story. This is something I don't really understand......why not?? Are there more books coming about this family?? Especially the brother with his more than shaky marriage, why write that in if it didn't fit into the story somehow?? Right now, it only feels like a loose end. There is also talk about uncles and aunts and cousins, who really don't come back into play until the last few pages, except to say that Ira specifically does not want them at the wedding..... I haven't found any clear explanation  as to why that was??  Yes, I was left with a few questions, or loose ends I wasn't able to tie up or answer after finishing this book. I don't know whether that was because I missed something in the huge number of facts that needed to be processed or whether it was just missing. Or, like I said! there may be more books coming that will help unravel this very entangled story. The writing itself was great! The transitions from one author to the next near impossible to detect, they were so smooth and in no way interrupted the flow of the story. I was unable to put the book down, so poised for the next twist or turn the story would take.  It did make for very thrilling reading, because if anything, it was spine-tingling!!! ¿A hair-raising, compound and compelling story of family ties!¿ **ARC provided by NetGalley and Zebra Books in return for an honest review.**