Shug

Shug

by Jenny Han

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shug 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 139 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I was growing up, I had a best friend. His name was Wesley. When I was reading Shug, by Jenny Han. I realized how much I missed hanging out with Wesley. This book can open you're eyes to a lot of things. Shug will espcially have an impact on you're heart. Even if you don't like to read, I'd recomend this book.
Naomi-Rose More than 1 year ago
I really do recommend that you buy this for your daughter or yourself. I'm 12 years old, in junior high, and this book is about exactly what I'm going through. Annemarie is so real, and so much like me. I know what its like to feel left out because all of your friends are suddenly into dating, and I know what its like to feel awkward and ugly when your sister and best friend are beautiful and 'in love' with boyfriends. Reading about Annemarie going through these things, and dealing with them helps alot. This is my favorite book and I really think you should buy it, you won't regret it.
Daisy12320 More than 1 year ago
This book reminded me of me. Of how I always thought I was ugly and that all my crushes have went down hill. If thats how you are then this is a book you won't want to miss! This book is about a girl who is going to middle school for the first time and everythings chaning. Her freinds aren't hanging out with her, she discovers her crush who has been in front of her since day one, and her parents are fighting, and once she thinks all is lost she discovers that that a guy likes her for who she is. I love the book and how Ms.Hann wrote it. -Thanks:)
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Annemarie Wilcox, known to her family as Shug, is twelve-years old, tall, flat-chested, and nowhere near the type of girl she wants to be. Shug also believes that, ow that she's twelve, she's at the perfect age to receive her first kiss, and she knows just who she wants to give it to her--her best friend, Mark Findley, the true and actual boy-next-door. Well, actually, the boy down the street, but it's close enough. The only problem is that Mark doesn't show any interest in seeing Shug in the same way she sees him. For Mark, the perfect girl is Celia, Shug's beautiful, popular older sister.

Thus begins the summer of Shug's twelfth year, and it's not going anything like what she had planned. She's suddenly seeing everyone in her life in a totally different way, and she's not so sure that she likes what she sees. Her mother, who she once thought of as deep and sophisticated, now seems the opposite. The North Carolina native who went "up North" to college isn't suave and chic--she's snobby, standoffish, and an alcoholic. Her dad, a businessman who frequently travels away from home, comes home less and less and stays for even shorter amounts of time. Even beautiful Celia, who seems to have the perfect life, seems to be changing right before Shug's eyes.

And then there's Mark, who she's almost given up hope on. Now that she has to help Jack Connelly, the bad boy of her school who has gotten in more trouble than she can name, with his homework, she even finds herself seeing him in a new light. Is he really as bad as everyone thinks? Can people change so significantly in even short amounts of time? And as for Shug, is she really the girl she thought she was?

Reading SHUG is like eating an entire carton of Rocky Road ice cream. It's a sweet indulgence that you know you should eat slowly, yet you still find yourself devouring it as if it's your last meal on Earth. SHUG is like that. You'll get caught up in the life of Annemarie and her family, in her friendships and heartbreaks, in her internal struggle to be liked and loved for who she is. At first glance SHUG is a normal coming-of-age story, but once you start reading you'll realize it's anything but normal. Kudos to Jenny Han for this glimpse into Shug's life, and that of her family and friends. It's a story you won't soon forget.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great!! I loved how it showed how people can change for the better and for the worst over time. Shug or Anniemarrie learns this as she starts junior high school. Shug also learns how to move on with life and except change! This book is soooooooo good. Please read it. It is so much better than gossip girls and all those stories about cliques and girls wanting to grow up fast
Guest More than 1 year ago
it is about a girl [nicknamed shug] who's life is changing. you know how when you grow up your best friend starts liking boys. and shug starts liking her old first friend mark. but shug sees everyone she knows becoming couples. at her school dance she finds mark kissing another girl and shug hears him talking about how shug isn't a girl. well shug is kinda tall. you just have to read it. you can totally relate with it. trust me. it talks about friends, families, time to grow up, social status, and love.[ it takels all the things a normal 12 year old needs to know.]
Guest More than 1 year ago
i hope there's a sequel b/c Shug is TOTALLY relatable. every girl can relate to Shug, even someone as old as a 27 year old (writer of this review, me.) while reading it, you'll laugh out loud, smile, maybe even stop and think about your first love, and want to smack both boys (read & you'll see), and maybe even tear up a bit when she talks about her family. SHUG is a fun-read, a MUST-read--you gotta read it, you'll love it,i'm sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a MUST HAVE!!!! I love reading books by Jenny Han they open your eyes to something you really havent thought about in a while
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i used this book for a report and this was the only book i had found( my teacher picked it ) and i found out that i couldnt put it down! All i sn say is read it now youll LOVE IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!!! It was funny and heart warming at the same time. I definitely reccomend this book!!! :))))
GoldRush101 More than 1 year ago
this is the most amazing book i have ever read. i love it. is my favorite book. i hope for jenny han to write another book following it. one that talks about maybe when she is like 15 and jack comes back and other typical teenage drama. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book totally reminded me on how all of my friends zre getting boyfriends...exept me. This whole book i can relate to! You should read i especially if your in middle school!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really good book to to read if you are girl who likes a really cute guy PLEASE read this book!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This may be the best book I've ever read. Before this book I HATED books. This book got me hooked into reading. Life changing! Jenny Han is by far my favorite author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Shug. Its my new favourite book! I am so hoping this becomes a series and that Jack and annemarie get together!!! Its about Annemarie Wilcox and she doesnt think she is beautiful because she has a flat cheast, is too tall, and has a ton of freckles! Her mom drinks a lot and her dads barely home cuz of work. It tells real life problems like crushes,sibling rivalry,parent problems,and finding out that the someone special is who you least expect and that the saying dont judge a book by its cover is more than true. A great read and great to relate too. My favourite part is the ending. Why? Read it and find out!!! -K
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book my favorite
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lovee <3 book!!!! I have read this book sooooo many times and i dont get sick of it!!! I think this a good book!!! It is soo good that you dont want to stop reading!!! HAVE TO READ!!!! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I get how Shug is feeling I used to have a friend that came over to my house every day. But he and I got distent then he moved away in fourth grade. Best book ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amaazinnngggggg read now best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What is like moving to a new school? Annemarie or Shug as her family calls her starts to think there is nothing worse than moving to a new school and being twelve. I think that this book is good for girls ages 9-13 and likes girly and cute books. This book is realistic fiction and kept me reading. After Annemarie started at junior high she thought she wasn&rsquo;t perfect. She was too tall and too freckled. Annemarie Likes this boy names mark and she doesn&rsquo;t know if he likes her. Does he like her or not?
Nitty15 More than 1 year ago
In this novel, Jenny Han approaches the problem of sudden change we've all experienced from time-to-time. For Annemarie Wilcox, AKA Shug, this is happening exactly at the time of a transition from 6th to 7th grade, which also means a switch from elementary school to secondary school. She encounters the stresses of boys, drama with her "gal-pals," mean teachers, peer pressure, and her grades. On top of all that, not everything is so great at home... This book is excellently written from Shug's point of view, giving you her thoughts and opinions and insight. Although she may only be twelve years old, I find that her problems and experiences are incredibly similar to what one might encounter at any age. Very relate-able and read-ble, "Shug" is an excellent read, and I couldn't find myself able to put it down.
SUMMER_BOOK_LUVER More than 1 year ago
This book shows the struggles and wonders of a girl turning into her adolescent age. Some would say it is cute, but don't forget that it is an on going story of lovely and tragic events in this girl's life. "Shug" gives a side of a story that just must be told, with or without the craziness thrown in. Overall, this book is sweetly crazy with a touch of affection. Basically, it is Shug herself.
mbjbsnmeghanbieber More than 1 year ago
This book has inxpered me to be myself and love will find you !! It is a livly book and has descrptive charters that some how I felt like I knew them for my whole life . Its a story about friendship and growing up . I love this book
hazeleyes994 More than 1 year ago
Jenny Han knows how to write a great book! I loved Shug! I could hardly put the book down. I really enjoyed it!
exclamation More than 1 year ago
I LOVED Shug! It's definetly one of my favorite books; the voice is strong, and the characters seem real, so real that they seem to be right there beside you. Shug, also known as Annemarie Wilcox, is dealing with situations such as an alcoholic mother, a father who's never home, an ever-growing distant best friend, and a boy next door who she's suddenly falling for. I recommend this to all ages. It is a very quick as well as an enjoyable read.