The Shell Seekers

The Shell Seekers

Hardcover

$28.35 $30.00 Save 5% Current price is $28.35, Original price is $30. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
8 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Shell Seekers 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
mjreads More than 1 year ago
Shell Seekers is one of my all time favorite books. I loved the story, characters and messages it presented. I found myself reading all of Rosamunde Pilcher's books afterwords but none of them were as fun as the Shell Seekers. I was thrilled when I found a good used hardcover through Barnes on-line that I purchased for my permanent library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had to write.....this is a book I read years ago and I still recommend it to every one I meet. It was one of those books that you get so caught up in it that at the end, you are truly sad that the book has reached it's end. Beautifully written, the readers can picure themselves in another place. The characters are real, the story line is believeable, unlike so many today, and the ending is perfect. A real keeper in your library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first read Rosamunde (yes, I refer to her by her first name!) during a surgery as a 16 year old high school student. What I thought was a 'mom' book, soon turned into my favorite book of all time. Fifteen years later, I am still hugely in debt to Rosamunde for sharing her skill and imagination with me throughout all of her books. (I own them all.) I re-read them often as the mood strikes and am always filled with a renewed sense of appreciation for her imagery and depth of character. I feel an absurd connection with Cornwall that I use as my 'imaginary vacation spot'. Her beautiful stories are appropriate for such a broad age-range. The Shell Seeker's is original in that it does not contain any sexual content that would be objectionable. Lovely first novel for anyone!!!
fiveby10eighty3 More than 1 year ago
I came across this book as I was in a second-hand bookshop (sadly I don't understand why some mainstream books are given priority instead of gems like this). Something about the synopsis caught my attention, and so I bought it. The characters were so real, it seemed like you met them for real. Penelope is a darling--a unconventional woman--but a darling, nevertheless. Olivia is a woman every woman wants to be--competent and confident. Antonia is a sweetie--you would wish her for a sister or girl friend. Danus is the perfect mysterious guy, but you would like to keep his acquaintance once you get to know everything him about him. Nancy and Noel have kept their role--you might hate them, but they also get the story rolling. I loved the flashbacks as well the story taking place forty years later--it would be so hard to put down! When I lost the hardbound format of this book, I was pretty much devastated and bought another. Reading it again and again never loses its flavour--I don't want to tell more and rob you of the pleasure of meeting the characters and be with them as the story rolls on!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Read this years ago as a college student. It is still one of my all time favorites! Great vacation book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this when it first came out. With all the unpleasantness in this country and the world today, it was a pleasant esape.
jeankUT More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book because the characters and storyline were so close to happenings in real life; therefore, I found myself weighing the author's insight on happenings in my own life. It was good to read a book wherein personally held values were addressed so well. Pilcher accomplished a realistic story that lasted through 3 generations of family. Each of her characters offered his/her own "take" on the situations and values addressed. This affords the reader plenty of points of view to reckon with-much like reality. Personally, I'm sorry the main character never found a real, personal belief in a greater power. The love story was beautifully and realistically told. The toll that war takes on love, family, personal values, and a person's ability to establish/maintain a faith in God are all issues that are addressed. An enjoyable read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully engrossing story which takes us to beautifully detailed places and allows us to know deeply interesting people. This is the ONLY book of this type that I still repeatedly give as a gift. When I last went to buy it in a store, I was told it was out of print. If so, what a shame. Its both intelligent and touching. Still memorable and worthwhile after 20 yrs. Just a great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books Mrs. Pilcher has written. Her descriptions, location, characters, invite you into the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Families are complex organisms and it takes remarkable skill to make them come alive. Ms Pilcher possessed that skill in unlimited quantities. This is the third time I've read The Shell Seekers and I doubt it's the last; each time it evokes different emotions, raises new passions to the surface, or simply draws one's attention to a before-overlooked shrub, flower, or bird. I'm grateful to Ms Pilcher for having written such a beautiful book and my faith is renewed just knowing that God has bestowed such talent on her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just wonderful. I know I will read this again and again. This story is everything one wants in a book.
cathrine-anne More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoying the reading of this novel, only problem is, the last page is printed on the inside of the back cover and it's MISSING! Can someone tell me what happens, does Antonia end up with Danus and live happily ever after??????
Mari-Kate9 More than 1 year ago
i first read this when my aunt introduced me to rosamunde pilcher's work-i still thank her for that!  i very cozy, homey english  read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like the descriptions of each character...makes for much good read.
lorrib More than 1 year ago
I cried l laughed l reread it about 50 times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so glad that Rosamunde Pilcher's books are finally available on the Nook. I read "Shell Seekers" when it first came out and it has always been a favorite of mine. I just bought it for my Nook and reread it this summer. I am happy to say that the book was just as good as it was the first time I read it. Now I need to reread "Coming Home".
Love-to-Read3 More than 1 year ago
I have read this book about 4 or 5 times in the past 10 years. It is a wonderful, heart-warming story, with lovable characters. Gives great insight to how the events of World War 2 affected people who were not in the "thick of it," so to speak. I always picture Maureen O'Hara as Penelope, even though she is described as dark haired, dark eyed. Penelope has her spirit!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*****
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my all time favorite.  I own a hardback, which I purchased after a friend loaned me her paperback, and I read it every summer.  Never get tired of the characters.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Loved it from page 1 to the end. Rich, full of fabulous characters robustly come to life in an extraordinary tale of life, and enduring love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
there+isn%27t+anybody+who+would%27nt+enjoy+this+book.+It+has+everything.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read+it+when+it+first+came+out+and+revisit+it+when+I+need+a+lovely+escape+to+a+more+gentile+world.+++it+made+me+fall+in+love+with+thatched+cottages%2C+unruly+gardens%2C++the+sea%2C++and+tea.++real+people%2C+imperfect+yet+loveable.++real+life%2C+faced+with+courage+and+humor.+++the+perfect+book+for+reading++curled+up+with+a+light+blanket+and+cocoa.+%0A%0AI+will+no+doubt+visit+Penelope+again%2C++if+life+and+time+allow.++now+on+to+ms.+pilcher%27s+other+gifts%2C+renewing+more+old+friendships+in+her+warm+and+wonderful++world.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly+a+book+for+a+quiet+beach+read+or+a+fireside+winter%27s+evening.++Great+characters%3A+needy+Nancy%2C+greedy+Noel%2C+independent+Olivia%2C+and+their+extravagantly+individual+mother+Penelope.++A+novel+to+simply+absorb+and+enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I%27ve+known+about+this+arthur+for+a+long+time%2Cbut+had+never+read+any+of+her+books.++As+i+began+to+read+this+book+i+couldn%27t+believe+how+much+i+was+enjoying+this+arthur.+what+a+great+read+from+the+first+page+to+the+last+page.+This+is+a+book+you+really+don%27t+want+to+miss.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The++only+thing+I+found+a+bit+disconcerting+is+that+the+main+character+was+portrayed+as+so+old+at+the+age+of+64.+Otherwise%2C+I+quite+enjoyed+this+book.