The Shape of Desire

The Shape of Desire

by Sharon Shinn

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Shape of Desire 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
expectgr8things More than 1 year ago
Sharon Shinn has been a favorite author of mine for a long time now. I have read and have all of her books in my personal library. One of the main reasons I appreciate her as an author is that her books have always been clean. This book, however, threw me for a loop! It is the one book that she has written that I wish I had not purchased. I realize that in the world today I'm considered a prude...and I'm okay with that. I believe that a great story leaves many things to the imagination of the individual reader. That is why, if you ask 100 people the same question about the same book, you'll get just as many different answers. A story can be extremely romantic in nature without the nitty-gritty details, for the same reason. So my question is this...why not leave the level of graphic sexual content to the imagination of the individual reader? We all have great imaginations...that is why we read. Sharon Shinn...your stories are beautifully written and do not need the "extra content" to make them desirable and romantic. I hope your next book will be one that I can happily add to all of the others on my book shelf and one that I feel good in recommending to others (like I have with all your other books).
Tazio More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Sharon Shinn. I've read almost all of her books and I think she is an amazing author who creates complex and creative story lines and amazing characters. Shape of Desire is not all that terrible, but I don't believe it is anywhere near the standard of story telling I am accustomed to from Shinn. The book is an easy read. I after reading it I felt like she had lowered her standard of writing in an attempt to appeal to the masses and in a way write her own "Twilight" I will of course continue to read her books, but I can't help but feel like a disappointed teacher handing a paper back to a student and telling them "I know you can do better"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not particularly fond of reading about other people having sex, so was very disappointed the author decided to take this route, i much prefer her more traditional fantasies. Also, I was really put off by Maria's suspicions of her lover; surely you can't really love someone when you so readily believe them capable of murder? No, this is more obsession than love.
janemarieprice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Shinn is one of my favorite fantasy authors. I buy everything she writes and will continue to do so, but this one was disappointing. Maria dates a shape shifter who is gone for frequent periods while he is changed. When several deaths from mysterious animal attacks occur, she beings to worry what or who is behind it. What annoyed me about it is Maria¿s complete devotion to her lover ¿ `you¿re my whole world¿ type crap. When this started out early on, I thought there was a chance Shinn might turn it on it¿s head, but it never really got there.
DarkFaerieTales on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review Courtesy of Dark Faerie TalesQuick & Dirty: A deeply emotional story about the power of love and secrets.Opening Sentence: It¿s around two in the morning when I hear a rustle and bump in the kitchen, and I sit up in bed.The Review:I wasn¿t sure what to expect when I picked up The Shape of Desire. I have never read a Sharon Shinn book before but I have heard good things about her writing. I couldn¿t help but feel the first few chapters had the feel of early Kelley Armstrong¿s Otherworld series and Charlaine Harris mysteries. Sharon Shinn makes shape-shifters all her own while adding a layer of mystery to the myth. They are dirty and stinky after they change shape, still have cuts and bruises and they have no control over when they change or what shape they take. That is how it affects Dante but it is different for his brother and sister.Maria starts off the novel as kind of a loner. She fits in with her family and co-workers just enough to be friendly. If they begin asking her questions about her personal life she quickly comes up with an appropriate lie to fill in the gap. Maria prides herself at how well she believes she can tell lies. She is so good that Maria¿s co-workers know she is trustworthy with their personal business.Maria cannot help that she loves Dante. She has loved him unconditionally for fifteen years. She doesn¿t even question the fact that he is a shape-shifter, even though she actually hasn¿t seen him change. She doesn¿t question a lot of things when it comes to Dante. She has met his brother and sister who also claim to be shape-shifters which adds to her belief of Dante. Maria spends most of her days working as an accountant and just waiting for the days Dante shows up at her door. Dante is the love of Maria¿s life and she wouldn¿t change that for anything even though secretly she wants a husband that she wakes up to and a child to raise. She knows how Dante feels about having a family and if she brings up the subject they will just argue.Maria and Dante spend most of their time together making love or arguing. When Dante first shows up at Maria¿s they are like a happily married couple on their honeymoon who just can¿t get enough of each other. Dante makes it no secret to Maria that he will not live a long life and she doesn¿t like when he brings that up. He knows that he can¿t be the man that Maria needs and he tries to give her an out. Maria and Dante definitely do not have the most conventional relationship. You can feel the happiness and love she feels towards Dante and her sadness as he leaves.The first animal mauling deaths only register with Maria because it looked like an infant was taken from the scene. Maria calls Dante¿s sister Christina, who just happens to have a baby. She was worried she had been attacked. Several more deaths happen before Maria begins to question the circumstances.The Shape of Desire is a character driven plot. The story is only told through Maria¿s view, often going through her day. There really isn¿t too much action to the plot. In fact, she doesn¿t even start questioning Dante until at least more than halfway through the book. The mystery of Dante and shape-shifting and the tension of how it all would play out kept me reading. The way she compares her life and secrets with that of an abused woman (her co-worker Katherine) weigh heavy on the tone of the story.Maria grows as a character as the story moves along. She starts as kind of a loner then moves on to make friends with some of her co-workers. She learns that her lies haven¿t always been enough, that her actions belied appearances. She makes a firm decision about her future and with a better understanding of Dante.Overall, I was deeply enthralled by the story of Maria and Dante. The Shape of Desire was a different and refreshing take on the shape-shifter myth and I can¿t wait to see what is next. However, I did feel there were questions left unanswered and I hope Still Life with Shapeshifter answers at leas
bookgal123 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Sharon Shinn. I really do. I've read everything (and I do mean everything) she's written. In truth, that's the only reason I finished this book. The characters were irritating, the romance was turgid, and the ending was absurdly pat. As I said, I love Shinn, and I will read whatever she puts out next, but I cannot recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sharon Shinn is a compelling storyteller. This takes shape shifting to a completely different level.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trite melodrama that lacks the emotional maturity of her other books. Boo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Was a slow moving story but I could not put it down. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm probably a bit biased because this is my favorite author but I loved the characters and the story. I'm told it is going to be a series and I cannot wait to see what happens next!