Shadow Play (Eve Duncan Series #19)

Shadow Play (Eve Duncan Series #19)

by Iris Johansen

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shadow Play 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with all her books,this is captivating and enjoyable.A continuation of Eve's and Quinn's lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great reading hard to put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how Eve just gets into the middle of the situation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plenty of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best yet in this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can not wait for more stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Been a while since I’ve read an Eve Duncan book (even though I have them all). Now I remember why I love this series! Iris Johansen is a great writer and this is a great series. I highly recommend this book, this series, and this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent plot, but I am getting tired of all this added supernatural crap. At leady ot was toned down somewhat in this book Turned out to be better than I expected. Then again, I haven't been expecting much from these books lately. I am glad its getting better. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OK but I've read better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading all of the other Eve Duncan books, this has helped cure my reader’s limbo. Can’t wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic read, 5 days and done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story. Kept me sitting on the edge of my seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CharlotteLynnsReviews More than 1 year ago
It had been a while since I had read an Eve Duncan story. Yet, I didn’t hesitate to pick up Shadow Play and dive right in. I am thrilled that she is back. The last Eve Duncan book was out in 2013 so it had been a while. The relationship between Eve and Joe is still one of my favorites. It is not usually featured in the story but it is always there. The respect, love, and trust between them is so strong. There is so much else going on within the story that it is sometimes pushed back and not brought to the reader’s attention yet I notice it in every book. They may not always like what the other is doing but they always protect and support each other. What I had forgotten from the past books in this series is the paranormal aspect. Jenny, the newest skull Eve is working on, comes to her and talks to her. Jenny tells her story to Eve and it brings Eve farther into the search for Jenny’s family, killer, and her history. This is just one paranormal aspect found in Shadow Play. There are others. Some seem reasonable, some are a little more out there. This is part of a trilogy within the Eve Duncan series. I am so excited to read the rest of this series. I definitely recommend checking it out.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Shadow Play by Iris Johansen is the nineteenth book in the Eve Duncan series (wow!). Eve Duncan, a forensic sculptor, receives a call from Sheriff John Nalchek (from Sonderville, California) asking Eve to do a reconstruction for him. They just found the body of a nine-year-old little girl. She has been buried for about eight years. He would like Eve to put the little girl ahead of her other cases. Eve understands because of the loss of her daughter, Bonnie. Eve agrees and starts work on the skull when she receives it. For some reason, Eve feels drawn to this skull and then she starts hearing the little girls voice (Eve calls her Jenny). The girls spirit is still around (this has not happened with any other reconstruction since Bonnie). She does not know why (yet). But someone does not want Eve to complete the reconstruction. The killer is watching. When the reconstruction, note, and photos are all stolen, Eve and her significant other, Joe Quinn (a police officer) head to California. They insist on helping the sheriff with his case. Eve cannot let this case go. The killer is keeping a close eye because he does not wish to be caught. Can Eve catch the killer and help Jenny move on? Shadow Play can be read as a stand-alone book, but it would help if you read the other books in the series (to understand Eve, the relationships, etc.). I enjoyed Shadow Play, but I felt it went on a little too long. I liked the paranormal element, but it was not used enough in the story (found it a little lacking). The book is well-written and engaging. You keep reading to find out what happens next. It just got a little slow in the middle (it was just too long). I give Shadow Play 4 out of 5 stars (I liked it). I will definitely be reading more of Iris Johansen’s books. I received a complimentary copy of Shadow Play in exchange for an honest review.
Virginiaw More than 1 year ago
This has been my favorite Eve Duncan novel in a long time. This one flowed so nicely. I am looking forward to many more novels with Eve, Quinn and all the others. Keep them coming. I received a copy if this book from Thereadingroom for a fair and honest opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cherylkochbooks More than 1 year ago
It has been a while since I have read a book in this series. Yet as I read this book I was reminded how much I miss Eve and Joe. Eve is just so loveable but at the same time she has a smart head on her shoulders. The love that she and Joe share is real. They are such a great couple. I have a few other books on my to be read shelf that I plan to go back and read soon. The way that Eve communicated with the victim in this case was cool. I thought that I gained a closer connection with the victim. Thus in turn I was more interested in the story and solving the case. Which Eve did not disappoint me in this aspect. There was plenty of action as well. Then there is the ending, which left me with a smile. I can't wait to follow Eve and Joe on their next journey.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
A Definite Page Turner! This is the 19th Eve Duncan book and the stories keep pulling you in. Eve Duncan is a forensic sculptor, she gives a face to skulls of children who have been found murdered hopeing that he killers will be caught and brought to justice, also bringing closure to their loved one. When she gets a phone call from a sheriff in California she agrees to work on the skull of a 9 year old because he is so compassionate about the case. Once she has the skull in her possission, it begins to speak to her as she works. Eve is taken aback at first as this has never happened before, but eventually, she and "Jenny" come to an understanding and they work together, first to create her face, and secondly to bring her murderer to justice. Jenny can't remember much at first but she insists that Eve was meant to help her find out what happened to her. The characters in this story is what pulls me to read each new book in the series. Eve and Joe have a relationship that has developed over the years. They have worked together, eventually married and continue to work together. They finish each other's sentences and thoughts. Their love is very strong and they will do anything for each other, including putting their own lives in danger. Appearances or mentions are made of Jane, their adopted daughter, and Kendra Michaels who has helped them in previous adventures. Once again we meet Margaret, who is able to communicate with animals and she helps them out in meeting up with a coyote near the grave where Jenny's skull was found. Sheriff Nalchez, the officer who originally reached out to Eve, has a storyline of his own and suspicions about him continue right until the end of the book. The pace of this story is fast and it is riveting. It's a page turner as Ms. Johansen adds layers of complexity with each new clue revealed. The twists and turns in this story keep the story interesting. The different threads in the story are nicely woven together into a satisfying conclusion. Many things in this book are rather hard to believe and probably wouldn't happen in real life as other reviewers have stated, but that is why it is fiction. I very much enjoyed this story. Recommended for suspense readers who enjoy paranormal activity. I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dutcheja More than 1 year ago
WOW!!!! I am a huge Iris Johansen fan and have followed this series from the beginning back in 2011. There have been several books and they have all been written so well. The mysteries and suspense are so well thought out. The stories move very fast and hold you on the very edge of your seat all the way to the end. I love the characters of Eve & Joe. They have been together from the beginning, and they have been to hell and back together. This relationship is one I am so envious of. I know it's not real but it seems so real, they fight, they make up, and they love each other. Joe loves Eve with all that he is. I love the way this couple is written, they are not perfect and they are very real. I think Iris Johansen does this masterfully!!!! I can't wait until the next book!!!
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Having taken a break from this series a while I was happy to receive a copy of this book to read and review. I found Eve still doing forensic sculpting and Joe still there as her partner. They continue to be madly and passionately in love and there for one another even when they might not totally agree on some issues. Eve’s case this time has her working to identify a little girl buried for eight years in California wine country. Once the little girl’s skull is received by Eve things start happening in California and in Georgia, where Eve and Joe live. There are murders and mysteries and threats and characters that interact interestingly with one another. There is a child to identify and another one to be saved. A bad man needs to get his comeuppance and the story finds resolution but leaves with a hook for book 20. The story was well written though felt at times that it was more fantasy reality based. That said - stories don’t always have to be realistic and believable to entertain. It was a fun read and took about a day to finish. If you are looking for something that will keep you reading and you enjoy a mystery, murder, thriller type book then you will probably enjoy reading Shadow Play…although having read a few of the first books in the series might help you know Eve and Joe a bit better. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the copy of this book to read and review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and very creative storyline. Its not making too much of a sense tho
Anonymous More than 1 year ago