Shades of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #7)

Shades of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #7)

by Lara Adrian

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shades of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #7) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 535 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In frozen Alaska, nineteen year old Teddy Toms returns to his family compound only to find everyone dead. A gigantic humanoid creature appears and kills him too.-------------- Bush pilot Alexandra Maguire lands at the Toms compound to deliver supplies only to be greeted eerily by corpses with bite marks on them. She has seen these bite marks before when her mother and younger brother were murdered. Alex and her father tried to move on and get passes what the monsters did to her family by leaving Florida for Alaska. The pilot notices a gigantic footprint in the nearby snow, but says nothing to the authorities.----------------- After seeing a clip of the carnage, the Order sends warrior vampire Breed Kade to investigate what appears to be a rogue in bloodlust. He has lived his entire life on his family's Darkhaven estate to take care of his brother who has an uncontrolled violent streak. Kade thinks the predator is his brother Seth who has killed humans before, but he soon realizes that this massacre is the work of the Ancient other worlder who escaped captivity. Alex and Kade meet with each incredibly attracted to the other. She realizes as she falls in love there are good and evil Breed and her beloved must be the former as he risks his life for her. She leads him to a defunct mine where the evil Breed reside led by the malevolent grandson of the Ancient: Dragos.----------- The seventh Midnight Breed tale is a compelling action-packed thriller from the onset with the slaughter at the Toms compound. Both protagonists have demons to overcome as Kade fears he will turn out like Seth did and Alex fears loving a monster like the vampire in her nightmarish past. Lara Adrian provides her fans with a strong tundra romantic fantasy as the human and the vampire find love and death in the frozen wasteland.---------- Harriet Klausner
misshance More than 1 year ago
I have to say that I was a little aprehensive with her writing about Kade, I really wanted a story on Chase-the man needs to get some-but Kade's story is great and leaves me wanting her next book now-I can't wait to see what she does with Brock and then where she takes us after that. It is a wonderful story an easy read, and goes so well with the rest of the books! Can't wait until her next book!
Ericactdcj More than 1 year ago
Lara Adrian has become one of my favorite authurs and her writing is great!...and this book did not disappoint!
gilgomez More than 1 year ago
The latest Midnight Series book is a good read with suspense, amazing characters, strong plot with twists and passion. Her Breed hero in this book is Kade from the Alaskan wilderness and his heroine and lover is Alex, a bush pilot in the harsh Alaskan bush. The other characters return such as Tegan, Hunter, Brock and the Ancient creature which is loose and causing all sorts of havoc. Numerous plot twists and strong characters developed against the natural beauty of the Alaskan wilderness have made this latest installment my favorite. I waited many months for this latest book and hate thinking of another year's wait for book #8. I strongly recommend the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian to anyone that enjoys romance with suspense, paranormal or vampires, strong male leads, independent and smart heroines.
wolf-lover More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness.....I love this series and this book just topped it all! Lara's writing just keeps getting better and better. I was a little concerned about Kade since we didn't know much about him in the other books, but was not disappointed at all! Kade goes to Alaska to find out if a series of killings is due to Rouges. He meets Alex and it is love at first site. Alex just so happens to have the birthmark of the Breedmate. Their love story is very touching, and the story continues with the Ancient and Dragos. We learn that Kade has a twin brother Seth, and their story is touching and tragic. Alex see's Kade through his darkest hours and the ending is amazing! I love that Lucan, Tegan, Chase & Brock are also in this book. I love how they are not forgotten in this series and we always get a glimpse of their lives and their mates! Now to me that is great writing! I can not wait for the next book! I hate to hear that it won't be till Fall 2010 that seems to far away!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the 7th book in this series. It's getting better and better. Great read.
GEMYNI More than 1 year ago
This was a great story, but I missed the boys from Boston. Kade and Alex's story was plausible, and I liked that we got a look into Kade's family and background. My only complaint was that I missed the interation with the other Breed males and their mates. Overall, this is a great series, one of the better ones I've read. I'm a big JR Ward fan, and though I can see the similiarities between this and the BDB, they are different enough to be entertaining. Overall, this series was a great recommendation to me, and I'd recommend to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lara Adrian out did herself once again. The ending in this book totally takes you by surprise. What a twist. Can't wait to see what happens to Brock and Jenna.
MissMe More than 1 year ago
I have read the Breed series a few months back, loved the books although at times previous books lagged, BUT SHADES OF MIDNIGHT kept me on my toes from the first page and keeps me craving for more since the last page. Characters are well thought out and story keeps you on your toes. I cant wait till the next book comes out:)
DamarisGCR on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Her last book was good, but nothing to this one! This was a really good book and it was so different in my opinion from the others, but in a very good way!
Deserie.Comfort on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 7 is all about Kade, another member of the Order. A group of Breed that swore to protect humans from Rouges, a disgusting creature named Dargos (who scientifically breeds Gen One assassin into a kidnapped Breedmate's womb) and from an Ancient. I felt though with the Ancient in this book that maybe he wasn't or isn't the enemy but in fact maybe an ally and I'm curious to see what happened between him and the female involved in this book (NO SPOILERS ON THAT FOLKS)! Back to the story, Kade was sent to his home state in Alaska to investigate a killing of a local family, which the order suspected was conducted by Rogues. When Kade arrives at the small town of Harmony he meets this bush pilot named Alexandra Maguire, who seems to be a potential Breedmate. Aside from that mission Kade has a dark secret. Not entirely his own, but his twin brother's...(AGAIN, no SPOILERS!) I wasn't "really" looking forward to reading this book as Kade hasn't had much of an impact in the series, however, now I have to say I am glad I did. I think the story between Kade and Alex was touching and shows just how much something can run up on you when you are trying to run away. Now, to wait until the Fall until the next book in the series is released....come on Lara! It will definitely be a looooooooong wait.
AngelLocke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not going to give a short version of what this book is about. That's what the back of the book is for. I'm just going to say that I love Lara Adrian and her stories of the Breed Warriors. We all love the fact that a big hard-ass vampire is able to find and love a sweet and charming woman and make her the center of his universe. So, there you have it...I loved it. Can't wait for the next one that's due out in the fall.
thehistorychic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This has to be my 2nd favorite book in the series. I really loved Kade which surprised me because before this he really didn't grab my attention. Granted he was a late character introduction into the series but his friend Brock stood out more (BTW his book will be coming out in Fall 2010 I found out). So it was a pleasant surprise that I was able to get into this book almost from the beginning.Without giving anything away this book was set in Alaska, which after being able to visit that beautiful state was much more vivid to me in the book. She did a great job of flushing out the characters and having a back story that seemed to really fit. She was able to weave in the on-going Ancient and Dragos storyline without letting it take over the book. I was a little disappointed that the rest of the guys were in it so little and that the rest of the breedmates were not in it at all.Overall this was a very enjoyable read! Great escapism and I can't wait for Brock's story. I wouldn't be disappointed if he ended up with Jenny :)
rexrobotreviews on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Shades of Midnight by Lara Adrian is the seventh Midnight Breed Novel. This is the first in the series that I have read- that may have something to do with my lackluster enthusiasm towards the novel. I normally don't get too into a book when I start the series midstream.Shades of Midnight begins with a sad prologue- you'll find yourself wanting to know more after reading of a gory attack in Alaska. Conveniently enough, new Order recruit Kade is from Alaska and will be sent back to find out who the new serial killer in town is. This hits home harder than he thought, could the Breed gone Rogue be his twin brother? During the course of his interrogation, he meets cute, blond Alexandra. She's a pilot with some hidden talents and her own family secrets. I think we can all guess at this point that Alexandra and Kade are going to be lovers... mates, together forever. They make a good, believable couple.This book had great potential. The plot was good, but was too slow. I feel like this book could have been a little shorter. More action, more love. I felt bogged down by both Kade and Alexandra constantly feeling guilty. There wasn't very much character development, which frustrated me a little. I felt like I didn't know Kade or Alexandra. At the conclusion of this book it looks like the author is setting us up to take a ride with Jenna and Brock. (I'm not positive if they're the next couple, but I'm totally going to read that book if so because I love Jenna's story line. She is one of the only characters- other than The Ancient- that I was intrigued by in this book.) I wasn't very into Shades of Midnight. It bored me for the most part, at least until chapter 23. I still liked trying to figure out who the killer was. That part was fun for me- I also loved Kade's family and his talent. Kudos to the author for having him be in touch with the wolves. That was awesome! I'm not giving up on this series yet, I'm going to read the first few books in the series and from there decide if I will stick with The Midnight Breed novels. From what I've heard, I will love books 1-4.
thewalkinggirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not really sure what to think of this. The prologue was great--believable characters and events that were both sad and scary. Alex's introduction was also strong and compelling and her initial meeting with Kade kind of gave me Buffy/Angel flashbacks. Unfortunately, after they meet it's like their love is a fait accomplit. There was no development, which made the romance part of this book really hollow for me. The action was similar-- it was cheese-tastically entertaining... except when it was not. At the end, I'm not really satisfied, but I know I'll read the next in the series. I'm not sure whether that's an affirmation of the book is actually pretty good or if I just have a hard time letting go.
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
This visit to Alaska is anything but cold. What excitement. From disrupting a whole little town to a fight to the death. A great add to the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can find no faults with this series! Picking up the next book now.
Angie5300 More than 1 year ago
I love this whole series. This is a action packed book. I recommend it to any and everyone. Kade and Alex's story. "Love me, Kade" she murmured, "Forever," he replied. You'll enjoy the series. I gave it 5-stars -- it starts a little slow, but speeds right up. Keeps you interested. Enjoy!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shades of Midnight is a fun addition to the Midnight Breed series. It’s a fast, action packed story of danger, while also delivering the usual steamy love story. I liked both Kade and Alexandra’s characters. They had enough depth of background story to be individuals, but needed each other to work through some major issues from both of their pasts. The book also continues the over arching story line of the series primary villain, leaving me eager to continue reading. *Originally posted on goodreads*
sjb-ia More than 1 year ago
Love the Breed!
Samantha57 More than 1 year ago
Midnight Breed book 7: Although the book did start out extremely slow, the farther and farther I got into it the more and more harder it got to put it down. It also reminded me a lot of my boyfriend and me.