Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Series #9)

Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Series #9)

by Elizabeth Peters

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$10.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody Series #9) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
KittyCO More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by Elizabeth Peters that I have ever read. I have to say that I have found a new author to enjoy. Now I just have to go back and read the eight previous books. I love a good mystery and the exotic location was certainly part of the fun. This story takes place in 1903 Eygpt and centers on a family of egyptologists. Amelia Peabody, as the matriarch, is as fussy sometimes as she is unorthodox, which makes her so much fun to read about. Trouble seems to find her, much to her dismay, at every turn. A murderer is on the loose and sending cryptic messages, which forces this family into action. A twisty turny who-dun-it, with a likable cast of characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A pleasure to read. If you like the Egyptian local this mystery is for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the last Amelia Peabody novel I needed to read to have read all in the series (these were not read in order), and this is, by far, one of my favorites. I couldn't put it down.
seasidereader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this installment! Mendoza's review comments are right on the mark.
foxysteph on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Amelia Peabody series takes a strange turn in this book. Ramses is grown up and without the little-boy-nightmare of what he's been; rather he's now more adult in his trouble-making and planning. His plots add a twist and new level to the story. Amelia, Emerson and the rest are still delightfully the same, thankfully. The cat Bastet missing really broke my heart, as did Ramses reaction. I truly enjoy this book, just has much as the rest of the series and look forward to the books to come. The best part about the series is you can really start anywhere and not miss too much, the characters are developed so well through actions that the previous build up does not have to be there. I strongly recommend this one for anyone who loves a good mystery, historical fiction, or adventure book.
Harmless_Dilettante on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another in the fabulous Amelia Peabody series, this installment suffers from the inclusion of "manuscripts" from the teenage members of the family. Written in the style of Rutger Haggard, these segments seem entirely too infatuated by the youngsters to arouse my sympathies or interest. I always find that it is Amelia and Radcliff's flaws which attract me, rather than their strengths. It does describe the not so happily ever after of one of Amelia's previous matchmaking efforts. Brownie points for both continuity and post marital plot lines.
Mendoza on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this ninth book in the Peabody series, it's 1903, and Amelia and her clan--irascible husband Emerson, fearless son Ramses, gorgeous ward Nefret--are in Cairo, dealing with everything from mummies (both the ancient and more recent varieties) to affairs of the heart.An alternately charming, funny, poignant, and disturbing mystery. The pacing of this novel is tighter, the cast of characters trimmed down, and shadowy Master and Mistress Criminals are replaced by a fresh new set of antagonists. Amelia's trademark first-person narrative is supplemented by a third-person "Manuscript H" that gives insight into the personalities and activities of the "children": Ramses, Nefret, and the recently acquired David, now young adults with a great deal to add to the Amelia-and-Emerson formula. Seeing a Large Cat is one of the most satisfying reads in the Peabody series so far to date: it blends the usual mystery-spoof comedy with chilling tragedy, makes skillful use of old characters while introducing memorable new ones, and generally revives the series after the Hippopotamus Pool confusion.I have very little negetive to ever say about this series. I cannot get enough of Amelia and Emerson. Ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why aren't these books being made into movies. Peabody could give Indiana Jones a run for his money. Murder, mayhem , romance, adventure, archeology , motherhood....these stories have it all. If I could only own all of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the other Amelia Peabody books and I think that this was one of my favorites! The plot was interesting and the mystery intriguing till the end and it was fun seeing more of Ramses, Nefret and David as they start to become bigger contributors to the plot. If you like mysteries with a Indiana Jones like heroine and stories dealing with Egypt then you'll love this series!
RickT-1111 More than 1 year ago
In Seeing a Large Cat, characters who have evolved over the prior eight books in the series become even more richly defined and more intriguingly interrelated. Read this book, and the prior books in the series for the entertaining relationship of an iron-willed heroine, her bombastic husband and their web of family and friends who find themselves at historical and cultural crossroads in Egypt and England. It is the early 1900s, and Egyptian archeology is at its heights. By this, book 9, the next generation are just coming into their own, with their unique angles on Egyptology, life in Egypt and adventures. It is a rich reward for readers who have followed them through childhood in the earlier books. All in all, an amusing read for compelling characters, interesting situations, light adventure and cultural/historical context.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chaquita-Philly More than 1 year ago
WHAT'S HAPPENING??? NO MORE NOOKS?? NO MORE NOOKBOOKS??? LET US KNOW!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago