The Secret Between Us

The Secret Between Us

by Barbara Delinsky

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.45 $14.00 Save 4% Current price is $13.45, Original price is $14. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Secret Between Us 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 85 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This novel is about a mother named Deborah and her daughter, Grace who one night they are driving home and Deborah and Grace are arguing about what Grace was really doing at her friends house before her mom came to pick her up. It is raining like crazy and very hard to see especially for Grace who is driving when all of a sudden they hear a "thud". they find out a few minutes later that it was Grace's teacher from school and she had just ran him over! Deborah does not want her daughter to take the blame so she tells her daughter to leave before the police arrive. Now Grace and her mother have to face a hard ship for what they have done and keep it a secret from EVERYONE. What I liked about this book was the whole situation between the mother and daughter and by the end their relationship has grown even stronger. What I disliked about this book was the ending, I feel that the ending was rushed and I didn't get enough time to let the ending sink in. The moral of the story is to not lie especially not to authorties and to stick with your family through thick and thin. As a teenager this book relates to me because I am a sixteen year old girl who is quiet and keeps her feelings to herself and lets everthing bother her just like Grace.
TangledUpInBlue19 More than 1 year ago
I must say that I love the few books that I have read by Barbara Delinsky. Of course, when I purchase them, I do so in no particular order, and often times read a book from 1993 and then read a book from 2006 next. The Secret Between Us is a great story of the strong relationship between mother and daughter. All too often, mothers forget that their children have strong emotions and are capable of heading down a shame-spiral if they feel guilt. "Mother knows best" sometimes does not apply, hence this book. It begins with a very scary automobile accident involving a pedestrian. The mother, a very well-respected family doctor in a small town, takes matters into her own hands and simply forgets that we are responsible for our own actions in the world. From page one, I was immediately captivated by Delinsky's words, and I found myself often wondering what I would do in the same situation.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
THE SECRET BETWEEN US deals with the interactions of family. How far a mother will go to protect her child, how a child reacts to knowing they've done something that can never be taken back. It's not a bad story, but it wasn't as fully evolved as I would have liked it to be.

The main problem, for me, was the ending, which I saw as a total cop-out. In the end, the resolutions came too easily, and in ways that made everyone turn out to be a good guy. Things rarely work this way in real life.

This isn't Barbara Delinsky's best story, but it's still good for reading about a family who will do anything to keep itself whole.
BookLover526 More than 1 year ago
The premise of this book is interesting but the execution is lousy. Repetitive and obvious. I also could see the relationship with the dead man's brother coming a mile away. And the ending was just too neat and tidy. Also, maybe it's different in what I presume was Massachusetts, but in Florida the DA (State Attorney) does not get involved in civil suits only criminal, so I found this part of the plot annoying because it was unrealistic. This is the second Delinsky book I've read and I must say she's 0 for 2 in my book (pardon the pun)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I REALLY tried to finish reading this book but after 3 weeks, I gave up. The love interest between the mom and the dead man's brother was sooo predictable that I almost wanted to throw up. I cant believe anyone would write like that. It's not just that one part that was predictable, it was the whole entire book. I felt like it was written by a juvenile writer. I didn't even have the interest to find out what happened at the end. I wasted three weeks but I am glad that I didn't waste more time to read the ending.
reader-T on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This should have been a good 'story'. However, despite persevering with it (it was an easy read after all), I just found that it bugged me. The whole process was too quick. Everything happened within a space of two weeks! The accident, the results from the accident reconstruction, the demise of Grace. And Deborah was so damn nice and so perfect (yes, one of the underlying themes), as to make her annoying and unlikeable! .....And at one stage Deborah referred to Grace - her 16 year old high school daughter - as being premed ... at high school? .... is that possible?
Ebba on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Novel about family realationships and small town living. A car accident changes lives forever. Sweet story line, but nothing that really kept me listening for hours past my bedtime.
Spibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! Excellent novel on how our choices can affect those we love - with not so good consequences. Barbara Delinsky always delivers.
skrishna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up because I really enjoyed Family Tree, but I just couldn't get into it.
busyreadin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One little lie can lead to so much heartache! While driving home on a rainy night, Grace hits and kills a man. Her mother, Deborah, sends her home on foot, and takes the blame for the accident. The aftermath might tear the family apart.
nglofile_reads_2008 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not a favorite, but I can see how this would be a good choice for a book discussion group.
re_re_98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. The author did an excellent job showing how not telling the truth can quickly spiral out of control. I cannot even begin to imagine the terror, fear, and guilt that the young lady had weighing on her mind.
marian50 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Starts out promising, but then becomes repetitious and too drawn out. I didn't care for the ending.
bookappeal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A car accident changes the dynamics of an already-troubled family. Delinsky tries to make the story compelling but there is no real tension here and the resolution is somewhat unsatsifying. An easy read but also easily forgettable.
MsKelly65 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Barbara Delinsky effectively and dramatically explores the delicate relationships between family members, espcially mothers and daughters in _The Secret Between Us_. I found the book refreshing despite it's heavy subject matter and read it cover to cover within forty-eight hours. I recommend _The Secret Between Us_ to lovers of modern-day mysteries and dramas, and those who are interested in the intricacies of family expectations and bonds.
cloedoris on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a goood book :) the first I've read by this author
KathyWoodall on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Deborah Monroe and her daughter Grace are headed home during a rainstorm when the unthinkable happens. Someone runs right out in front of them and is struck by the car when they are unable to stop in time. After getting out of the car and searching for the person they hit, they find him laying by a tree still alive but seriously hurt. Deborah calls 911 for an ambulance and police to come. Grace realizes in horror that the person laying there is her high school history teacher. Deborah tells Grace to go home and take care of her younger brother while she deals with the police. When Deborah makes the decision to protect her daughter, she doesn't tell the police that it was Grace that was behind the wheel of the car when the accident happened. Guilt is heaped on Grace when she finds out that her history teacher has died and her mother has taken the blame for the accident. She hasn't told her mother she had drank 2 beers before getting behind the wheel of the car that night.It seems everyone in this story has a secret. When they are revealed, they change the lives of everyone around them.The author has an interesting concept for a novel but fails to deliver in the end. She introduces the characters so fast and with little development I honestly didn't care for any of them or their so called secrets. I just felt kinda cheated by the end of the book.
RPerritt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. This is the first book I have read by this author, but definatly not the last. It was a very easy read.
bobbieharv on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mother picks daughter up at a party; daughter hits her teacher on the way home; teacher ultimately dies. Mother lies and says she was driving, then happens to fall in love with the teacher's brother-in-law. Oh and by the way the daughter was drinking and the mother's father is an alcoholic. How does all this get resolved? I cared only enough to struggle throughto the end of this ultimately improbable highly irritating book.
mrgntaylor More than 1 year ago
The story had an awful plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Secrets at every turn creates suspense