Seances Are for Suckers

Seances Are for Suckers

by Tamara Berry

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 10

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seances Are for Suckers 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting read. Funny.and intriguing characters. Would like to read the next adventure.
TheCozyReview 6 months ago
Series: An Eleanor Wilde Mystery - Book 1 Author: Tamara Berry Genre: Cozy Mystery/Paranormal/ Exotic Locations Publisher: Kensington Mystery Page Count: 320 From Kensington Books comes a new cozy series “An Eleanor Wilde Mystery” Séances Are for Suckers written by Tamara Berry. In this new cozy series, we meet Ellie Wilds aka Madam Eleanor, a fake psychic ghost hunter who only wants to make enough money to keep her comatose sister alive and well cared for. If she has to pretend to be something and believe in something that isn’t real, so be it. As long as her sister is taken care of, that is all that matters. The main character in this new cozy series is very likable, smart, funny, braver than she thinks she is and fully determined to help those who hire her, even if it is all fake as far as she is concerned. But when she starts hearing a voice in her head that is not her own, she begins to second guess her beliefs. This makes her very human and lends itself to some humorous moments throughout the book. Other characters are not as well established yet, but readers can already tell that several will be back and continue to grow with the series. The mystery is intriguing; the victim(s) more so. The ghost is almost a letdown but not enough to distract from the book’s enjoyment. The killer is not who readers will think it is, which makes for a fascinating story and ending to this unusual cozy book. In this cozy series as with most, there are twists and turns that keep readers guessing and turning the page. The setting of this first book is very nice, who doesn’t want to roam through an old mansion/castle in England? I hope the setting remains as it makes for an exciting location to expand and explore. A cozy series needs a setting that readers feel at home in and gives them a sense of adventure, Séances Are for Suckers delivers on both counts. It was a pleasure to read this book, and I look forward to the second installment, Potions Are for Pushovers due out November 26, 2019
AmyWeidenaar More than 1 year ago
I had to keep going back to make sure this was the first book in the series because it was written so well and the characters were so established. Ellie is fabulous and the way her sister finds her voice is definitely unexpected. Her brother is a great foil for Ellie. To be honest, I don't feel like I know enough about her sister to have a firm grasp of her personality. I can't wait for more adventures with Ellie but I do have to admit that it was written so that it could have been the end of the series or even a stand alone. Knowing that it is the first in the series, I had to remind myself that as the series evolves, so will Ellie and I really can't wait to see what will happen next for her. Thank you to Kensington Books, Tamara Berry, and NetGalley for giving me the chance to read this story and share my honest thoughts and opinions with others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm really getting into these cozy mysteries books. Just a way to get a quick escape from typical life. No major drama or action keeping me awake or can't put the book down. Just a nice relaxing read. Nice story too. Will enjoy reading about Ellie's adventures again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some+parts+were+predictable++but+still+enjoyable.%0Ainteresting+lead+character.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. The story flowed very well and was very enjoyable. This book will keep you reading long into the night and you will not want to put this book down until you finish. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading other books by this great author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting characters and an interesting plot. Loved the way Ellie kept trying to figure out who the ghost was. I hope there's more in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good read for a snowy winter day.
NissaLD More than 1 year ago
The moment I picked this up I knew I wouldn't be able to put this down. The author can tell a story good and leave you wanting to continue on because you just have to know what's going to happen next. While visiting her sister in a home, a client, Nicholas, interrupts their 'talk' by wanting to hire her so she can put this ghost talk of Xavier out of his mother's mind. Shortly after Ellie hops on a plane to England and makes her way to Hartford Castle. There we meet Rachel, Nicholas's niece, Fern, his sister, Cal, Ferns beau, and Vivian, the mother. Ellie had it all figured out, thinking it's one of the family members or Cal, but after getting to know them she's not so sure. Just like Ellie I had in mind who's doing the 'haunting', but it was way different than hers, even when she revealed who she thought it was like. I was like "Oh yeah, that made sense, even though you convinced it wasn't." Around the 90% things started to really get good that it was making me so nervous. I was confused for the most part until it was explained. The ship in this book...baby Cheesezus, the ship in this book makes me so happy. I haven't felt this way about a ship in so long. So thanks for that. All the characters in here are my favorite, okay maybe Rachel is my favorite by far, but still. They have their own personalities and backstories that aren't flimsy you know. Their relationships to one another is great to see unfold and seeing the results of certain things being revealed coming to light. Tamara had me believing everyone was in on it and I'm just...no words. The writing and the story telling is so good. I'm looking forward to reading more books from her.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts In this 1st book of this series, we meet Eleanor Wilde, a self-proclaimed fake medium. She is a ghost hunter that doesn’t believe in ghosts. Eleanor is turning peoples fears into profits to help pay the bills for her sister in a long-term care facility. Her current job takes her to a musty old castle in England. Nicholas Hartford III doesn’t believe in ghosts either but he is hoping Ellie can convince his mother that her ghost, Xavier has left the building. Ellie is up for the job but the rest of the Hartford, staff, family and their guest takes crazy to a whole new level. She is surprised by her accommodations and the food served is horrible, but she needs the money and she is not a quitter. Even after she stumbles upon a real dead body she doesn’t give up. In fact, solving a real murder could be quite interesting . . . if she lives to tell about it. I really enjoyed the twist of a ghost hunter that knows she is a fake even though her customers may not. I also enjoyed the way this character evolved throughout the story. We learn why she has this job. People will pay exorbitant amounts of money to have “ghosts” removed from their lives and she has a very good reason for needing the money. A strong woman with fantastic observation skills that has not had an easy life, but still has a great sense of humor. She also has a connection, a secret, something I truly appreciated. Enter Nicholas Hartford III who has his own motives for employing Ellis’s services. This character made me feel a gambit of emotions as the story continued. His mother was a very interesting character and at times made me laugh out loud. The rest of the supporting characters are all cleverly created and help to take this mystery through many twists and turns. The castle is a fun setting for the book. The staircases, hidden spaces, long hallways, rooms, and gardens all have a truly creepy feel. The story unfolds at a perfect pace and like our protagonist has many layers. The story was much more than I expected and was full of surprises. Especially the very end. So much happens within the pages and I found myself slowing down to savor the story to be sure I did not miss a single thing. At points the word that popped into my head was mayhem. I learned quickly to really expect the unexpected. This time a cat plays a crucial role. A cat we didn’t even meet until we were well into this story. I was surprised by how much I came to care about Ellie and her sister Winnie. Her brother played a part too, but I was very attuned to the sisters. If you love mysteries cozy or traditional this is a fun read you really need to pick up today. It is really different from the usual cozies I read. I am very excited about this series and where the author will take Ellie next after the way the book concluded. Potions Are for Pushovers will be released next December. I hate having to wait that long but if this story was any indication it will be well worth the wait.
Shelly9677 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best cozies I have read! I had my doubts at first because initially the main character, Eleanor, came off as a bit unlikable for a cozy character. She is a psychic swindler with some harsh world views, but as the story progresses the author adds layers and complexities to Ellie. She quickly becomes quite relatable. She is devoted, intelligent and making the best out of the cards life has dealt her. Rarely are main characters painted with so many layers in a cozy mystery. The mystery unfolded seamlessly and the twists and turns kept coming. I looked forward to picking the book back up every time I was forced to set it down. Five sta
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
Ellie Wilde is a ghost hunter, realist, and triplet. While she doesn’t truly believe in ghosts, the service she provides “Cleanses” homes of ghosts and brings peace to families who have been living with them. After all, Ellie’s always been able to find what’s causing the supposed hauntings and sets them right, all while putting on a good show. While her brother doesn’t agree with her line of work, it pays the bills, particularly the medical care that their sibling who is in a coma requires. When Nicholas Hartford III, as much of a skeptic as Ellie when it comes to the supernatural, hires Madame Eleanor to rid his family estate of a ghost, things turn deadly. While Ellie finds herself taking a shine to the family, whomever is playing ghost is putting Ellie in danger…and she’s far from home in a foreign country. I loved the author’s portrayal of Ellie. The way she speaks and carries herself is real and relatable. The final reveal will surely surprise you! A fun new series that I look forward to following as Ellie and the crew move forward.
3900980 More than 1 year ago
Eleanor (Ellie) Wilde has an interesting profession. She rids houses of ghosts. She is a ghost hunter. Some call her a medium others like her brother Liam call her a fake. Ellie Wilde is a fake ghost hunter, Thus begins the book Seances Are for Suckers by Tamara Berry. Ellie, who is the breadwinner of their small family...only because her brother Liam decided to go into a real profession as a teacher... financially supports their other sister Winnie, (they are triplets), who has been in a catatonic state since a terrible accident years ago. After her last exhausting exorcism Ellie is on her way to Mexico for some relaxation when she is hired by Nicholas Hartford a wealthy Englishman who flies her out to his ancestral estate in England to help his mother who believes there is a ghost (Xavier) whispering in her ear and wreaking havoc on the family, Estate life is not all that it is cut out to be as we see at the Hartford Estate. The place is cold, dark and falling apart. The family pinch pennies and food is a necessity not a luxury. But the sherry does flow freely! And needless to say there are a cast of characters; Vivian, the aged mother who hears but does not see Xavier the ghost, Rachel the niece a teenager who is virtually a shut in, Fern the sister of Nicholas whose beauty is truly superficial, Cal, Fern's wealthy boyfriend and of course, Thomas the butler/handyman. Things immediately begin to go bump in the night and mayhem ensues. All but Nicholas thinks she is a real ghost hunter. Ellie must use her "powers" to figure out just who is ghosting who and how. And just how many ghost could there possibly be? Anyone who enjoyed the Ellie Haskell series by Dorothy Cannell will enjoy this heartfelt, very funny quirky story with some romance and craziness thrown in. I hope this is the first in a series of Ellie Wilde books. I would rate it a 4 out of 5.
diane92345 More than 1 year ago
Séances are for Suckers is a humorous take on old school romantic mysteries like The Moonspinners by Mary Stewart. Ellie is the youngest of a set of triplets. On her eighteenth birthday, her mother is killed and her sister descends into a vegetative state. Her brother is an elementary school gym teacher. To earn the money for her sister’s long-term care, Ellie works as a fake medium. Ridding families of their ghosts frequently means more psychological than psychic assistance. When Nicholas approaches Ellie with a project, she can’t resist even though Nicholas knows she is a fake. He wants Ellie to prove to his elderly mother that her ghost, Xavier, is someone’s childish game. Once at the family’s ancient estate, Ellie suspects everyone including Nicholas of causing the ghostly events. It doesn’t help that Nicholas is devilishly handsome and apparently rich too. Plus there is the man-of-all-work, Thomas, who is equally handsome but so much less complicated than Nicholas. When Ellie literally stumbles over a corpse who is gone before she returns with help, Ellie begins to believe that this particular ghost may be real. I actually liked the romance more than the mystery. Like Ellie, I started to feel like part of the family and really wanted it not to be an intentional fake haunting for profit. Séances are for Suckers is a very enjoyable romantic read perfect for a cozy night in with only your cat (or dog, if you are one of those people) for company. 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 stars! Thanks to Kensington Books and NetGalley for an advance copy.
PenKay More than 1 year ago
You ever read a book not expecting anything, and you read it, and think “that wasn’t what I expected?” Well, this book was that for me. Don’t get me wrong, this book was well-written, fun, level-headed (you have to read it know what I mean), and was captivating. I love how even though Ellie is “tricking” people, she still tries to give people their money’s worth because she’s only doing this to take care of her sister, and people want to believe more in ghosts than real-life issues. I really, really enjoyed this book except for a little bit of confusion on my part at the end. I thought someone was the villain, and it turns out he wasn’t, but not in the way you’d expect which really threw me off at the end. This book was an unexpected surprise, and I can’t wait to read the next one in the series even though I’m not sure where we’ll go from the end of the book. Highly recommend this 4 1/2 star read! I was provided the e-book which I voluntarily reviewed.