Scythe (Arc of a Scythe Series #1)

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe Series #1)

by Neal Shusterman

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.39 $12.99 Save 20% Current price is $10.39, Original price is $12.99. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe Series #1) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Neal Shusterman, and his writing style. This book will not let you down! His commentary on government and abuse of power is thought provoking. The characters are well rounded and well developed as is the plot. Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book that will stick with you lodge itself in a crack in your psyche and not let go. It tackles the problems of immortality and the truth of compassion and justice. It does not make the unimaginable act of killing ok, if anything it brings into clarity why it is wrong and the true consequences of the end of a life. May we all strive to be more than the lettuce and be people of substance, compassion, and fortitude.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. Seriously. Absolutely perfect. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first re-read and I still love this book as much as I did when I first read it a year ago. Rowan and Citra are awesomely mind-blowing, equally strong and different in their own ways. On to the next book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfectly written, with an amazing storyline
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from cover to cover!!! I'd write a longer review but Thunderhead is waiting for me!
Anonymous 4 days ago
I loved reading this book, can’t wait to read the rest of the series
Anonymous 24 days ago
this book left me in chills it WAS SO FRICKEN GOOD 5 STARS
Anonymous 5 months ago
Wow! This was such a phenomenal book. The author has such an amazing writing style! I was automatically interested when this book was recommended to me, so much so that I went to Barnes and Nobles specifically for Scythe. I love the idea of adding in the scythes journals to see their thoughts and add to the story. If you buy this book you will not put it down!
Anonymous 5 months ago
It's a really really good book. I couldn't put it down
Cakethecake 6 months ago
A Barnes & Noble employee recommended this book to me last year and I finished a good portion of it before I even left the store! this is a great series that you should totally check out and try to finish before the third book comes out on November 5, 2019 (it has not come out at the time of writing)
NovelKnight 10 months ago
Scythe was one of those books that took forever to get going and then smashed through my expectations at the end. I had so many people recommend this book to me, raving how amazing it was, and for nearly 70% of the book, I thought we were reading two different stories. After a sucker-punch twist of an ending, I finished Scythe wanting to read the sequel but not feeling much for the book itself. First and foremost, I've never read a book with a premise like this. AI has taken over the world and everyone lives forever which caused some issues with overpopulation. Introduce Scythes who "glean" people at random to keep the population in check. I was hooked immediately. . . once I got to the part where all this was explained. We see the world of the Scythes through apprentices Rowan and Citra. I didn't particularly care about either one for the entire book which wasn't a good sign, but their character development over the course of the book was spot on and really showed their growth and maturity as the weight of death fell on their shoulders. I'm hoping my connection to them strengthens once I get to the sequel. This was definitely more a read for the world than the story. I loved how Shusterman wove in modern issues into this future world where everything seems perfect. An AI utopia. But then we start getting a glimpse into the world of killing as a mercy vs killing for sport and the impact it has on the apprentices and those around them. Scythes have full power in this world to do as they wish. The only thing I never understood was the gleaning weapons. For a good bit of the book, Citra and Rowan train with different weapons and fighting styles but it felt a contrast to the perfect world that they could use something like a knife or gun when painless options also existed. That said, I struggled to find fault with this book. While I couldn't get into it, personally, for the longest time, I don't think that was an issue with the book as much as it was my mood and interest in a dystopian YA novel. I've had bad experiences with the genre in the past and usually avoid it now but I'm glad I didn't with Scythe. This book makes you question everything you know about our world and morality. By the end, I was more than hooked. I couldn't stop listening! And I do recommend the audiobook, for anyone curious about it. The narrator was fantastic and created almost a detached storytelling experience that really worked with this book and the plot. After Scythe, I immediately downloaded the audiobook for the sequel, Thunderhead, and I'm really looking forward to listening to it!
Kibbyra More than 1 year ago
Full review can be found at somethingofthebook.com Actual Rating: 4.5 stars Scythe is the kind of book that sinks it’s claws into you and drags you through a world you’ve never seen before and will likely never see again. This YA novel is a hugely underrated utopian thriller that devours its reader with break neck plot twists and intriguing insights into what our world could become if we defeated death. I went into Scythe expecting to like this book, but never did I imagine I’d end up loving it as much as I did. This novel has found its place among my favorite books of all time. Do not be like me and let this book languish, unread, on your book shelves for months or years. Pick it up immediately and start reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was solidly enjoyable and the premise intriguing. In a world that has conquered injury and illness and thus death, the need arises for Scythes, people ordained for random killing (“gleaning”) to keep the population in check. This is what teenagers Rowan and Citra are training to become under a kind, just Scythe Faraday. This book is full of interesting, thought-provoking, and philosophical conversations about morality and mortality. It also shows that even in a seemingly utopic society, discord, corruption, and evil can still fester and come to power. There are no rules to how Scythes can glean, and as such, this book provides several Scythes techniques. From Honorable Scythe Faraday, who is all about the statistics of death from the Age of Mortality (life before death was eradicated), to Honorable Scythe Curie, who looks for people who have tired of immortality, to Honorable Scythe Goddard, who isn’t as honorable as his title and who has gathered a following of other Scythes to partake in mass gleanings. The characters in this book were very strong. Citra is strong-willed and intelligent, and while I found her to be a little bit whiny at the beginning, she fights for what is right and what is fair, and that’s an admirable trait to have. Rowan is quiet and thoughtful, and he undergoes the most change when circumstances arise and he is placed under the tutelage of Goddard. His change isn’t necessarily for the best, and his moral code is definitely more gray-scale than before, but I believe he still remains a truly good person at heart. Scythes Faraday, Curie, Goddard, and the others were also intriguing to read about, as they’re all very different people and they all perform their duties under different moral codes and guidelines. The only thing I didn’t particularly like was the sudden romance between Rowan and Citra. It is by no means the main focus of the story, but there are undercurrents of it. I thought they were friends at best, but I had trouble believing the sudden jump to love interest. But again, it isn’t the main point of the book, so it was easy to overlook and excuse. This book, while a little slow at times, caught and kept my attention for its entirety. I found this world an interesting place to be and I’m eager to read the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my new favs!!! Would recommend to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was everything I every wanted in a novel. Lately, I've really been into dystopian novels, but this one was really different in a good way. 100% recommend ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to stop reading, page 109 was the final straw. I could not get invested in any of the characters. The writing is slow, cyclical and pretentious. The universe seemed interesting at first but after reading it seems entirely unrealistic. The "budding romance" is entirely forced and unnecessary. I understand it's a young adult novel but there are so many themes that could have been explored with the absence of romance. I don't know how this book won a prize.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of a kind
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly enjoyable read! I really liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Something I can believe in th e future. That is what makes it incredible
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read alot of book this is my favorit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SDMaxwell More than 1 year ago
This book is about the apprenticeship of Citra and Rowan into the Scythe order in a world in which people don’t die naturally anymore. The world is run by an all-knowing AI called the Thunderhead, which evolved from the Cloud and which has eliminated natural dead. Instead, people have to be gleaned by Scythes, humans given control over population control. Scythes have been put above all law (except their own small set) and are so untouchable by the Thunderhead that it won’t speak to them or actively recognize them in any way. I was originally interested in how the scythedom worked but the point of view I was given was kind of meh. I never connected to Citra at all. I didn’t really understand what made her a good pick. And nothing she said or did after really made me root for her. Rowan was more interesting, especially when he’s under Goddard as an apprentice. He has more moral dilemma he faces and more internal conflicts over how he views killing. But this is only because he’s taught by the baddest bad guy of the series who runs all the stereotypical bad guy tropes. I had a few issues with the world building in this book. Normally, that’s a big sticking point for me. You can have lackluster characters and I’ll accept a book if the world around them keeps me distracted. But it must be interesting, and it has to make sense. The first thing that stood out to me was that the author apparently has no idea what the Cloud actually is. I mean, I suppose to the casual observer, it’s a single being that houses information but … no. It’s really not. Another point was that of course there was going to be corruption within the scythedom. Humans fall to temptation all the time. They may have started with a sterling pure idea but all it would take is one new generation of scythes to screw the entire idea up. Two-hundred years from people who don’t naturally die? With ultimate power? Hah. I’m surprised it took as long as it did for things to go bad. The entire plot of this book was just … kinda boring and predictable. The two are apprentices to be scythes. For no reason that makes any sense they’re pitted against each other during their year-long apprenticeship so that at the end, they have to compete, and the winner has to glean the loser. No seriously. We’re totally not seeing any corruption in this choice. And then their mentor gleans himself out of the blue and they’re split up, one to the “good” scythe and one to the Bad Guy. Obviously, one is given a caring environment while the other is inexplicably tormented for their apprenticeship. Obviously, I had some issues with this book. They really stuck out because the characters are flat and the plot is lackluster and then the author decided the book needed a romance and it had like … no buzz. Not even a little. They barely even had chemistry as friends. I’ve seen antagonistic roommates with better chemistry. However, I listened to this as an audiobook and Greg Tremblay is outstanding. I got a kick out of his Faraday voice because the way he presented the character and the speaking patterns he used made him sound like Nathan Fillion to my ears and that made my day. Despite all my bitching, I give this book a 1.5 out of 5 stars. Obviously, that’s a 2 star on Goodreads and the like but it gets that .5 for Greg’s Faraday.