Scion of Cyador: The New Novel in the Saga of Recluce

Scion of Cyador: The New Novel in the Saga of Recluce

by L. E. Modesitt Jr.

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Scion of Cyador (Recluce Series #11) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous 12 months ago
consistent+and+engaging+
lafincoff on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good read. The book set up that he was going to end up being the ruler, and I plowed through the book to see how it would happen. I rather liked Lorn. The different culture, Hamor, is interesting.
jimmaclachlan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the first books of the Recluse saga chronologically, it is one of my favorites in the series.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Normally I enjoy the Recluse saga books, but this one had a couple of aspects that threw me off. First, the writing seemed different than Modesitt's normal style. In many parts, it was very simplistic. It had a very 'Run Spot Run' feel, as the character was very deliberate and simple, and he tried to change his writing style to convey that. However, the character was anything but simple. This book also featured even more political maneuvering than usual. At times it felt like there was something going on that we were supposed to understand, but it just wasn't coming together. In general this was a novel quite unlike his others, in both style and content. It was about Cyador, back in the 'good old days' when chaos wasn't quite so evil, and there were still some artifacts left over from the founding. I guess he felt it was time to write about people on the other side of the conflict, it just didn't work as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
UR12 More than 1 year ago
It is amazing that L.E. Modesitt can continually spin such amazing stories that flow one upon another with such vivid continuity. In each of his books he builds characters that over time through a path of discovery and growth manage to find their talents that are not always the same but hinge on either the power of chaos or order or a combination of the two. The author takes you on a journey through lands filled with sight, sound and smells. Villains, despots, heros, are a few of those who ramble through the pages to fill the read with excitement. Of course there is usually a romantic twist in the mix but not overdone but fits nicely into the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great conclusuon to the Mage Guard of Hamor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do not write reviews much and so far all the books of the recluse saga have only been okay for me. Enough to keep reading but never something I thought exceptional. Until this book. I prefer the order side of things and have never really cared for the chaos story aspects but in this book, I could not stop reading. From beginning to the end it grips you and makes you not want to put it down. There are plenty if ups and downs and always you just have to know what happens next. Truely an amazing book. Love all the poems as well and will have to get them all written down some where. I haven't checked what the next book holds but I think Lorns story is told and now that makes me sad as I want to follow more if him than ever. Just remarkable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tell Mr. Modesitt to write more Recluse books, love to read them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book involves well discribed battles, scheming, politics and trading. It is quite realistic and I would recomend it to any reader who enjoys this type of book
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book recaptures the action and excitement of Towers of the Sunset and Modesitt's science fiction books! Lorn is a much deeper and darker character than most of the Recluce saga heroes and I appreciated the change. If you like boring, meandering fantasy novels then this in not for you! I couldn't put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A really great book