Satan Is Real: The Ballad of the Louvin Brothers

Satan Is Real: The Ballad of the Louvin Brothers

by Charlie Louvin, Benjamin Whitmer

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.49
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Satan Is Real: The Ballad of the Louvin Brothers 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
mochasmom54 More than 1 year ago
This was a phenominal book about my favorite singers during the 50's. You learn what went on "behind the scenes" through the years of making history on stage and in country music. Also learn about other country entertainers of the time and what it was like before all the glitz and glamour of today's stars, when country music was still the real thing.
spiffybear More than 1 year ago
It was well-written and supplied much essential information.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i loved this book ,i thought it was honest ,sincere and funny .the language was bad but that is the way people talk .I LOVED THEM WHEN I WAS YOUNGER .NOW I LISTEN TO GOSPEL MUSIC AND THEY HAD SOME GOOD GOSPEL
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aficionados of old time Country music know The Louvin Brothers by their great music, their association with The Grand Ole Opry, and because artists like The Byrds, Emmylou Harris, Gram Parsons and others covered their tunes. But most people are probably aware of them because of their “Satan is Real!” album cover. It makes every list of worst album covers of all time without fail. It is a good choice for the title and cover of this biography. But after Charlie Louvin f-bombs a few times on the first page, the reader knows this is not a fundamentalist religious rant, nor idyllic, rustic hillbilly, show business fable. Charlie’s demons were pretty real, definitely down to earth nasty and in his face from the get go. His story is intelligently told in a straight forward, unapologetic, humanizing way here. You’ll meet Roy Acuff, Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley, et al along the way. If you are interested in that kind of deal, I highly recommend you read this book. I read a lot of musician biographies, and this is one of my favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Louvin Brothers were the first to master close family harmony. This book by Charlie Louvin tells the story of tough times growing up and tough times breaking into country music. It includes great stories about Johnny Cash and other. Great Book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
louvin2 More than 1 year ago
Charlie Louvin, who died a year ago, recorded some of the most beautiful and influential music of his time with his brother Ira. It's no secret that Ira had his demons which culminated in his early death, but Charlie was more grounded and soldiered on. His story of childhood hardship and hard-earned success (emphasis on the "hard") puts it all on the page. Charlie holds grudges and spares no one: friends, family, country superstars, least of all himself. If you're a regular Opry listener, you will recognize the names and the behaviors, but Charlie has his own voice and he knows some words and tells some stories that aren't in either Testament. The look of the book is distinctive, too--hard-cover with gaudily-illustrated boards and no dust jacket, it reinforces these tales of grandeur and horror.